Transportation and logistics training in Tennessee
75 transportation and logistics programs in 5 fields of transportation and logistics, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
53 schools offer these programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 5 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
These programs train you to move people and goods: CDL truck driving, forklift certification, flight school, merchant mariner training, aircraft maintenance (the mechanics who keep planes flying) and supply chain and logistics work, from freight brokering to running a warehouse.
All job training programs in Tennessee, every line of work
Accredited transportation schools in Tennessee, each school with its accreditor
Transportation and logistics training by state, to compare Tennessee with other states
Compare transportation and logistics programs in Tennessee: cost, pay and results
CDL training (truck driving)
50 programs at 43 schools
- Most cost
- $1,806 to $4,995
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $44,900
- Working 6 months later
- 80%
- Finished
- 91%
Aircraft mechanic school (aviation maintenance)
11 programs at 6 schools
- Most cost
- $4,772 to $9,724
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $54,100
- Working 6 months later
- 73%
- Finished
- 77%
Supply chain and logistics training
8 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $1,796 to $2,723
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $30,700
- Working 6 months later
- 70%
- Finished
- 69%
Flight school
5 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- $5,760 to $33,712
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Forklift certification
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Tennessee may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Tennessee, by line of work
- Trade school programs327
- Medical certification programs197
- IT certification programs163
- Business and office training154
- Allied health programs109
- Nursing and patient care programs102
- First responder training71
- Beauty school45
- Child care and social services training24
- Culinary and hospitality programs15
- All job training in Tennessee1,282
Programs approved in Tennessee in each line of work.
Where the Tennessee transportation and logistics numbers come from
Which Tennessee programs are counted?
Programs Tennessee approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about transportation and logistics programs in Tennessee
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List