Flight school in Washington
25 pilot training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these pilot training programs, and Washington has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Commercial pilots fly and navigate airplanes, helicopters and other aircraft. They usually need flight training, at one of the hundreds of FAA-certified flight schools or as part of a two- or four-year aviation degree, and must meet FAA requirements; airline pilots usually also need a bachelor's degree and experience as a commercial or military pilot.1 For the FAA commercial pilot certificate you must be at least 18, read, speak and understand English, hold a private pilot certificate, log the required flight time (generally at least 250 hours in an airplane or 150 in a helicopter) and pass a knowledge test and a practical test. Drone pilots who fly for work need the FAA's remote pilot certificate instead: at least 16 and a passed knowledge test.2
In Washington, 8 of the 25 programs take students without a high school diploma, 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 14 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 25 programs here are instrument rating or add-on rating course (6 programs), flight instructor (CFI) course (6 programs), private pilot course (5 programs), commercial pilot or professional pilot program (4 programs), and 4 more of 3 other kinds.
See the 25 programsHow much does flight school cost in Washington?
$869 to $6,600 is what most pilot training programs in Washington cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 20 programs with a price. All of them: $119 to $86,820
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 73%
- Working 6 months later
- 74%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $24,500
- Length
- 12 to 37 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Washington may also offer flight school. How these figures are made
All 25 pilot training programs in Washington approved for WIOA funding
Filters
25 programs
Simulator Training
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$119Program website, Simulator Training at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Simulator Training at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $119
Multi-Engine Instructor (MEI)
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$225Program website, Multi-Engine Instructor (MEI) at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Multi-Engine Instructor (MEI) at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 2 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $225
Flight Instructor Instrument (CFII)
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$238Program website, Flight Instructor Instrument (CFII) at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Flight Instructor Instrument (CFII) at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 2 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $238
Sea Plane
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$238Program website, Sea Plane at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Sea Plane at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 2 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $238
Aircraft Solo
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$618Program website, Aircraft Solo at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Aircraft Solo at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $400
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $618
Flight Instructor (CFI)
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$953Program website, Flight Instructor (CFI) at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Flight Instructor (CFI) at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $953
Instrument Pilot
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$953Program website, Instrument Pilot at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Instrument Pilot at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $953
Private Pilot
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$1,262Program website, Private Pilot at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Private Pilot at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 12 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,262
Commercial Pilot
Big Bend Community College
Moses Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$24,500Price if you pay yourself$6,616Program website, Commercial Pilot at Big Bend Community CollegeMore details about Commercial Pilot at Big Bend Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,122
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $400
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,616
Helicopter Commercial Pilot
Glacier Aviation
Olympia
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$72,300Price if you pay yourself$58,400Program website, Helicopter Commercial Pilot at Glacier AviationMore details about Helicopter Commercial Pilot at Glacier Aviation
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,072
- Length
- 50 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $770
- Students counted
- 40
- Earned a year, estimated
- $72,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $58,400
Professional Pilot: Flight Instructor
Clover Park Technical College
Lakewood
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$32,900Price if you pay yourself$1,256Program website, Professional Pilot: Flight Instructor at Clover Park Technical CollegeMore details about Professional Pilot: Flight Instructor at Clover Park Technical College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,230
- Length
- 12 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,256
Professional Pilot: Instrument Pilot
Clover Park Technical College
Lakewood
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$32,900Price if you pay yourself$2,512Program website, Professional Pilot: Instrument Pilot at Clover Park Technical CollegeMore details about Professional Pilot: Instrument Pilot at Clover Park Technical College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,230
- Length
- 22 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,512
Professional Pilot: Private Pilot
Clover Park Technical College
Lakewood
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$32,900Price if you pay yourself$2,512Program website, Professional Pilot: Private Pilot at Clover Park Technical CollegeMore details about Professional Pilot: Private Pilot at Clover Park Technical College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,230
- Length
- 22 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,512
Professional Pilot - Commercial Pilot
Clover Park Technical College
Lakewood
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$32,900Price if you pay yourself$6,594Program website, Professional Pilot - Commercial Pilot at Clover Park Technical CollegeMore details about Professional Pilot - Commercial Pilot at Clover Park Technical College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,230
- Length
- 33 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,594
Professional Pilot
Clover Park Technical College
Lakewood
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,900Price if you pay yourself$11,932Program website, Professional Pilot at Clover Park Technical CollegeMore details about Professional Pilot at Clover Park Technical College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,230
- Length
- 75 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,932
Helicopter Flight Instructor
Glacier Aviation
Olympia
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$49,600Price if you pay yourself$86,820Program website, Helicopter Flight Instructor at Glacier AviationMore details about Helicopter Flight Instructor at Glacier Aviation
- Finished
- 50%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,401
- Length
- 55 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $870
- Students counted
- 24
- Earned a year, estimated
- $49,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $86,820
Basic Aviation Knowledge
Green River College
Auburn
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$28,100Price if you pay yourself$1,236Program website, Basic Aviation Knowledge at Green River CollegeMore details about Basic Aviation Knowledge at Green River College
- Finished
- 72%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,025
- Length
- 12 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 17
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,236
Aviation Technology - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles Digital Photography Certificate
Green River College
Auburn
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760Program website, Aviation Technology - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles Digital Photography Certificate at Green River CollegeMore details about Aviation Technology - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles Digital Photography Certificate at Green River College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 11 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
Flight Training
Rite Bros. Aviation, Inc.
Port Angeles
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, Flight Training at Rite Bros. Aviation, Inc.More details about Flight Training at Rite Bros. Aviation, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
Aviation Technology - Unmanned Aerial Systems
Green River College
Auburn
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,560Program website, Aviation Technology - Unmanned Aerial Systems at Green River CollegeMore details about Aviation Technology - Unmanned Aerial Systems at Green River College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $16,560
Aircraft Rating - Multi Engine
Cascade Air LLC
Kelso
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Aircraft Rating - Multi Engine at Cascade Air LLCMore details about Aircraft Rating - Multi Engine at Cascade Air LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Certified Flight Instructor - Airplane SEL
Cascade Air LLC
Kelso
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedSchool website, Certified Flight Instructor - Airplane SEL at Cascade Air LLCMore details about Certified Flight Instructor - Airplane SEL at Cascade Air LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Commercial Pilot - Airplane SEL
Cascade Air LLC
Kelso
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedSchool website, Commercial Pilot - Airplane SEL at Cascade Air LLCMore details about Commercial Pilot - Airplane SEL at Cascade Air LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Instrument Rating - Airplane
Cascade Air LLC
Kelso
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Instrument Rating - Airplane at Cascade Air LLCMore details about Instrument Rating - Airplane at Cascade Air LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Private Pilot License
Cascade Air LLC
Kelso
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Private Pilot License at Cascade Air LLCMore details about Private Pilot License at Cascade Air LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for flight school in Washington
WIOA funding can pay for flight school in Washington
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for flight school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for flight school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Flight school in Washington
- programs with a price cost under $1,000
- 7 of 20
- most pilot training programs of any state, after Alaska
- 2nd
State comparisons use the same figures as the flight school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Flight school in Moses Lake, Seattle, Longview and other Washington cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Washington
How flight school compares with the rest of transportation and logistics: Transportation and logistics training in Washington
- CDL training237 programs
- CNA classes78 programs
- Medical assistant training47 programs
- Phlebotomy training32 programs
- Welding classes93 programs
- HVAC training49 programs
- Medical billing and coding training39 programs
- LPN programs9 programs
- EMT classes40 programs
- Electrician training89 programs
- Dental assistant programs56 programs
- Auto mechanic classes86 programs
- Pharmacy technician training18 programs
- Plumbing school43 programs
- CNC machinist training56 programs
- Carpentry classes41 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training9 programs
- Diesel mechanic training31 programs
- Cybersecurity training62 programs
- IT training196 programs
- Cosmetology school49 programs
- Barber school34 programs
- Esthetician school54 programs
- Nail tech school26 programs
- EKG technician programs7 programs
- Massage therapy school39 programs
- Paralegal programs29 programs
- Fire academy16 programs
- Police academy7 programs
- Surgical tech programs9 programs
- Radiology tech programs9 programs
- Culinary school44 programs
- Home health aide training37 programs
- PTA programs11 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training47 programs
- Human resources training27 programs
- Medication aide training3 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training58 programs
- Early childhood education programs175 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school29 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training35 programs
- Hospitality management programs17 programs
- Addiction counselor training28 programs
- Community health worker training1 program
- Coding and software development courses96 programs
- Lineman school68 programs
- Sterile processing technician training9 programs
- Sonography school4 programs
- Data analytics courses54 programs
- Administrative assistant training130 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs6 programs
- Medical lab technician programs4 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses60 programs
- Digital marketing courses35 programs
- Web and graphic design courses75 programs
- Health information technology programs11 programs
- Vet tech programs17 programs
- Real estate school7 programs
- Security guard training1 program
- Patient care technician training3 programs
- OTA programs5 programs
- Crane operator training5 programs
- Interpreter and translator training5 programs
- Home inspector training9 programs
- Forklift certification13 programs
- Personal trainer certification10 programs
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training7 programs
- MRI tech school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Mental health technician training6 programs
- Human services programs10 programs
- Manufacturing technician training27 programs
- Electronics technician training43 programs
- Business administration programs129 programs
- Criminal justice programs26 programs
- Teacher assistant certification23 programs
- Auto body repair classes26 programs
- Merchant mariner training99 programs
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training7 programs
- Sheet metal training26 programs
- Water treatment operator training13 programs
- OSHA safety training15 programs
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Optician training2 programs
- Masonry training13 programs
- Construction training programs47 programs
- Dental hygiene programs9 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes98 programs
- RN programs44 programs
- Project management certification56 programs
Where the Washington pilot training program numbers come from
Which Washington pilot training programs are on this list?
These are the pilot training programs Washington approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Washington offers.
How the prices and results of Washington pilot training programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about flight school in Washington
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Airline and Commercial Pilots
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 14 CFR part 61, subpart F (commercial pilots) and part 107, subpart C (remote pilots)
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List