Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Wisconsin

51 accounting and bookkeeping programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

19 schools offer these accounting and bookkeeping programs, and Wisconsin has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Bookkeeping and accounting clerks record and check financial data so an organization keeps complete, accurate books. Some employers want college classes or a degree in accounting, others hire people with a high school diploma and train them on the job; certification is not usually required.1 Anyone paid to prepare or help prepare federal tax returns needs a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) from the IRS.2

In Wisconsin, 26 of the 51 programs take students without a high school diploma, 20 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 5 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 51 programs here are bookkeeping certificate or course (27 programs), accounting (associate degree, 15 programs), tax preparation (4 programs), payroll (3 programs), and 2 more of 2 other kinds.

See the 51 programs

How much do accounting and bookkeeping classes cost in Wisconsin?

Certificates and short courses (36 programs)
$1,888 to $4,957most of them, usually 26 to 32 weeks long
Two-year degrees (15 programs)
$9,649 to $10,326most of them, usually 64 to 66 weeks long

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
54%
Working 6 months later
78%
Earned a year, estimated
about $36,800
Length
30 to 64 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wisconsin may also offer accounting and bookkeeping classes. How these figures are made

Are there free accounting and bookkeeping classes in Wisconsin?

All 51 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

51 programs

  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting Assistant

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$35,800
    Price if you pay yourself$4,991
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    69%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,954
    Length
    30 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    758
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,991
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Gateway Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Madison Area Technical College

    Madison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Madison Area Technical College, MadisonAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$39,500
    Price if you pay yourself$9,623

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Accounting at Madison Area Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Madison Area Technical College
    Finished
    44%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,869
    Length
    64 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    731
    Earned a year, estimated
    $39,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,623
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
    School website, Accounting at Madison Area Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$38,400
    Price if you pay yourself$10,645

    9 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    37%
    Working at 6 months
    69%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,589
    Length
    70 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    719
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,645
    students trained with WIOA funding
    9
    Program website, Accounting at Gateway Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$37,600
    Price if you pay yourself$10,258

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    52%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,391
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,288
    Students counted
    613
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,258
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Accounting at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

    Green Bay

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Green BayAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,700
    Price if you pay yourself$10,926
    Program website, Accounting at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    53%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,929
    Length
    104 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,950
    Students counted
    584
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,926
    Program website, Accounting at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

    Green Bay

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Green BayBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,600
    Price if you pay yourself$5,131
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    60%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,390
    Length
    37 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,650
    Students counted
    504
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,131
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Western Technical College

    La Crosse

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Technical College, La CrosseAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,100
    Price if you pay yourself$10,013

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Western Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Western Technical College
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,522
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    403
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,013
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, Accounting at Western Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Chippewa Valley Technical College

    Based in Eau Claire, WI

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chippewa Valley Technical College, based in Eau Claire, WIAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,300
    Price if you pay yourself$10,046

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    Finished
    43%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,329
    Length
    64 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $553
    Students counted
    384
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,046
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Accounting at Chippewa Valley Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Accounting Assistant

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$38,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,117
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    43%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,692
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    378
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,117
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Bookkeeper

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$37,100
    Price if you pay yourself$2,193
    Program website, Bookkeeper at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Bookkeeper at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,269
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    376
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,193
    Program website, Bookkeeper at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Bookkeeping

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$37,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,160

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Bookkeeping at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Bookkeeping at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,384
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $136
    Students counted
    357
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,160
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Bookkeeping at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Madison Area Technical College

    Madison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Madison Area Technical College, MadisonBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$42,100
    Price if you pay yourself$4,963
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Madison Area Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Madison Area Technical College
    Finished
    77%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,533
    Length
    64 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    351
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,963
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Madison Area Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Accounting

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$39,300
    Price if you pay yourself$9,649

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    49%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,823
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    349
    Earned a year, estimated
    $39,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,649
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, Accounting at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Waukesha County Technical College

    Pewaukee

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Waukesha County Technical College, PewaukeeAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$40,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,397

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Waukesha County Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Waukesha County Technical College
    Finished
    43%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,093
    Length
    80 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    348
    Earned a year, estimated
    $40,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,397
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    Program website, Accounting at Waukesha County Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Northcentral Technical College

    Wausau

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northcentral Technical College, WausauAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$33,700
    Price if you pay yourself$10,394

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Accounting at Northcentral Technical College
    Finished
    41%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,431
    Length
    64 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    328
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,394
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Mid-State Technical College

    Wisconsin Rapids

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin RapidsAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,200
    Price if you pay yourself$9,698

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Mid-State Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Mid-State Technical College
    Finished
    35%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,294
    Length
    64 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,808
    Students counted
    288
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,698
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Accounting at Mid-State Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting Assistant

    Waukesha County Technical College

    Pewaukee

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Waukesha County Technical College, PewaukeeBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$39,600
    Price if you pay yourself$3,818
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Waukesha County Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Waukesha County Technical College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,906
    Length
    32 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    252
    Earned a year, estimated
    $39,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,818
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Waukesha County Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Bookkeeper

    Chippewa Valley Technical College

    Eau Claire

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chippewa Valley Technical College, Eau ClaireBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,500
    Price if you pay yourself$1,482
    Program website, Bookkeeper at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    More details about Bookkeeper at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,126
    Length
    16 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $390
    Students counted
    251
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,482
    Program website, Bookkeeper at Chippewa Valley Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting Assistant

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$38,500
    Price if you pay yourself$5,504
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,622
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $359
    Students counted
    250
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,504
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,200
    Price if you pay yourself$9,152
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    56%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,557
    Length
    64 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,010
    Students counted
    245
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,152
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Blackhawk Technical College

    Janesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Blackhawk Technical College, JanesvilleAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,000
    Price if you pay yourself$9,113

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at Blackhawk Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Blackhawk Technical College
    Finished
    31%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,503
    Length
    64 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    224
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,113
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Accounting at Blackhawk Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Mid-State Technical College

    Wisconsin Rapids

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin RapidsBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$30,100
    Price if you pay yourself$4,364

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Mid-State Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Mid-State Technical College
    Finished
    54%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,523
    Length
    32 weeks, 13 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $883
    Students counted
    199
    Earned a year, estimated
    $30,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,364
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Mid-State Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)OnlineNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Lakeshore Technical College

    Based in Cleveland, WI

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Lakeshore Technical College, based in Cleveland, WIAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$38,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,648
    Program website, Accounting at Lakeshore Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Lakeshore Technical College
    Finished
    50%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,606
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,136
    Students counted
    196
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,648
    Program website, Accounting at Lakeshore Technical College
  • Tax preparationHybridNo diploma needed

    Tax Preparer Assistant

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaTax preparation · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourself$1,827
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Tax Preparer Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    69%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,195
    Length
    28 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    195
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,827
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant at Gateway Technical College
  • PayrollHybridNo diploma needed

    Payroll Assistant

    Gateway Technical College

    Kenosha

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Gateway Technical College, KenoshaPayroll · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$40,700
    Price if you pay yourself$2,660
    Program website, Payroll Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    More details about Payroll Assistant at Gateway Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,187
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    190
    Earned a year, estimated
    $40,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,660
    Program website, Payroll Assistant at Gateway Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Accounting Assistant

    Lakeshore Technical College

    Based in Cleveland, WI

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Lakeshore Technical College, based in Cleveland, WIBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$35,700
    Price if you pay yourself$4,487
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Lakeshore Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Lakeshore Technical College
    Finished
    55%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,913
    Length
    30 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $848
    Students counted
    190
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,487
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Lakeshore Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Bookkeeper Trainee

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$39,100
    Price if you pay yourself$1,500
    Program website, Accounting Bookkeeper Trainee at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Accounting Bookkeeper Trainee at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,782
    Length
    16 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    171
    Earned a year, estimated
    $39,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,500
    Program website, Accounting Bookkeeper Trainee at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Bookkeeper

    Nicolet College

    Based in Rhinelander, WI

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Nicolet College, based in Rhinelander, WIBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$35,500
    Price if you pay yourself$1,027
    Program website, Bookkeeper at Nicolet College
    More details about Bookkeeper at Nicolet College
    Finished
    50%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,884
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $634
    Students counted
    157
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,027
    Program website, Bookkeeper at Nicolet College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College

    Fennimore

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, FennimoreAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$31,200
    Price if you pay yourself$9,860
    Program website, Accounting at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    49%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,811
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    157
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,860
    Program website, Accounting at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting Assistant

    Northcentral Technical College

    Wausau

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northcentral Technical College, WausauBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$36,600
    Price if you pay yourself$5,365

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Accounting Assistant at Northcentral Technical College
    Finished
    77%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,143
    Length
    32 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    149
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,365
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • PayrollHybridEducation and courses

    Payroll Assistant Certificate

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacPayroll · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$40,600
    Price if you pay yourself$1,608
    Program website, Payroll Assistant Certificate at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Payroll Assistant Certificate at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,151
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    146
    Earned a year, estimated
    $40,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,608
    Program website, Payroll Assistant Certificate at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Chippewa Valley Technical College

    Based in Eau Claire, WI

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chippewa Valley Technical College, based in Eau Claire, WIBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,300
    Price if you pay yourself$5,107
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,825
    Length
    32 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $479
    Students counted
    143
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,107
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Chippewa Valley Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Nicolet College

    Based in Rhinelander, WI

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nicolet College, based in Rhinelander, WIBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourself$4,951
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Nicolet College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Nicolet College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,190
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,461
    Students counted
    141
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,951
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Nicolet College
  • Tax preparationHybridEducation and courses

    Tax Preparer Assistant Certificate

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacTax preparation · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$42,200
    Price if you pay yourself$1,608
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant Certificate at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Tax Preparer Assistant Certificate at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,541
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    129
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,608
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant Certificate at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Nicolet College

    Based in Rhinelander, WI

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nicolet College, based in Rhinelander, WIAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourself$10,464
    Program website, Accounting at Nicolet College
    More details about Accounting at Nicolet College
    Finished
    27%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,204
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $437
    Students counted
    128
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,464
    Program website, Accounting at Nicolet College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Blackhawk Technical College

    Janesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Blackhawk Technical College, JanesvilleBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$37,500
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Blackhawk Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Blackhawk Technical College
    Finished
    34%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,371
    Length
    32 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    123
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Blackhawk Technical College
  • QuickBooks and accounting softwareHybridNo diploma needed

    Quickbooks Specialist

    Northcentral Technical College

    Wausau

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northcentral Technical College, WausauQuickBooks and accounting software · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,174
    More details about Quickbooks Specialist at Northcentral Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    95
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,174
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Assistant

    Western Technical College

    La Crosse

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Technical College, La CrosseBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,400
    Price if you pay yourself$4,596
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Western Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Western Technical College
    Finished
    55%
    Working at 6 months
    63%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,855
    Length
    45 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    69
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,596
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Western Technical College
  • Tax preparationIn personNo diploma needed

    Tax Preparer Assistant

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College

    Fennimore

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, FennimoreTax preparation · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$23,500
    Price if you pay yourself$1,800
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Tax Preparer Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,866
    Length
    16 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    64
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,800
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
  • PayrollIn personNo diploma needed

    Payroll Assistant

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College

    Fennimore

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, FennimorePayroll · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$26,500
    Price if you pay yourself$1,950
    Program website, Payroll Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Payroll Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,637
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    45
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,950
    Program website, Payroll Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting Assistant

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College

    Fennimore

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, FennimoreBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$20,500
    Price if you pay yourself$5,080
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    63%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,136
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    41
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,080
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Small Business Bookkeeping

    Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs

    Wausau

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs, WausauBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,347
    More details about Small Business Bookkeeping at Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    19
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,347
  • Tax preparationHybridNo diploma needed

    Tax Preparer Assistant

    Northwood Technical College

    Rice Lake

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northwood Technical College, Rice LakeTax preparation · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,625
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant at Northwood Technical College
    More details about Tax Preparer Assistant at Northwood Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 7 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,625
    Program website, Tax Preparer Assistant at Northwood Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Billing and Posting Clerk

    Northwood Technical College

    Rice Lake

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northwood Technical College, Rice LakeBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,113
    Program website, Billing and Posting Clerk at Northwood Technical College
    More details about Billing and Posting Clerk at Northwood Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 11 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,113
    Program website, Billing and Posting Clerk at Northwood Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Bookkeeper

    University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing Education

    Based in River Falls, WI

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing Education, based in River Falls, WIBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,345
    Program website, Certified Bookkeeper at University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing Education
    More details about Certified Bookkeeper at University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing Education
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,345
    Program website, Certified Bookkeeper at University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing Education
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online (Voucher Included)

    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

    Based in La Crosse, WI

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, based in La Crosse, WIBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,375
    Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online (Voucher Included) at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
    More details about Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online (Voucher Included) at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 4 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,375
    Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online (Voucher Included) at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • Accounting certificateHybridNo diploma needed

    Managerial Accounting

    Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs

    Wausau

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs, WausauAccounting certificate · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,682
    More details about Managerial Accounting at Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,682
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Small Business Bookkeeping - Certificate

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

    Green Bay

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Green BayBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,575
    Program website, Small Business Bookkeeping - Certificate at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Small Business Bookkeeping - Certificate at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $269
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,575
    Program website, Small Business Bookkeeping - Certificate at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online with Payroll Practice and Management (Voucher Includ

    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

    Based in La Crosse, WI

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, based in La Crosse, WIBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,845
    Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online with Payroll Practice and Management (Voucher Includ at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
    More details about Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online with Payroll Practice and Management (Voucher Includ at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 4 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,845
    Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online with Payroll Practice and Management (Voucher Includ at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting Assistant

    Northwood Technical College

    Rice Lake

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northwood Technical College, Rice LakeBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,843
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Northwood Technical College
    More details about Accounting Assistant at Northwood Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,843
    Program website, Accounting Assistant at Northwood Technical College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Northwood Technical College

    Rice Lake

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northwood Technical College, Rice LakeAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,667
    Program website, Accounting at Northwood Technical College
    More details about Accounting at Northwood Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,667
    Program website, Accounting at Northwood Technical College

How to pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Wisconsin

WIOA funding can pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Wisconsin

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Wisconsin

programs with a price cost under $2,000
10 of 50
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
17th of 38
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
14 of 19
accounting and bookkeeping programs here, against the typical state's 16
51 vs 16

State comparisons use the same figures as the accounting and bookkeeping classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Fond du Lac, Wausau, Kenosha and other Wisconsin cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 13 more programs are in 6 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns and 10 online.

Other training in Wisconsin

How accounting and bookkeeping classes compare with the rest of business and office work: Business and office training in Wisconsin

Where the Wisconsin accounting and bookkeeping program numbers come from

Which Wisconsin accounting and bookkeeping programs are on this list?

These are the accounting and bookkeeping programs Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wisconsin offers.

How the prices and results of Wisconsin accounting and bookkeeping programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about accounting and bookkeeping classes in Wisconsin

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
  2. Internal Revenue Service: PTIN requirements for tax return preparers
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List