Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Barber school in Ohio

16 barber programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

12 schools offer these barber programs, and Ohio has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Barbers shampoo, cut and style hair, mostly for men. Every state requires barbers to be licensed: you finish a state-approved program and then pass a state licensing exam.1

In Ohio, 6 of the 16 programs take students without a high school diploma, 9 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 16 programs here are barber license program (14 programs) and crossover, upgrade or short course (2 programs).

See the 16 programs

How much does barber school cost in Ohio?

$10,018 to $16,344 is what most barber programs in Ohio cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 16 programs with a price. All of them: $7,525 to $19,360

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not reported
None of the 16 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Ohio may also offer barber school. How these figures are made

Is there free barber school in Ohio?

All 16 barber programs in Ohio approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

16 programs

  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Barber

    Raphael's School of Beauty Culture

    Niles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Raphael's School of Beauty Culture, NilesBarber license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,400
    Price if you pay yourself$19,360
    More details about Barber at Raphael's School of Beauty Culture
    Finished
    56%
    Working at 6 months
    38%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,100
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $2,640
    Students counted
    158
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $19,360
  • Barber license programOnlineNo diploma needed

    1800 Hour Barber Program

    Meryma'at Barber College

    Based in Cleveland, OH

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Meryma'at Barber College, based in Cleveland, OHBarber license program · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,764
    Program website, 1800 Hour Barber Program at Meryma'at Barber College
    More details about 1800 Hour Barber Program at Meryma'at Barber College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $636
    Students counted
    79
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,764
    Program website, 1800 Hour Barber Program at Meryma'at Barber College
  • Barber license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Barber

    Prince's Barber Academy

    Zanesville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Prince's Barber Academy, ZanesvilleBarber license program · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,100
    Program website, Barber at Prince's Barber Academy
    More details about Barber at Prince's Barber Academy
    Finished
    81%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    28
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,100
    Program website, Barber at Prince's Barber Academy
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    1000 Hour Barber course

    TOL Barber College

    Toledo

    High school diploma or equivalent

    TOL Barber College, ToledoBarber license programIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,525
    Program website, 1000 Hour Barber course at TOL Barber College
    More details about 1000 Hour Barber course at TOL Barber College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $600
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,525
    Program website, 1000 Hour Barber course at TOL Barber College
  • Crossover, upgrade or short courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Barber/Stylist For Licensed Cosmetologist - 1000 Clock Hours

    Dayton Barber College

    Miamisburg

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dayton Barber College, MiamisburgCrossover, upgrade or short course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,030
    Program website, Barber/Stylist For Licensed Cosmetologist - 1000 Clock Hours at Dayton Barber College
    More details about Barber/Stylist For Licensed Cosmetologist - 1000 Clock Hours at Dayton Barber College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $280
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,030
    Program website, Barber/Stylist For Licensed Cosmetologist - 1000 Clock Hours at Dayton Barber College
  • Crossover, upgrade or short courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    1000 Hour CrossOver Program

    Meryma'at Barber College

    Based in Cleveland, OH

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Meryma'at Barber College, based in Cleveland, OHCrossover, upgrade or short course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,034
    Program website, 1000 Hour CrossOver Program at Meryma'at Barber College
    More details about 1000 Hour CrossOver Program at Meryma'at Barber College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $466
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,034
    Program website, 1000 Hour CrossOver Program at Meryma'at Barber College
  • Barber license programIn personNo diploma needed

    1000 Hour Full Time Barbering

    Ohio State College of Barber Styling

    Columbus

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ohio State College of Barber Styling, ColumbusBarber license program · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,324
    School website, 1000 Hour Full Time Barbering at Ohio State College of Barber Styling
    More details about 1000 Hour Full Time Barbering at Ohio State College of Barber Styling
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,324
    School website, 1000 Hour Full Time Barbering at Ohio State College of Barber Styling
  • Barber license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Barber/ Barbering

    Levels Barber College

    Canton

    No diploma needed

    Levels Barber College, CantonBarber license programIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,500
    Program website, Barber/ Barbering at Levels Barber College
    More details about Barber/ Barbering at Levels Barber College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,500
    Program website, Barber/ Barbering at Levels Barber College
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    BarberProgram

    Beauty and Barber Empowerment Center (H2 Healthy Hair Academy)

    Cleveland

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Beauty and Barber Empowerment Center (H2 Healthy Hair Academy), ClevelandBarber license programIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,250
    Program website, BarberProgram at Beauty and Barber Empowerment Center (H2 Healthy Hair Academy)
    More details about BarberProgram at Beauty and Barber Empowerment Center (H2 Healthy Hair Academy)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,250
    Program website, BarberProgram at Beauty and Barber Empowerment Center (H2 Healthy Hair Academy)
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Barber/Stylist - 1800 Clock Hours

    Dayton Barber College

    Miamisburg

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dayton Barber College, MiamisburgBarber license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,790
    Program website, Barber/Stylist - 1800 Clock Hours at Dayton Barber College
    More details about Barber/Stylist - 1800 Clock Hours at Dayton Barber College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $280
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,790
    Program website, Barber/Stylist - 1800 Clock Hours at Dayton Barber College
  • Barber license programIn personEducation and courses

    Barber management Program

    Beyond Expectations Barber College (BEBC)

    Youngstown

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Beyond Expectations Barber College (BEBC), YoungstownBarber license program · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,420
    Program website, Barber management Program at Beyond Expectations Barber College (BEBC)
    More details about Barber management Program at Beyond Expectations Barber College (BEBC)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $200
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,420
    Program website, Barber management Program at Beyond Expectations Barber College (BEBC)
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    1800-hour Barber Program

    Allstate Barber College, Inc.

    Cleveland

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Allstate Barber College, Inc., ClevelandBarber license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,860
    Program website, 1800-hour Barber Program at Allstate Barber College, Inc.
    More details about 1800-hour Barber Program at Allstate Barber College, Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,860
    Program website, 1800-hour Barber Program at Allstate Barber College, Inc.
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    1800 Hour barber course

    TOL Barber College

    Toledo

    High school diploma or equivalent

    TOL Barber College, ToledoBarber license programIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,125
    Program website, 1800 Hour barber course at TOL Barber College
    More details about 1800 Hour barber course at TOL Barber College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $600
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $16,125
    Program website, 1800 Hour barber course at TOL Barber College
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Barbering

    New Directions Beauty & Barber Institute

    Columbus

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New Directions Beauty & Barber Institute, ColumbusBarber license programIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$17,000
    More details about Barbering at New Directions Beauty & Barber Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,000
  • Barber license programIn personNo diploma needed

    1800 Full Time Barber Styling

    Ohio State College of Barber Styling

    Columbus

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ohio State College of Barber Styling, ColumbusBarber license program · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$17,524
    Program website, 1800 Full Time Barber Styling at Ohio State College of Barber Styling
    More details about 1800 Full Time Barber Styling at Ohio State College of Barber Styling
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,524
    Program website, 1800 Full Time Barber Styling at Ohio State College of Barber Styling
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    1000 Hour Barber Program

    Ron West Barber College LLC

    Dayton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Ron West Barber College LLC, DaytonBarber license programIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$19,270
    Program website, 1000 Hour Barber Program at Ron West Barber College LLC
    More details about 1000 Hour Barber Program at Ron West Barber College LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $750
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $19,270
    Program website, 1000 Hour Barber Program at Ron West Barber College LLC

How to pay for barber school in Ohio

WIOA funding can pay for barber school in Ohio

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for barber school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for barber school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Barber school in Ohio

programs with a price cost under $10,000
4 of 16
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
11th of 11
barber programs here, against the typical state's 3
16 vs 3

State comparisons use the same figures as the barber school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Barber school in Dayton, Columbus, Youngstown and other Ohio cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area and 2 online.

Other training in Ohio

How barber school compares with the rest of beauty and personal care: Beauty school in Ohio

Where the Ohio barber program numbers come from

Which Ohio barber programs are on this list?

These are the barber programs Ohio approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Ohio offers.

How the prices and results of Ohio barber programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about barber school in Ohio

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List