Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Culinary school in Wisconsin

34 culinary programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

13 schools offer these culinary arts programs, and Wisconsin has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Chefs and head cooks run the daily food preparation in restaurants and other places that serve food. Most start with a high school diploma and kitchen experience; some go through a culinary program at a community college, technical school or culinary school, and others learn in an apprenticeship.1

In Wisconsin, 16 of the 34 programs take students without a high school diploma, 16 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 34 programs here are culinary arts certificate or diploma (13 programs), culinary arts (associate degree, 10 programs), baking and pastry certificate or diploma (5 programs), baking and pastry (associate degree, 3 programs), and 3 more of 2 other kinds.

See the 34 programs

How much does culinary school cost in Wisconsin?

Certificates and short courses (20 programs)
$4,350 to $5,684most of them, usually 32 weeks long
Two-year degrees (13 programs)
$9,544 to $11,710most of them, usually 64 to 70 weeks long

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
49%
Working 6 months later
73%
Earned a year, estimated
about $25,100
Length
32 to 64 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wisconsin may also offer culinary school. How these figures are made

Is there free culinary school in Wisconsin?

All 34 culinary programs in Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

34 programs

  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,800
    Price if you pay yourself$9,152
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    13%
    Working at 6 months
    69%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,709
    Length
    64 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,010
    Students counted
    689
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,152
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Baking and pastry (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Baking & Pastry Arts

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeBaking and pastry (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,300
    Price if you pay yourself$9,152
    Program website, Baking & Pastry Arts at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Baking & Pastry Arts at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    20%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,814
    Length
    64 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,010
    Students counted
    282
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,152
    Program website, Baking & Pastry Arts at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$26,500
    Price if you pay yourself$10,716
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    35%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,622
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,723
    Students counted
    269
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,716
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Culinary program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    Madison Area Technical College

    Madison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Madison Area Technical College, MadisonCulinary program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,500
    Price if you pay yourself$11,793
    School website, Culinary Arts at Madison Area Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Madison Area Technical College
    Finished
    30%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,871
    Length
    64 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    266
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,793
    School website, Culinary Arts at Madison Area Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Assistant

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$22,000
    Price if you pay yourself$5,719
    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Culinary Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    17%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,504
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    250
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,719
    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Gateway Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$23,100
    Price if you pay yourself$12,560
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    18%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,766
    Length
    84 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    240
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,560
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Gateway Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    Blackhawk Technical College

    Janesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Blackhawk Technical College, JanesvilleCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,600
    Price if you pay yourself$12,063

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Culinary Arts at Blackhawk Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Blackhawk Technical College
    Finished
    35%
    Working at 6 months
    52%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,649
    Length
    64 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    144
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,063
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Blackhawk Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Food Service Production

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$25,600
    Price if you pay yourself$5,827
    Program website, Food Service Production at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Food Service Production at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    47%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,405
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,393
    Students counted
    122
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,827
    Program website, Food Service Production at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Baking and pastry certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Baking and Decorative Arts

    Madison Area Technical College

    Madison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Madison Area Technical College, MadisonBaking and pastry certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$30,600
    Price if you pay yourself$5,575
    School website, Baking and Decorative Arts at Madison Area Technical College
    More details about Baking and Decorative Arts at Madison Area Technical College
    Finished
    55%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,645
    Length
    32 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    113
    Earned a year, estimated
    $30,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,575
    School website, Baking and Decorative Arts at Madison Area Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    Lakeshore Technical College

    Cleveland

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Lakeshore Technical College, ClevelandCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$27,500
    Price if you pay yourself$12,016
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Lakeshore Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Lakeshore Technical College
    Finished
    35%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,876
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,163
    Students counted
    84
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,016
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Lakeshore Technical College
  • Baking and pastry certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    Baking and Pastry Production

    Waukesha County Technical College

    Pewaukee

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Waukesha County Technical College, PewaukeeBaking and pastry certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$26,700
    Price if you pay yourself$3,818
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Production at Waukesha County Technical College
    More details about Baking and Pastry Production at Waukesha County Technical College
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,686
    Length
    32 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    81
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,818
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Production at Waukesha County Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personEducation and courses

    Culinary Assistant

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$23,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,117
    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Culinary Assistant at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    56%
    Working at 6 months
    60%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,942
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    77
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,117
    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Baking and pastry certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Baking Production

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeBaking and pastry certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,500
    Price if you pay yourself$4,576
    Program website, Baking Production at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Baking Production at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    31%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,117
    Length
    32 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,505
    Students counted
    76
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,576
    Program website, Baking Production at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Baking and pastry (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Baking and Pastry Management

    Waukesha County Technical College

    Pewaukee

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Waukesha County Technical College, PewaukeeBaking and pastry (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$32,900
    Price if you pay yourself$9,544
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Management at Waukesha County Technical College
    More details about Baking and Pastry Management at Waukesha County Technical College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,229
    Length
    64 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    74
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,544
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Management at Waukesha County Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Technical Diploma

    Lakeshore Technical College

    Cleveland

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Lakeshore Technical College, ClevelandCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$28,400
    Price if you pay yourself$10,094
    Program website, Culinary Technical Diploma at Lakeshore Technical College
    More details about Culinary Technical Diploma at Lakeshore Technical College
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,110
    Length
    48 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $987
    Students counted
    68
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,094
    Program website, Culinary Technical Diploma at Lakeshore Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Production Specialist

    Madison Area Technical College

    Madison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Madison Area Technical College, MadisonCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,100
    Price if you pay yourself$5,439
    Program website, Culinary Production Specialist at Madison Area Technical College
    More details about Culinary Production Specialist at Madison Area Technical College
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,277
    Length
    48 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    67
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,439
    Program website, Culinary Production Specialist at Madison Area Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Culinary Arts

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$28,600
    Price if you pay yourself$9,795
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,153
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $370
    Students counted
    67
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,795
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Cooking and kitchen job trainingIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary & Baking Basics Technical Diploma

    Lakeshore Technical College

    Cleveland

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Lakeshore Technical College, ClevelandCooking and kitchen job training · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$28,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,036
    Program website, Culinary & Baking Basics Technical Diploma at Lakeshore Technical College
    More details about Culinary & Baking Basics Technical Diploma at Lakeshore Technical College
    Finished
    68%
    Working at 6 months
    69%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,001
    Length
    15 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $474
    Students counted
    65
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,036
    Program website, Culinary & Baking Basics Technical Diploma at Lakeshore Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Assistant

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,100
    Price if you pay yourself$4,576

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Culinary Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    23%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,773
    Length
    32 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,505
    Students counted
    63
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,576
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    Northcentral Technical College

    Wausau

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northcentral Technical College, WausauCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$26,600
    Price if you pay yourself$10,394
    More details about Culinary Arts at Northcentral Technical College
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,645
    Length
    64 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    61
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,394
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Production Specialist

    Blackhawk Technical College

    Janesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Blackhawk Technical College, JanesvilleCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,100
    Price if you pay yourself$5,673
    Program website, Culinary Production Specialist at Blackhawk Technical College
    More details about Culinary Production Specialist at Blackhawk Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    55%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,782
    Length
    32 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    60
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,673
    Program website, Culinary Production Specialist at Blackhawk Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    Mid-State Technical College

    Wisconsin Rapids

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin RapidsCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,000
    Price if you pay yourself$10,971
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Mid-State Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Mid-State Technical College
    Finished
    17%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,997
    Length
    64 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,090
    Students counted
    59
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,971
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Mid-State Technical College
  • Baking and pastry (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Baking & Pastry Management

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonBaking and pastry (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$31,300
    Price if you pay yourself$8,871
    Program website, Baking & Pastry Management at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Baking & Pastry Management at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    47%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,829
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    55
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,871
    Program website, Baking & Pastry Management at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Food Service Assistant

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,100
    Price if you pay yourself$4,576
    Program website, Food Service Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Food Service Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,516
    Length
    32 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,505
    Students counted
    53
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,576
    Program website, Food Service Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    Food Service Production

    Waukesha County Technical College

    Pewaukee

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Waukesha County Technical College, PewaukeeCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$27,500
    Price if you pay yourself$5,139
    Program website, Food Service Production at Waukesha County Technical College
    More details about Food Service Production at Waukesha County Technical College
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,881
    Length
    48 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    53
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,139
    Program website, Food Service Production at Waukesha County Technical College
  • Baking and pastry certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Baking and Pastry Arts

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaBaking and pastry certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$19,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,899
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Arts at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Baking and Pastry Arts at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,865
    Length
    15 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    52
    Earned a year, estimated
    $19,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,899
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Arts at Gateway Technical College
  • Baking and pastry certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Baking and Pastry Specialist

    Chippewa Valley Technical College

    Eau Claire

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chippewa Valley Technical College, Eau ClaireBaking and pastry certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$21,200
    Price if you pay yourself$7,520
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Specialist at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    More details about Baking and Pastry Specialist at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    Finished
    58%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,304
    Length
    32 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,010
    Students counted
    44
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,520
    Program website, Baking and Pastry Specialist at Chippewa Valley Technical College
  • Cooking and kitchen job trainingIn personNo diploma needed

    Basic Cooking Skills

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaCooking and kitchen job training · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$19,200
    Price if you pay yourself$2,899
    Program website, Basic Cooking Skills at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Basic Cooking Skills at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,801
    Length
    13 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    41
    Earned a year, estimated
    $19,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,899
    Program website, Basic Cooking Skills at Gateway Technical College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    Nicolet College

    Rhinelander

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nicolet College, RhinelanderCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,200
    Price if you pay yourself$11,371
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Nicolet College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Nicolet College
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    54%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,798
    Length
    93 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,233
    Students counted
    39
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,371
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Nicolet College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Production Specialist

    Chippewa Valley Technical College

    Eau Claire

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chippewa Valley Technical College, Eau ClaireCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$24,300
    Price if you pay yourself$6,202
    School website, Culinary Production Specialist at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    More details about Culinary Production Specialist at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,063
    Length
    32 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,321
    Students counted
    24
    Earned a year, estimated
    $24,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,202
    School website, Culinary Production Specialist at Chippewa Valley Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Assistant

    Northcentral Technical College

    Wausau

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northcentral Technical College, WausauCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$38,900
    Price if you pay yourself$4,694
    More details about Culinary Assistant at Northcentral Technical College
    Finished
    95%
    Working at 6 months
    95%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,720
    Length
    32 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,694
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Food Service Assistant

    Mid-State Technical College

    Wisconsin Rapids

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin RapidsCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,683
    Program website, Food Service Assistant at Mid-State Technical College
    More details about Food Service Assistant at Mid-State Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,038
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,683
    Program website, Food Service Assistant at Mid-State Technical College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Assistant

    Nicolet College

    Rhinelander

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nicolet College, RhinelanderCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,527
    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Nicolet College
    More details about Culinary Assistant at Nicolet College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    81 weeks, 27 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $445
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,527
    Program website, Culinary Assistant at Nicolet College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College

    Fennimore

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, FennimoreCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,710
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,710
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College

How to pay for culinary school in Wisconsin

WIOA funding can pay for culinary school in Wisconsin

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for culinary school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for culinary school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Culinary school in Wisconsin

programs with a price cost under $5,000
10 of 34
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
13th of 28
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
8 of 15
culinary programs here, against the typical state's 8
34 vs 8

State comparisons use the same figures as the culinary school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Culinary school in Milwaukee, Kenosha, Appleton and other Wisconsin cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 7 more programs are in 4 other areas, 4 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Wisconsin

How culinary school compares with the rest of food and hospitality: Culinary and hospitality programs in Wisconsin

Where the Wisconsin culinary arts program numbers come from

Which Wisconsin culinary arts programs are on this list?

These are the culinary arts programs Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wisconsin offers.

How the prices and results of Wisconsin culinary arts programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about culinary school in Wisconsin

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Chefs and Head Cooks
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List