Retraining Report
Find training

CNA classes in McAllen

11 CNA programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

6 schools offer these nursing assistant programs with classes in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Nursing assistants give basic care and help patients with everyday tasks. To work as one, you usually finish a state-approved program and pass your state's competency exam, which puts you on the state registry.1 In McAllen, 4 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma.

See the 11 programs

All 118 CNA programs in Texas, including online programs

How much do CNA classes cost in McAllen?

$2,455 to $6,602

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 11 programs with a price: $929 to $15,953

Finished the program
90%
Working 6 months later
71%
Earned a year, estimated
about $16,400
Length
Not reported for most programs

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Are there free CNA classes in McAllen?

All 11 CNA programs in McAllen approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nurse Aide

    New Start School, McAllen

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New Start School, McAllen · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,700
    Price if you pay yourself$929
    More details about Nurse Aide at New Start School
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,915
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $65
    Students counted
    713
    a year, estimated
    $23,700
    price
    $929
  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personNo diploma needed

    Nurse Aide

    Southern Careers Institute, Pharr

    No diploma needed

    Southern Careers Institute, Pharr · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$25,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,550
    Program website, Nurse Aide at Southern Careers Institute
    More details about Nurse Aide at Southern Careers Institute
    Finished
    97%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,246
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    352

    Listed 3 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $25,000
    price
    $2,550
  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personEducation and courses

    Nurse Aide/Home Health Aide

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr

    Education and courses

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$16,600
    Price if you pay yourself$3,804
    Program website, Nurse Aide/Home Health Aide at South Texas Training Center
    More details about Nurse Aide/Home Health Aide at South Texas Training Center
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,139
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $650
    Students counted
    70

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $16,600
    price
    $3,804
  • Patient care technicianIn personEducation and courses

    Patient Care Technician

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr

    Education and courses

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr · Patient care technician · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$14,200
    Price if you pay yourself$8,840
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at South Texas Training Center
    More details about Patient Care Technician at South Texas Training Center
    Finished
    82%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,548
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,260
    Students counted
    54

    Listed 3 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $14,200
    price
    $8,840
  • Patient care technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    Rio Grande Valley College, Pharr

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Rio Grande Valley College, Pharr · Patient care technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$21,900
    Price if you pay yourself$13,500
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Rio Grande Valley College
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Rio Grande Valley College
    Finished
    63%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,468
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    53
    a year, estimated
    $21,900
    price
    $13,500
  • Patient care technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    Valley Grande Institute, Weslaco

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Valley Grande Institute, Weslaco · Patient care technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$13,200
    Price if you pay yourself$15,953
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Valley Grande Institute
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Valley Grande Institute
    Finished
    78%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,295
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    42
    a year, estimated
    $13,200
    price
    $15,953
  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personNo diploma needed

    Nurse Aide Home Health Aide-Bilingual

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr

    No diploma needed

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$12,900
    Price if you pay yourself$4,364
    Program website, Nurse Aide Home Health Aide-Bilingual at South Texas Training Center
    More details about Nurse Aide Home Health Aide-Bilingual at South Texas Training Center
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,224
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $650
    Students counted
    22

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $12,900
    price
    $4,364
  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personEducation and courses

    Nurse Aide/Home Health/Rehab Tech

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr

    Education and courses

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$16,200
    Price if you pay yourself$2,455
    Program website, Nurse Aide/Home Health/Rehab Tech at South Texas Training Center
    More details about Nurse Aide/Home Health/Rehab Tech at South Texas Training Center
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    64%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,043
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $665
    Students counted
    11
    a year, estimated
    $16,200
    price
    $2,455
  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personNo diploma needed

    Certified Nurse Assistant

    South Texas College, McAllen

    No diploma needed

    South Texas College, McAllen · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,181
    Program website, Certified Nurse Assistant at South Texas College
    More details about Certified Nurse Assistant at South Texas College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,181
  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personNo diploma needed

    Nurse Aide Home Health Aide-Rehab Technician

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr

    No diploma needed

    South Texas Training Center, Pharr · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,455
    Program website, Nurse Aide Home Health Aide-Rehab Technician at South Texas Training Center
    More details about Nurse Aide Home Health Aide-Rehab Technician at South Texas Training Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $665
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,455
  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Assistant

    South Texas College, McAllen

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Texas College, McAllen · Nursing assistant (CNA) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,805
    Program website, Patient Care Assistant at South Texas College
    More details about Patient Care Assistant at South Texas College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $390
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,805

How to pay for CNA classes in McAllen

Workforce funding can pay for CNA classes in McAllen

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for CNA classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for CNA classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the McAllen nursing assistant program numbers come from

Which McAllen nursing assistant programs are on this list?

These are the nursing assistant programs with classes in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Texas page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How McAllen nursing assistant program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some nursing assistant programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about CNA classes in McAllen

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs