Retraining Report
Find training

CDL training in Houston

18 CDL training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

11 schools offer these truck driving programs with classes in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 In Houston, 6 of the 18 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 18 programs

All 162 CDL training programs in Texas, including online programs

How much does CDL training cost in Houston?

$4,425 to $5,654

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 18 programs with a price: $600 to $7,522

Finished the program
95%
Working 6 months later
72%
Earned a year, estimated
about $48,800
Length
Not reported for most programs

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Is there free CDL training in Houston?

All 18 CDL training programs in Houston approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

18 programs

  • Class AIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Class A CDL Program

    160 Driving Academy, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    160 Driving Academy, Houston · Class A · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$42,600
    Price if you pay yourself$4,995
    Program website, Class A CDL Program at 160 Driving Academy
    More details about Class A CDL Program at 160 Driving Academy
    Finished
    58%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,660
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    1,573

    Listed 9 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $42,600
    price
    $4,995
  • Class AIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Class A CDL Program- Night Class

    160 Driving Academy, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    160 Driving Academy, Houston · Class A · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$45,400
    Price if you pay yourself$4,995
    Program website, Class A CDL Program- Night Class at 160 Driving Academy
    More details about Class A CDL Program- Night Class at 160 Driving Academy
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,353
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    977
    a year, estimated
    $45,400
    price
    $4,995
  • CDL (class not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Truck Driver Training - CDL

    Kindle Trucking School, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Kindle Trucking School, Houston · CDL (class not stated) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,900
    Price if you pay yourself$4,850
    Program website, Truck Driver Training - CDL at Kindle Trucking School
    More details about Truck Driver Training - CDL at Kindle Trucking School
    Finished
    99%
    Working at 6 months
    49%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,226
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    666
    a year, estimated
    $36,900
    price
    $4,850
  • Class AHybridNo diploma needed

    Professional Truck Driving Certification

    Texas State Technical College Fort Bend, Rosenberg

    No diploma needed

    Texas State Technical College Fort Bend, Rosenberg · Class A · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$48,800
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500
    School website, Professional Truck Driving Certification at Texas State Technical College Fort Bend
    More details about Professional Truck Driving Certification at Texas State Technical College Fort Bend
    Finished
    97%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,193
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    133
    a year, estimated
    $48,800
    price
    $4,500
  • CDL (class not stated)In personNo diploma needed

    Commercial Truck Driving Program

    Alvin Community College, Alvin

    No diploma needed

    Alvin Community College, Alvin · CDL (class not stated) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$54,300
    Price if you pay yourself$3,945
    Program website, Commercial Truck Driving Program at Alvin Community College
    More details about Commercial Truck Driving Program at Alvin Community College
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,574
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $180
    Students counted
    122
    a year, estimated
    $54,300
    price
    $3,945
  • Class AHybridNo diploma needed

    Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 6WK Commercial Truck Driving

    San Jacinto College District, Pasadena

    No diploma needed

    San Jacinto College District, Pasadena · Class A · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$59,100
    Price if you pay yourself$7,522
    Program website, Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 6WK Commercial Truck Driving at San Jacinto College District
    More details about Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 6WK Commercial Truck Driving at San Jacinto College District
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,786
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $417
    Students counted
    61
    a year, estimated
    $59,100
    price
    $7,522
  • Endorsements and permit prepIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Endorsement Training

    Kindle Trucking School, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Kindle Trucking School, Houston · Endorsements and permit prep · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,900
    Program website, CDL Endorsement Training at Kindle Trucking School
    More details about CDL Endorsement Training at Kindle Trucking School
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $450
    Students counted
    19
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,900
  • CDL (class not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Commercial Vehicle Operator

    Dignity Professional Training Centers Inc, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dignity Professional Training Centers Inc, Houston · CDL (class not stated) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$59,900
    Price if you pay yourself$5,882
    Program website, Commercial Vehicle Operator at Dignity Professional Training Centers Inc
    More details about Commercial Vehicle Operator at Dignity Professional Training Centers Inc
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    36%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,976
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    14
    a year, estimated
    $59,900
    price
    $5,882
  • Endorsements and permit prepIn personEducation and courses

    Hazardous Materials Endorsements

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston

    Education and courses

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston · Endorsements and permit prep · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$600
    Program website, Hazardous Materials Endorsements at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    More details about Hazardous Materials Endorsements at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $600
  • CDL (class not stated)In personNo diploma needed

    Truck Driving

    Houston Community College District, Houston

    No diploma needed

    Houston Community College District, Houston · CDL (class not stated) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    Program website, Truck Driving at Houston Community College District
    More details about Truck Driving at Houston Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,000
  • Class A and Class BIn personEducation and courses

    ELDT Behind The Wheel Range Road

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston

    Education and courses

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston · Class A and Class B · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,300
    Program website, ELDT Behind The Wheel Range Road at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    More details about ELDT Behind The Wheel Range Road at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,300
  • Class AHybridNo diploma needed

    Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 12WK Commercial Truck Driving

    San Jacinto College District, Pasadena

    No diploma needed

    San Jacinto College District, Pasadena · Class A · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,400
    Program website, Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 12WK Commercial Truck Driving at San Jacinto College District
    More details about Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 12WK Commercial Truck Driving at San Jacinto College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $417
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,400
  • Class AIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Class A Training

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston · Class A · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500
    Program website, CDL Class A Training at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    More details about CDL Class A Training at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,500
  • Class upgradeIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Class B To Class A Upgrade

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston · Class upgrade · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500
    Program website, CDL Class B To Class A Upgrade at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    More details about CDL Class B To Class A Upgrade at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,500
  • Class BIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Class B Training

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC, Houston · Class B · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500
    Program website, CDL Class B Training at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    More details about CDL Class B Training at CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,500
  • CDL (class not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    East End Driving And Placement Service

    East End Driving And Placement Service, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    East End Driving And Placement Service, Houston · CDL (class not stated) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,218
    Program website, East End Driving And Placement Service at East End Driving And Placement Service
    More details about East End Driving And Placement Service at East End Driving And Placement Service
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,218
  • Class AIn personNo diploma needed

    Commercial Truck Driver

    Worktexas, Houston

    No diploma needed

    Worktexas, Houston · Class A · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,800
    Program website, Commercial Truck Driver at Worktexas
    More details about Commercial Truck Driver at Worktexas
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $200
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,800
  • CDL (class not stated)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Showoff The Ultimate Ss LLC Dba E And D Driving School

    Showoff The Ultimate Ss LLC Dba E And D Driving School, Houston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Showoff The Ultimate Ss LLC Dba E And D Driving School, Houston · CDL (class not stated) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,950
    Program website, Showoff The Ultimate Ss LLC Dba E And D Driving School at Showoff The Ultimate Ss LLC Dba E And D Driving School
    More details about Showoff The Ultimate Ss LLC Dba E And D Driving School at Showoff The Ultimate Ss LLC Dba E And D Driving School
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,950

How to pay for CDL training in Houston

Workforce funding can pay for CDL training in Houston

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for CDL training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

Company-paid CDL training

Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.7

GI Bill for CDL training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Houston truck driving program numbers come from

Which Houston truck driving programs are on this list?

These are the truck driving programs with classes in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Texas page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Houston truck driving program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some truck driving programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about CDL training in Houston

Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs