Retraining Report
Find training

Medical assistant training in Connecticut

11 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these medical assistant programs, and Connecticut has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Connecticut, 1 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 11 programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in Connecticut?

$6,688 to $9,598

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 11 programs with a price: $4,149 to $14,000

Finished the program
82%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
26 to 40 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in Connecticut?

All 11 medical assistant programs in Connecticut approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Registered Medical Assistant Certificate

    Asnuntuck Community College, Enfield

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Asnuntuck Community College, Enfield · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$37,400
    Price if you pay yourself$7,055
    School website, Registered Medical Assistant Certificate at Asnuntuck Community College
    More details about Registered Medical Assistant Certificate at Asnuntuck Community College
    Finished
    95%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,346
    Length
    48 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,734
    Students counted
    150
    a year, estimated
    $37,400
    price
    $7,055
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant Program

    Tunxis Community College, Farmington

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tunxis Community College, Farmington · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,200
    Price if you pay yourself$8,537
    School website, Medical Assistant Program at Tunxis Community College
    More details about Medical Assistant Program at Tunxis Community College
    Finished
    82%
    Working at 6 months
    89%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,542
    Length
    43 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    120
    a year, estimated
    $34,200
    price
    $8,537
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    American Professional Educational Services, Inc., Norwich

    High school diploma or equivalent

    American Professional Educational Services, Inc., Norwich · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,900
    Price if you pay yourself$5,100
    School website, Medical Assistant at American Professional Educational Services, Inc.
    More details about Medical Assistant at American Professional Educational Services, Inc.
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,230
    Length
    36 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    49
    a year, estimated
    $28,900
    price
    $5,100
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant

    American Institute of Healthcare & Technology, Stratford

    No diploma needed

    American Institute of Healthcare & Technology, Stratford · Medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,000
    Program website, Medical Assistant at American Institute of Healthcare & Technology
    More details about Medical Assistant at American Institute of Healthcare & Technology
    Finished
    78%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    38
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $14,000
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Eastconn*, Hampton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Eastconn*, Hampton · Clinical medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,100
    Price if you pay yourself$4,149
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Eastconn*
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Eastconn*
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    87%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,030
    Length
    17 weeks, 27 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $379
    Students counted
    27
    a year, estimated
    $32,100
    price
    $4,149
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting Certificate (Asnuntuck)

    CT State Community College, New Britain

    High school diploma or equivalent

    CT State Community College, New Britain · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,500
    Program website, Medical Assisting Certificate (Asnuntuck) at CT State Community College
    More details about Medical Assisting Certificate (Asnuntuck) at CT State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 7 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    76
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,500
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant Program (Tunxis)

    CT State Community College, New Britain

    High school diploma or equivalent

    CT State Community College, New Britain · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,500
    Program website, Medical Assistant Program (Tunxis) at CT State Community College
    More details about Medical Assistant Program (Tunxis) at CT State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    43 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    29
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,500
  • Medical assistantOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    The National Institute for Medical Assistant Advancement INC, Online, based in Denver, CO

    High school diploma or equivalent

    The National Institute for Medical Assistant Advancement INC, Online, based in Denver, CO · Medical assistant · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,625
    More details about Medical Assistant at The National Institute for Medical Assistant Advancement INC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    29 weeks, 33 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $760
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,625
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Quikdraw Phlebotomy School LLC, Shelton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Quikdraw Phlebotomy School LLC, Shelton · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,750
    More details about Medical Assistant at Quikdraw Phlebotomy School LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,750
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Griffin Hospital, Derby

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Griffin Hospital, Derby · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,695
    More details about Medical Assistant at Griffin Hospital
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,695
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant (Hybrid)

    Griffin Hospital, Derby

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Griffin Hospital, Derby · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,695
    More details about Medical Assistant (Hybrid) at Griffin Hospital
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    22 weeks, 34 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,695

How to pay for medical assistant training in Connecticut

Workforce funding can pay for medical assistant training in Connecticut

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Connecticut medical assistant program numbers come from

Which Connecticut medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs Connecticut approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Connecticut offers.

How Connecticut medical assistant program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Connecticut

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs