Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical assistant training in McAllen, Texas

11 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these medical assistant programs with classes in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1

In McAllen, 2 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, 7 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 1 asks for earlier courses first and 1 asks for an associate degree.

By kind, the 11 programs here are medical assistant (7 programs), clinical medical assistant (3 programs) and medical administrative assistant (1 program).

See the 11 programs

All 139 medical assistant programs in Texas, including online programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in McAllen?

$6,750 to $15,794 is what most medical assistant programs in McAllen cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 11 programs with a price. All of them: $1,904 to $17,900

In the typical program

Finished the program
76%
Working 6 months later
71%
Earned a year, estimated
about $19,800
Length
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in McAllen may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in McAllen?

All 11 medical assistant programs in McAllen approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Southern Careers Institute

    Pharr

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southern Careers Institute, PharrMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,600
    Price if you pay yourself$17,900

    9 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Assistant at Southern Careers Institute
    More details about Medical Assistant at Southern Careers Institute
    Finished
    53%
    Working at 6 months
    62%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,646
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    862

    Listed 4 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,900
    students trained with WIOA funding
    9
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Southern Careers Institute
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant

    South Texas Training Center

    Pharr

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    South Texas Training Center, PharrMedical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$17,100
    Price if you pay yourself$9,702
    Program website, Medical Assistant at South Texas Training Center
    More details about Medical Assistant at South Texas Training Center
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,278
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $760
    Students counted
    487

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $17,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,702
    Program website, Medical Assistant at South Texas Training Center
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Clinical Assistant

    South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen

    McAllen

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen, McAllenClinical medical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$19,800
    Price if you pay yourself$16,039

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Clinical Assistant at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen
    More details about Medical Clinical Assistant at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen
    Finished
    76%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,948
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    383
    Earned a year, estimated
    $19,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $16,039
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Medical Clinical Assistant at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Rio Grande Valley College

    Pharr

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Rio Grande Valley College, PharrMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,200
    Price if you pay yourself$15,550

    7 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Assistant at Rio Grande Valley College
    More details about Medical Assistant at Rio Grande Valley College
    Finished
    76%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,542
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    225
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,550
    students trained with WIOA funding
    7
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Rio Grande Valley College
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Clinical Medical Assistant Program

    University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Continuing Education Program

    Edinburg

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Continuing Education Program, EdinburgClinical medical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,799
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant Program at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Continuing Education Program
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant Program at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Continuing Education Program
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    128
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,799
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant Program at University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Continuing Education Program
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant

    South Texas Training Center

    Pharr

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    South Texas Training Center, PharrMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$19,700
    Price if you pay yourself$9,702
    Program website, Medical Assistant at South Texas Training Center
    More details about Medical Assistant at South Texas Training Center
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,933
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    83
    Earned a year, estimated
    $19,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,702
    Program website, Medical Assistant at South Texas Training Center
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridAssociate's degree

    Medical Clincal Assistant

    South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen

    Weslaco

    Accredited school

    Associate's degree

    South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen, WeslacoClinical medical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · Associate's degree

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,372
    School website, Medical Clincal Assistant at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen
    More details about Medical Clincal Assistant at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    87
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $16,372
    School website, Medical Clincal Assistant at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen
  • Medical administrative assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Administrative Assistant

    South Texas College

    McAllen

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Texas College, McAllenMedical administrative assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,904
    Program website, Medical Administrative Assistant at South Texas College
    More details about Medical Administrative Assistant at South Texas College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $354
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,904
    Program website, Medical Administrative Assistant at South Texas College
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Internatonalculinary Institute

    Pharr

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Internatonalculinary Institute, PharrMedical assistantIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,500
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Internatonalculinary Institute
    More details about Medical Assistant at Internatonalculinary Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $210
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,500
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Internatonalculinary Institute
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant Certified

    New Start School

    McAllen

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New Start School, McAllenMedical assistantHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,000
    More details about Medical Assistant Certified at New Start School
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,000
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting

    Inter-Tech Technical School

    McAllen

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Inter-Tech Technical School, McAllenMedical assistantIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,995
    More details about Medical Assisting at Inter-Tech Technical School
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,995

How to pay for medical assistant training in McAllen

WIOA funding can pay for medical assistant training in McAllen

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in McAllen

How medical assistant training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work across Texas: Medical certification programs in Texas

Where the McAllen medical assistant program numbers come from

Which McAllen medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs with classes in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Texas page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How the prices and results of McAllen medical assistant programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in McAllen

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List