Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

CNC machinist training in Massachusetts

15 CNC machinist programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these machinist programs, and Massachusetts has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Machinists set up and run equipment, including computer-controlled (CNC) machines, to make precision metal parts and tools. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and two-year degrees that teach reading engineering drawings and programming CNC machines.1

In Massachusetts, all 15 programs take students without a high school diploma.

By kind, the 15 programs here are machinist certificate or diploma (6 programs), CNC or machine operator (6 programs), short course or single class (2 programs) and CNC programming (1 program).

See the 15 programs

How much does CNC machinist training cost in Massachusetts?

$3,425 to $7,788 is what most CNC machinist programs in Massachusetts cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 12 programs with a price. All of them: $2,469 to $10,350

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 15 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 15 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 15 programs report it
Length
8 to 19 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Massachusetts may also offer CNC machinist training. How these figures are made

Is there free CNC machinist training in Massachusetts?

All 15 CNC machinist programs in Massachusetts approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

15 programs

  • Machinist certificate or diplomaOnlineNo diploma needed

    CNC Machinist

    Worcester State University

    Based in Worcester, MA

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Worcester State University, based in Worcester, MAMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,469
    Program website, CNC Machinist at Worcester State University
    More details about CNC Machinist at Worcester State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,469
    Program website, CNC Machinist at Worcester State University
  • CNC programmingIn personNo diploma needed

    Mastercam/ Setup

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.

    Woburn

    No diploma needed

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC., WoburnCNC programmingIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,000
    Program website, Mastercam/ Setup at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    More details about Mastercam/ Setup at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,000
    Program website, Mastercam/ Setup at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
  • CNC or machine operatorIn personNo diploma needed

    CNC Operator

    Greenfield Community College

    Greenfield

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Greenfield Community College, GreenfieldCNC or machine operator · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,200
    School website, CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
    More details about CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,200
    School website, CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
  • CNC or machine operatorIn personNo diploma needed

    Basic Machine Operation

    Quinsigamond Community College

    Worcester

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Quinsigamond Community College, WorcesterCNC or machine operator · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,500
    School website, Basic Machine Operation at Quinsigamond Community College
    More details about Basic Machine Operation at Quinsigamond Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 3 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,500
    School website, Basic Machine Operation at Quinsigamond Community College
  • CNC or machine operatorIn personNo diploma needed

    CNC Operator

    Greenfield Community College

    Greenfield

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Greenfield Community College, GreenfieldCNC or machine operator · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500
    School website, CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
    More details about CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,500
    School website, CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    CNC Technologies Certificate

    Quinsigamond Community College

    Worcester

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Quinsigamond Community College, WorcesterMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,846
    Program website, CNC Technologies Certificate at Quinsigamond Community College
    More details about CNC Technologies Certificate at Quinsigamond Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $7,270
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,846
    Program website, CNC Technologies Certificate at Quinsigamond Community College
  • CNC or machine operatorIn personNo diploma needed

    Foundational Manufacturing and CNC Operator

    Greenfield Community College

    Greenfield

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Greenfield Community College, GreenfieldCNC or machine operator · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000
    School website, Foundational Manufacturing and CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
    More details about Foundational Manufacturing and CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    School website, Foundational Manufacturing and CNC Operator at Greenfield Community College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    NAMC Tech Hire Machining

    Middlesex Community College

    Lowell

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Middlesex Community College, LowellMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000
    School website, NAMC Tech Hire Machining at Middlesex Community College
    More details about NAMC Tech Hire Machining at Middlesex Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    23 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    School website, NAMC Tech Hire Machining at Middlesex Community College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    C008 - Intro to General Machine Shop Practices

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.

    Woburn

    No diploma needed

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC., WoburnMachinist certificate or diplomaIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,350
    Program website, C008 - Intro to General Machine Shop Practices at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    More details about C008 - Intro to General Machine Shop Practices at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,350
    Program website, C008 - Intro to General Machine Shop Practices at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Intro To General Machine Shop Practices With Cnc Mill

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.

    Woburn

    No diploma needed

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC., WoburnShort course or single classIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,100
    Program website, Intro To General Machine Shop Practices With Cnc Mill at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    More details about Intro To General Machine Shop Practices With Cnc Mill at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    13 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,100
    Program website, Intro To General Machine Shop Practices With Cnc Mill at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Machine Technology

    Asnuntuck Community College

    Enfield, CT

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Asnuntuck Community College, Enfield, CTMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Classes are outside Massachusetts; Massachusetts approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,800
    Program website, Machine Technology at Asnuntuck Community College
    More details about Machine Technology at Asnuntuck Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    34 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,800
    Program website, Machine Technology at Asnuntuck Community College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Advanced Machine Technology Certificate

    Asnuntuck Community College

    Enfield, CT

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Asnuntuck Community College, Enfield, CTMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Classes are outside Massachusetts; Massachusetts approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,350
    Program website, Advanced Machine Technology Certificate at Asnuntuck Community College
    More details about Advanced Machine Technology Certificate at Asnuntuck Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,350
    Program website, Advanced Machine Technology Certificate at Asnuntuck Community College
  • CNC or machine operatorIn personNo diploma needed

    AMTS CNC Operator

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.

    Woburn

    No diploma needed

    Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC., WoburnCNC or machine operatorIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, AMTS CNC Operator at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    More details about AMTS CNC Operator at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    14 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, AMTS CNC Operator at Center for Manufacturing Technology LLC.
  • CNC or machine operatorOnlineNo diploma needed

    Advanced Manufacturing CNC Operator Program

    Middlesex Community College

    Based in Lowell, MA

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Middlesex Community College, based in Lowell, MACNC or machine operator · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    School website, Advanced Manufacturing CNC Operator Program at Middlesex Community College
    More details about Advanced Manufacturing CNC Operator Program at Middlesex Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    9 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    School website, Advanced Manufacturing CNC Operator Program at Middlesex Community College
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Introduction to Precision Machining and Computer Numerical Control (CNC)

    Greater Lawrence Technical School

    Andover

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Greater Lawrence Technical School, AndoverShort course or single class · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Introduction to Precision Machining and Computer Numerical Control (CNC) at Greater Lawrence Technical School
    More details about Introduction to Precision Machining and Computer Numerical Control (CNC) at Greater Lawrence Technical School
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, Introduction to Precision Machining and Computer Numerical Control (CNC) at Greater Lawrence Technical School

How to pay for CNC machinist training in Massachusetts

WIOA funding can pay for CNC machinist training in Massachusetts

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Paid machinist apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6

Financial aid and grants for CNC machinist training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for CNC machinist training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: CNC machinist training in Massachusetts

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
22nd of 34
CNC machinist programs here, against the typical state's 12
15 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the CNC machinist training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Machinist apprenticeships in Massachusetts

A machinist apprenticeship is usually run by an employer. It combines paid training on the job with related classes and lasts several years.1

You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the CNC machinist programs on this page is an apprenticeship.

CNC machinist training in Boston, Greenfield, Worcester and other Massachusetts cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 in smaller cities and towns and 2 online.

Other training in Massachusetts

How CNC machinist training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Massachusetts

Where the Massachusetts machinist program numbers come from

Which Massachusetts machinist programs are on this list?

These are the machinist programs Massachusetts approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Massachusetts offers.

How the prices and results of Massachusetts machinist programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about CNC machinist training in Massachusetts

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Machinists and Tool and Die Makers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List