Electronics technician training in Michigan
17 electronics programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these electronics programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Electrical and electronic engineering technicians help engineers design and develop electrical and electronic equipment. They typically need an associate degree; certifications are available in many specialties, and while optional, they show advanced knowledge.1
In Michigan, 14 of the 17 programs take students without a high school diploma and 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 17 programs here are electronics (associate degree, 6 programs), electronics technician certificate or diploma (6 programs), fiber optic, telecom and low-voltage cabling (3 programs) and biomedical equipment technician (2 programs).
See the 17 programsHow much does electronics technician training cost in Michigan?
- Certificates and short courses (11 programs)
- $5,300 to $8,278most of them, usually 34 to 87 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (6 programs)
- $13,021 to $14,378most of them, usually 64 to 75 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 14%
- Working 6 months later
- 80%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $51,500
- Length
- 45 to 78 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Michigan may also offer electronics technician training. How these figures are made
All 17 electronics programs in Michigan approved for WIOA funding
Filters
17 programs
Electronics and Electrical Technology
Mott Community College
Flint
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,500Price if you pay yourself$13,218Program website, Electronics and Electrical Technology at Mott Community CollegeMore details about Electronics and Electrical Technology at Mott Community College
- Finished
- 11%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,136
- Length
- 78 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 128
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $13,218
Electrical Engineering Technology Associate in Applied Science
Henry Ford College
Dearborn
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$24,000Price if you pay yourself$14,765Program website, Electrical Engineering Technology Associate in Applied Science at Henry Ford CollegeMore details about Electrical Engineering Technology Associate in Applied Science at Henry Ford College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,010
- Length
- 96 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,000
- Students counted
- 100
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,765
Electrical Electronics Engineering Technology
Wayne County Community College District
Detroit
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$60,700Price if you pay yourself$12,969Program website, Electrical Electronics Engineering Technology at Wayne County Community College DistrictMore details about Electrical Electronics Engineering Technology at Wayne County Community College District
- Finished
- 13%
- Working at 6 months
- 48%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,177
- Length
- 64 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,920
- Students counted
- 72
- Earned a year, estimated
- $60,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,969
Electronic Technology
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$55,800Price if you pay yourself$12,792Program website, Electronic Technology at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Electronic Technology at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- 17%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,954
- Length
- 67 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 45
- Earned a year, estimated
- $55,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,792
Engineering Technology - Electronics
St. Clair County Community College
Port Huron
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$51,800Price if you pay yourself$19,656Program website, Engineering Technology - Electronics at St. Clair County Community CollegeMore details about Engineering Technology - Electronics at St. Clair County Community College
- Finished
- 14%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,957
- Length
- 64 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,344
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,656
Electronics and Electrical Technology Certificate
Mott Community College
Flint
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,200Price if you pay yourself$6,609Program website, Electronics and Electrical Technology Certificate at Mott Community CollegeMore details about Electronics and Electrical Technology Certificate at Mott Community College
- Finished
- 11%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,044
- Length
- 38 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 34
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,609
Biomedical Engineering Technology
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$51,500Price if you pay yourself$12,596Program website, Biomedical Engineering Technology at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Biomedical Engineering Technology at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,868
- Length
- 104 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 15
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,596
Electrical/Electronic Systems
West Shore Community College
Scottville
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$31,700Price if you pay yourself$13,176Program website, Electrical/Electronic Systems at West Shore Community CollegeMore details about Electrical/Electronic Systems at West Shore Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,920
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $400
- Students counted
- 14
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $13,176
Electronic Engineering Technology
Macomb Community College
Warren
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$72,200Price if you pay yourself$9,824Program website, Electronic Engineering Technology at Macomb Community CollegeMore details about Electronic Engineering Technology at Macomb Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,038
- Length
- 78 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- $72,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,824
Industrial Electronics Technology
Washtenaw Community College
Ann Arbor
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,544Program website, Industrial Electronics Technology at Washtenaw Community CollegeMore details about Industrial Electronics Technology at Washtenaw Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 45 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $510
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,544
Fiber Optic Technician
Wireless Infrastructure Association
Horton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000More details about Fiber Optic Technician at Wireless Infrastructure Association
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
Wireless Technician (Level 1 & 2)
Wireless Infrastructure Association
Horton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000More details about Wireless Technician (Level 1 & 2) at Wireless Infrastructure Association
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
BMET Apprenticeship
McLaren Health
Grand Blanc
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,600More details about BMET Apprenticeship at McLaren Health
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,600
Electrical Engineering Technology - Certificate of Achievement
Henry Ford College
Dearborn
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,670Program website, Electrical Engineering Technology - Certificate of Achievement at Henry Ford CollegeMore details about Electrical Engineering Technology - Certificate of Achievement at Henry Ford College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,670
Electronic Technology Skills Certificate
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,173Program website, Electronic Technology Skills Certificate at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Electronic Technology Skills Certificate at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,173
Telecommunication Tower Technician
Wireless Infrastructure Association
Horton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,000More details about Telecommunication Tower Technician at Wireless Infrastructure Association
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,000
Electrical/Electronics Systems
West Shore Community College
Scottville
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,557Program website, Electrical/Electronics Systems at West Shore Community CollegeMore details about Electrical/Electronics Systems at West Shore Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,557
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for electronics technician training in Michigan
WIOA funding can pay for electronics technician training in Michigan
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for electronics technician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for electronics technician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Electronics technician training in Michigan
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 16th of 21
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 10 of 10
- electronics programs here, against the typical state's 6
- 17 vs 6
State comparisons use the same figures as the electronics technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Electronics technician training in Detroit, Flint, Jackson and other Michigan cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Michigan
How electronics technician training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Michigan
- CDL training106 programs
- CNA classes99 programs
- Medical assistant training94 programs
- Phlebotomy training45 programs
- Welding classes64 programs
- HVAC training40 programs
- Medical billing and coding training48 programs
- LPN programs22 programs
- EMT classes48 programs
- Electrician training27 programs
- Dental assistant programs39 programs
- Auto mechanic classes30 programs
- Pharmacy technician training34 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training34 programs
- Carpentry classes11 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training7 programs
- Cybersecurity training32 programs
- IT training107 programs
- Cosmetology school11 programs
- Barber school1 program
- Esthetician school6 programs
- Nail tech school5 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school14 programs
- Paralegal programs15 programs
- Fire academy14 programs
- Police academy31 programs
- Surgical tech programs15 programs
- Radiology tech programs14 programs
- Culinary school26 programs
- Home health aide training5 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training34 programs
- Human resources training11 programs
- Medication aide training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training45 programs
- Early childhood education programs32 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school5 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training6 programs
- Hospitality management programs7 programs
- Addiction counselor training9 programs
- Community health worker training3 programs
- Coding and software development courses53 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training13 programs
- Sonography school11 programs
- Data analytics courses14 programs
- Administrative assistant training40 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs8 programs
- Medical lab technician programs12 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses29 programs
- Digital marketing courses13 programs
- Web and graphic design courses39 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Vet tech programs12 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Patient care technician training17 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Interpreter and translator training3 programs
- Home inspector training3 programs
- Personal trainer certification11 programs
- Healthcare administration programs8 programs
- Customer service training8 programs
- MRI tech school7 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs4 programs
- RBT certification training5 programs
- Mental health technician training6 programs
- Human services programs11 programs
- Manufacturing technician training26 programs
- Business administration programs71 programs
- Criminal justice programs42 programs
- Teacher assistant certification12 programs
- Auto body repair classes1 program
- Solar and wind technician training3 programs
- Sheet metal training2 programs
- Water treatment operator training1 program
- OSHA safety training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training5 programs
- Optician training4 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Construction training programs25 programs
- Dental hygiene programs10 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes59 programs
- RN programs35 programs
- Project management certification29 programs
Where the Michigan electronics program numbers come from
Which Michigan electronics programs are on this list?
These are the electronics programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.
How the prices and results of Michigan electronics programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about electronics technician training in Michigan
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List