Retraining Report
Find training

Welding classes in San Antonio

18 welding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these welding programs with classes in the San Antonio-New Braunfels area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Welders join and cut metal parts with hand-held or remotely controlled equipment. Most have a high school diploma plus technical training, and some employers ask for a certification for particular jobs.1 In San Antonio, 16 of the 18 programs take students without a high school diploma.

See the 18 programs

All 282 welding programs in Texas, including online programs

How much do welding classes cost in San Antonio?

$705 to $4,727

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 18 programs with a price: $390 to $17,796

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
Not reported for most programs

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Are there free welding classes in San Antonio?

All 18 welding programs in San Antonio approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

18 programs

  • General weldingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Combination Welding

    South Texas Vocational Technical Institute San Antonio, San Antonio

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Texas Vocational Technical Institute San Antonio, San Antonio · General welding · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$30,800
    Price if you pay yourself$16,968
    Program website, Combination Welding at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute San Antonio
    More details about Combination Welding at South Texas Vocational Technical Institute San Antonio
    Finished
    66%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,695
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    1,103
    a year, estimated
    $30,800
    price
    $16,968
  • Welding (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Welding AAS

    Accd St Philips College, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Accd St Philips College, San Antonio · Welding (associate degree) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$21,700
    Price if you pay yourself$4,524
    Program website, Welding AAS at Accd St Philips College
    More details about Welding AAS at Accd St Philips College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,437
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,260
    Students counted
    124
    a year, estimated
    $21,700
    price
    $4,524
  • General weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Introduction to Welding

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · General welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$40,600
    Price if you pay yourself$1,750
    Program website, Introduction to Welding at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Introduction to Welding at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    64%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,156
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $96
    Students counted
    31
    a year, estimated
    $40,600
    price
    $1,750
  • Structural weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Certification Fcaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G Groove 3/8" Plate 1/4" Backing

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Structural welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$390
    Program website, Welder Certification Fcaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G Groove 3/8" Plate 1/4" Backing at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Certification Fcaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G Groove 3/8" Plate 1/4" Backing at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $390
  • Structural weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Certification Fcaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G Groove 1" Plate

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Structural welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$400
    Program website, Welder Certification Fcaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G Groove 1" Plate at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Certification Fcaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G Groove 1" Plate at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $400
  • Structural weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Certification Smaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G 1/8" Groove 1" Plate 1/4" Backing

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Structural welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$400
    Program website, Welder Certification Smaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G 1/8" Groove 1" Plate 1/4" Backing at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Certification Smaw 1G 2G 3G & 4G 1/8" Groove 1" Plate 1/4" Backing at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $400
  • Single welding processIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Certification Fcaw 3G & 4G 1/8" Combo

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Single welding process · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$700
    Program website, Welder Certification Fcaw 3G & 4G 1/8" Combo at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Certification Fcaw 3G & 4G 1/8" Combo at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $700
  • Single welding processIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Certification Smaw 3G & 4G 1/8" Combo

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Single welding process · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$700
    Program website, Welder Certification Smaw 3G & 4G 1/8" Combo at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Certification Smaw 3G & 4G 1/8" Combo at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $700
  • Single welding processIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Certification Fcaw 3G & 4G 1" Combo

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Single welding process · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$720
    Program website, Welder Certification Fcaw 3G & 4G 1" Combo at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Certification Fcaw 3G & 4G 1" Combo at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $720
  • General weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welding Certificate

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · General welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,150
    Program website, Welding Certificate at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welding Certificate at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $740
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,150
  • Single welding processIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Training Adv ARC Welding

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Single welding process · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,261
    Program website, Welder Training Adv ARC Welding at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Training Adv ARC Welding at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,261
  • Single welding processIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Training Adv TIG Stainless Welding

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Single welding process · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,261
    Program website, Welder Training Adv TIG Stainless Welding at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Training Adv TIG Stainless Welding at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,261
  • Single welding processIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Training Adv TIG Aluminum Welding

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Single welding process · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,444
    Program website, Welder Training Adv TIG Aluminum Welding at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Training Adv TIG Aluminum Welding at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,444
  • Single welding processIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Training Adv MIG Welding

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Single welding process · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,753
    Program website, Welder Training Adv MIG Welding at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Training Adv MIG Welding at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,753
  • Pipe weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Training Pipe Welding

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Pipe welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,795
    Program website, Welder Training Pipe Welding at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Training Pipe Welding at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,795
  • Structural weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welder Training Structural Welding

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Alamo Community College District, San Antonio · Structural welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,905
    Program website, Welder Training Structural Welding at Alamo Community College District
    More details about Welder Training Structural Welding at Alamo Community College District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,905
  • General weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Manual/Semi-Inert Gas Welding Certificate

    Accd St Philips College, San Antonio

    No diploma needed

    Accd St Philips College, San Antonio · General welding · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,318
    Program website, Manual/Semi-Inert Gas Welding Certificate at Accd St Philips College
    More details about Manual/Semi-Inert Gas Welding Certificate at Accd St Philips College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,573
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $7,318
  • General weldingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Welding Technology

    Propel Career Academy, San Antonio

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Propel Career Academy, San Antonio · General welding · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$17,796
    Program website, Welding Technology at Propel Career Academy
    More details about Welding Technology at Propel Career Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $17,796

How to pay for welding classes in San Antonio

Workforce funding can pay for welding classes in San Antonio

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for welding classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for welding classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the San Antonio welding program numbers come from

Which San Antonio welding programs are on this list?

These are the welding programs with classes in the San Antonio-New Braunfels area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Texas page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How San Antonio welding program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some welding programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about welding classes in San Antonio

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs