Crane operator training in Houston, Texas
17 crane operator programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these crane operator programs with classes in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 15 of these 17 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Crane and tower operators lift and move materials, machinery and other heavy loads, usually guided by signals from workers on the ground. Training can take several months, many operators first spend years running other construction equipment or working as riggers and signalers, and some states and cities require a crane operator license.1 On construction sites, federal rules require employers to make sure each crane operator is certified, by an accredited testing organization, or licensed before running most cranes, and the employer must provide that certification at no cost to the worker.2
In Houston, 3 of the 17 programs take students without a high school diploma, 1 asks for a diploma or equivalent and 13 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 17 programs here are mobile crane operator course (8 programs), recertification course (5 programs), rigger and signal person course (2 programs) and tower or overhead crane course (2 programs).
See the 17 programsAll 39 crane operator programs in Texas, including online programs
How much does crane operator training cost in Houston?
$3,827 to $6,000 is what most crane operator programs in Houston cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 17 programs with a price. All of them: $1,685 to $8,105
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 100%
- Working 6 months later
- 77%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $64,300
- Length
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Houston may also offer crane operator training. How these figures are made
All 17 crane operator programs in Houston approved for WIOA funding
Filters
17 programs
Track IV: Small Crane (TSS) Rigger Leve I Rigger Level II
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$45,900Price if you pay yourself$6,000124 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Track IV: Small Crane (TSS) Rigger Leve I Rigger Level II at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Track IV: Small Crane (TSS) Rigger Leve I Rigger Level II at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,478
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 151
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 124
Track II: Small Crane (TSS) & Large Crane (TLL)
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$64,800Price if you pay yourself$6,78553 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Track II: Small Crane (TSS) & Large Crane (TLL) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Track II: Small Crane (TSS) & Large Crane (TLL) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,206
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 69
- Earned a year, estimated
- $64,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,785
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 53
Track I: Rigger Level I Rigger Level II & Signal Person
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$63,800Price if you pay yourself$6,0007 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Track I: Rigger Level I Rigger Level II & Signal Person at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Track I: Rigger Level I Rigger Level II & Signal Person at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,941
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 59
- Earned a year, estimated
- $63,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Rigger Level II Recertification
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$76,600Price if you pay yourself$3,8273 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Rigger Level II Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Rigger Level II Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $19,161
- Length
- 1 week, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 20
- Earned a year, estimated
- $76,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,827
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Lattice Boom Crawler Crane Operator
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$71,200Price if you pay yourself$7,08513 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Lattice Boom Crawler Crane Operator at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Lattice Boom Crawler Crane Operator at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 94%
- Earned in a quarter
- $17,795
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- $71,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,085
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 13
Large Crane Operator (TLL)
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$44,900Price if you pay yourself$5,48514 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Large Crane Operator (TLL) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Large Crane Operator (TLL) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,233
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,485
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 14
Mobile Crane Additional Specialties Recertification
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,685Program website, Mobile Crane Additional Specialties Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Mobile Crane Additional Specialties Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,685
Mobile Crane Recertification
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,685Program website, Mobile Crane Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Mobile Crane Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,685
Overhead Crane Operator Recertification
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,410Program website, Overhead Crane Operator Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Overhead Crane Operator Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,410
Tower Crane Operator Recertification
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,410Program website, Tower Crane Operator Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Tower Crane Operator Recertification at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,410
Small Crane Operator (Tss)
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,985Program website, Small Crane Operator (Tss) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Small Crane Operator (Tss) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,985
Track II Fast Track: Small Crane (TSS) & Large Crane (TLL)
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,385Program website, Track II Fast Track: Small Crane (TSS) & Large Crane (TLL) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Track II Fast Track: Small Crane (TSS) & Large Crane (TLL) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,385
Overhead Crane Operator
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,485Program website, Overhead Crane Operator at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Overhead Crane Operator at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,485
Rigging
Worktexas
Houston
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,500Program website, Rigging at WorktexasMore details about Rigging at Worktexas
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
Mobile Crane Operator 101
Construction And Maintenance Education Foundation
La Porte
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,600Program website, Mobile Crane Operator 101 at Construction And Maintenance Education FoundationMore details about Mobile Crane Operator 101 at Construction And Maintenance Education Foundation
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $310
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,600
Tower Crane Operator
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,085Program website, Tower Crane Operator at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Tower Crane Operator at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,085
Track III: Rigger Level 1 Rigger Level 2 Signal Person & Small Crane (Tss)
Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
Baytown
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,105Program website, Track III: Rigger Level 1 Rigger Level 2 Signal Person & Small Crane (Tss) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.More details about Track III: Rigger Level 1 Rigger Level 2 Signal Person & Small Crane (Tss) at Diamond Rigging and Crane Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,105
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for crane operator training in Houston
WIOA funding can pay for crane operator training in Houston
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for crane operator training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for crane operator training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Houston
How crane operator training compares with the rest of skilled trades across Texas: Trade school programs in Texas
- CDL training18 programs
- Welding classes82 programs
- HVAC training31 programs
- LPN programs14 programs
- Electrician training34 programs
- Plumbing school24 programs
- CNC machinist training32 programs
- IT training45 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training15 programs
- Construction training programs33 programs
- RN programs20 programs
Where the Houston crane operator program numbers come from
Which Houston crane operator programs are on this list?
These are the crane operator programs with classes in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Texas page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Houston crane operator programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about crane operator training in Houston
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Material Moving Machine Operators
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 29 CFR 1926.1427, Operator training, certification, and evaluation
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List