Welding classes in McAllen
23 welding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these welding programs with classes in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Welders join and cut metal parts with hand-held or remotely controlled equipment. Most have a high school diploma plus technical training, and some employers ask for a certification for particular jobs.1 In McAllen, 9 of the 23 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 23 programsAll 282 welding programs in Texas, including online programs
How much do welding classes cost in McAllen?
$3,278 to $10,107
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 23 programs with a price: $821 to $19,900
- Finished the program
- 96%
- Working 6 months later
- 67%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $32,700
- Length
- Not reported for most programs
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
All 23 welding programs in McAllen approved for funding
Filters
23 programs
Welder Specialist
McAllen Careers Institute, McAllen
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,700Price if you pay yourself$19,900Program website, Welder Specialist at McAllen Careers InstituteMore details about Welder Specialist at McAllen Careers Institute
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,171
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $2,125
- Students counted
- 784
- a year, estimated
- $32,700
- price
- $19,900
Combination Welding
South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen, McAllen
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$30,000Price if you pay yourself$13,250Program website, Combination Welding at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllenMore details about Combination Welding at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,507
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 757
- a year, estimated
- $30,000
- price
- $13,250
Welding
Southern Careers Institute, Pharr
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,900Price if you pay yourself$13,400Program website, Welding at Southern Careers InstituteMore details about Welding at Southern Careers Institute
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,234
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $260
- Students counted
- 510
Listed 3 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- a year, estimated
- $28,900
- price
- $13,400
Structural/Maintenance Welder
Southern Industrial Careers Center, La Feria
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$33,800Price if you pay yourself$3,255Program website, Structural/Maintenance Welder at Southern Industrial Careers CenterMore details about Structural/Maintenance Welder at Southern Industrial Careers Center
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,440
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,400
- Students counted
- 229
Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- a year, estimated
- $33,800
- price
- $3,255
Program 101 Stick Welding Structural
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,400Price if you pay yourself$3,300More details about Program 101 Stick Welding Structural at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,847
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $550
- Students counted
- 69
- a year, estimated
- $27,400
- price
- $3,300
Combination Welder Pipe
Southern Industrial Careers Center, La Feria
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$36,200Price if you pay yourself$3,255Program website, Combination Welder Pipe at Southern Industrial Careers CenterMore details about Combination Welder Pipe at Southern Industrial Careers Center
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 38%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,043
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,750
- Students counted
- 54
Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- a year, estimated
- $36,200
- price
- $3,255
PROGRAM 111 Combination Welding
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$48,200Price if you pay yourself$12,500More details about PROGRAM 111 Combination Welding at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,049
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- 41
- a year, estimated
- $48,200
- price
- $12,500
Program 104 Heliarc Welding Pipe
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$54,200Price if you pay yourself$9,214More details about Program 104 Heliarc Welding Pipe at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,559
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $650
- Students counted
- 34
- a year, estimated
- $54,200
- price
- $9,214
Stick and Pipe Welding
McAllen Careers Institute, McAllen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$21,100Price if you pay yourself$16,124Program website, Stick and Pipe Welding at McAllen Careers InstituteMore details about Stick and Pipe Welding at McAllen Careers Institute
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,263
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $2,750
- Students counted
- 22
- a year, estimated
- $21,100
- price
- $16,124
Pipefitting
McAllen Careers Institute, McAllen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$41,900Price if you pay yourself$9,090Program website, Pipefitting at McAllen Careers InstituteMore details about Pipefitting at McAllen Careers Institute
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,470
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,545
- Students counted
- 12
- a year, estimated
- $41,900
- price
- $9,090
Program 108 Stainless Steel Welding Structual
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,400Price if you pay yourself$7,687More details about Program 108 Stainless Steel Welding Structual at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,340
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $550
- Students counted
- 10
- a year, estimated
- $29,400
- price
- $7,687
Plate Welding
South Texas College, McAllen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$821Program website, Plate Welding at South Texas CollegeMore details about Plate Welding at South Texas College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $430
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $821
Welding
South Texas College, McAllen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$980Program website, Welding at South Texas CollegeMore details about Welding at South Texas College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $632
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $980
Pipe Welding
South Texas College, McAllen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,381Program website, Pipe Welding at South Texas CollegeMore details about Pipe Welding at South Texas College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $620
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,381
Welding Fundamentals
Southern Industrial Careers Center, La Feria
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,572School website, Welding Fundamentals at Southern Industrial Careers CenterMore details about Welding Fundamentals at Southern Industrial Careers Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $495
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,572
Program 102 Stick Welding Pipe
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,300More details about Program 102 Stick Welding Pipe at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $550
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,300
Program 107 Flux Core Welding Pipe
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,300More details about Program 107 Flux Core Welding Pipe at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $550
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,300
Program 110 Flux Core Welding Structural
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,300More details about Program 110 Flux Core Welding Structural at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $550
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,300
Program 105 Heliarc Plate
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,900More details about Program 105 Heliarc Plate at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $650
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,900
Program 109 MIG Welding
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,344More details about Program 109 MIG Welding at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $550
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,344
Program 106 Coper Nickle Welding
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,600More details about Program 106 Coper Nickle Welding at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $650
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,600
Program 103 Stick Welding Downhill Pipeline With Saddle Test
South Texas Welding School, Edinburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,776More details about Program 103 Stick Welding Downhill Pipeline With Saddle Test at South Texas Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $650
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,776
Combo Pipe Welder
McAllen Careers Institute, McAllen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,000Program website, Combo Pipe Welder at McAllen Careers InstituteMore details about Combo Pipe Welder at McAllen Careers Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,160
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $11,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for welding classes in McAllen
Workforce funding can pay for welding classes in McAllen
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for welding classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for welding classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the McAllen welding program numbers come from
Which McAllen welding programs are on this list?
These are the welding programs with classes in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Texas page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How McAllen welding program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some welding programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about welding classes in McAllen
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs