CDL training in Utah
20 CDL (commercial driver's license) training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
20 schools offer these truck driving programs, and Utah has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 Since February 7, 2022, federal rules require anyone getting a Class A or B license for the first time, or upgrading to one, to train with a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry.2
In Utah, 10 of the 20 programs take students without a high school diploma, 8 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 20 programs here are Class A (10 programs), CDL (class not stated, 8 programs), Class B (1 program) and Class A and Class B (1 program).
See the 20 programsHow much does CDL training cost in Utah?
$2,741 to $4,919 is what most CDL training programs in Utah cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 20 programs with a price. All of them: $1,770 to $6,506
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 95%
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Utah's rates sit far below every other state's
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $48,600
- Length
- 4 to 6 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Utah may also offer CDL training. How these figures are made
All 20 CDL training programs in Utah approved for WIOA funding
Filters
20 programs
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Mountain West Commercial Driving School
Murray
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$58,100Price if you pay yourself$2,77357 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Mountain West Commercial Driving SchoolMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Mountain West Commercial Driving School
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,516
- Length
- 3 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 410
- Earned a year, estimated
- $58,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,773
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 57
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Tnt Trucking School, Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$57,100Price if you pay yourself$3,56053 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Tnt Trucking School, Salt Lake City
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,265
- Length
- 5 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 387
- Earned a year, estimated
- $57,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,560
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 53
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Apex Trucking LLC
Salt Lake City
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$54,300Price if you pay yourself$5,95038 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Apex Trucking LLCMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Apex Trucking LLC
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,576
- Length
- 6 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 243
- Earned a year, estimated
- $54,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,950
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 38
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Sage Technical Services Professional Truck Driving School, Sandy
Salt Lake City
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$52,000Price if you pay yourself$5,75347 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Sage Technical Services Professional Truck Driving School, SandyMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Sage Technical Services Professional Truck Driving School, Sandy
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,000
- Length
- 5 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $25
- Students counted
- 212
- Earned a year, estimated
- $52,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,753
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 47
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations
Logan
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,700Price if you pay yourself$2,2443 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Bridgerland Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,667
- Length
- 6 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $94
- Students counted
- 149
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,244
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Southwest Technical College, All Locations
Cedar City
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$47,900Price if you pay yourself$2,77230 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Southwest Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Southwest Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,976
- Length
- 5 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $264
- Students counted
- 113
- Earned a year, estimated
- $47,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,772
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 30
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Tooele Technical College, Tooele
Tooele
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$49,200Price if you pay yourself$3,3064 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Tooele Technical College, TooeleMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Tooele Technical College, Tooele
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,308
- Length
- 7 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $722
- Students counted
- 109
- Earned a year, estimated
- $49,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,306
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Dixie Technical College, St George Campus
St. George
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$36,800Price if you pay yourself$2,40121 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Dixie Technical College, St George CampusMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Dixie Technical College, St George Campus
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,206
- Length
- 5 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $345
- Students counted
- 106
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,401
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 21
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Uintah Basin Technical College, All Locations
Roosevelt
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$56,700Price if you pay yourself$3,00011 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Uintah Basin Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Uintah Basin Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,170
- Length
- 9 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 104
- Earned a year, estimated
- $56,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 11
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Utah Trucking Academy, Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$55,000Price if you pay yourself$5,47511 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Utah Trucking Academy, Salt Lake CityMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Utah Trucking Academy, Salt Lake City
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,750
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 98
- Earned a year, estimated
- $55,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,475
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 11
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Mountainland Technical College, All Locations
Lehi
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$41,000Price if you pay yourself$2,648Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Mountainland Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Mountainland Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,239
- Length
- 5 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 56
- Earned a year, estimated
- $41,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,648
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Axis Connect Trucking School
Sandy
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$30,600Price if you pay yourself$5,70054 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Axis Connect Trucking SchoolMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Axis Connect Trucking School
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,662
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 54
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,700
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 54
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Royal CDL Services LLC, Vernal, Utah
Vernal
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,500Price if you pay yourself$3,2253 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Royal CDL Services LLC, Vernal, Utah
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,125
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 35
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,225
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
160 Driving Academy, Bountiful
Bountiful
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,50631 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at 160 Driving Academy, BountifulMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at 160 Driving Academy, Bountiful
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 31
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,506
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 31
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Davis Technical College, All Locations
Kaysville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,770School website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Davis Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Davis Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $62
- Students counted
- 21
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,770
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Invictus Trucking Academy, Multiple Locations Within Slc
Salt Lake City
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,700Price if you pay yourself$4,73318 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Invictus Trucking Academy, Multiple Locations Within Slc
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,179
- Length
- 3 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,733
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 18
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Salt Lake Community College, All Locations
Salt Lake City
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,150Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Salt Lake Community College, All LocationsMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Salt Lake Community College, All Locations
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $102
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,150
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Behind The Wheel Truck Driving School, West Point
Salt Lake City
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,100Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Behind The Wheel Truck Driving School, West PointMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Behind The Wheel Truck Driving School, West Point
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,100
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
The Trucking School, Spanish Fork, Ut
Spanish Fork
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,200More details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at The Trucking School, Spanish Fork, Ut
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $75
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,200
Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
CDL Now, West Valley City
West Valley City
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,617Program website, Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at CDL Now, West Valley CityMore details about Truck and Bus Driver Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at CDL Now, West Valley City
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,617
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CDL training in Utah
WIOA funding can pay for CDL training in Utah
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for CDL training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
Company-paid CDL training
Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.9
GI Bill for CDL training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.10
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: CDL training in Utah
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 7 of 20
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 7th of 45
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 27 of 41
- CDL training programs here, against the typical state's 35
- 20 vs 35
State comparisons use the same figures as the CDL training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
CDL training in Salt Lake City, Provo, Ogden and other Utah cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area, 1 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in Utah
How CDL training compares with the rest of transportation and logistics: Transportation and logistics training in Utah
- CNA classes15 programs
- Medical assistant training13 programs
- Phlebotomy training11 programs
- Welding classes11 programs
- HVAC training6 programs
- Medical billing and coding training7 programs
- LPN programs10 programs
- EMT classes17 programs
- Electrician training8 programs
- Dental assistant programs9 programs
- Auto mechanic classes11 programs
- Pharmacy technician training11 programs
- Plumbing school7 programs
- CNC machinist training9 programs
- Carpentry classes3 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training3 programs
- Diesel mechanic training11 programs
- Cybersecurity training4 programs
- IT training33 programs
- Cosmetology school6 programs
- Barber school3 programs
- Esthetician school3 programs
- Nail tech school4 programs
- Massage therapy school2 programs
- Paralegal programs4 programs
- Fire academy3 programs
- Police academy5 programs
- Surgical tech programs6 programs
- Radiology tech programs3 programs
- Culinary school11 programs
- PTA programs3 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training6 programs
- Human resources training3 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training9 programs
- Early childhood education programs5 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Supply chain and logistics training1 program
- Hospitality management programs1 program
- Addiction counselor training1 program
- Coding and software development courses13 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses3 programs
- Administrative assistant training9 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs3 programs
- Medical lab technician programs5 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses9 programs
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses15 programs
- Health information technology programs5 programs
- Vet tech programs3 programs
- Real estate school2 programs
- OTA programs2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training1 program
- Home inspector training1 program
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs1 program
- Customer service training2 programs
- Flight school1 program
- Manufacturing technician training3 programs
- Electronics technician training3 programs
- Business administration programs8 programs
- Criminal justice programs2 programs
- Teacher assistant certification1 program
- Auto body repair classes3 programs
- Solar and wind technician training1 program
- Construction training programs9 programs
- Dental hygiene programs3 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes5 programs
- RN programs8 programs
- Project management certification6 programs
Where the Utah truck driving program numbers come from
Which Utah truck driving programs are on this list?
These are the truck driving programs Utah approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).11 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Utah offers.
How the prices and results of Utah truck driving programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Utah figures?
We leave out the share working 6 months later for Utah: its rates sit far below every other state's.
Sources for the facts about CDL training in Utah
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 49 CFR part 380, subpart F, Entry-level driver training requirements
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List