Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Sterile processing technician training in Indiana

5 sterile processing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these sterile processing programs, and Indiana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical equipment preparers, with job titles such as sterile processing technician, clean and sterilize surgical instruments and other healthcare equipment and assemble instrument trays. The job usually asks for a high school diploma or equivalent and a few days to a year of on-the-job training, though some employers ask for a postsecondary certificate.1

In Indiana, 4 of the 5 programs take students without a high school diploma and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

All 5 are the same kind of program: sterile processing technician course.

See the 5 programs

How much does sterile processing training cost in Indiana?

$2,045 to $3,300 is what most sterile processing programs in Indiana cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 5 programs with a price. All of them: $2,030 to $3,875

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
12 to 16 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Indiana may also offer sterile processing training. How these figures are made

Is there free sterile processing training in Indiana?

All 5 sterile processing programs in Indiana approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

5 programs

  • Sterile processing technician courseIn personPrerequisite courses

    Sterile Processing Technician

    Vincennes University

    Indianapolis

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Vincennes University, IndianapolisSterile processing technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$38,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,045
    Program website, Sterile Processing Technician at Vincennes University
    More details about Sterile Processing Technician at Vincennes University
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,496
    Length
    12 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $150
    Students counted
    76
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,045
    Program website, Sterile Processing Technician at Vincennes University
  • Sterile processing technician courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Sterile Device Processing Technician

    Msd Of Wayne Township Adult Education

    Indianapolis

    No diploma needed

    Msd Of Wayne Township Adult Education, IndianapolisSterile processing technician courseHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,030
    Program website, Sterile Device Processing Technician at Msd Of Wayne Township Adult Education
    More details about Sterile Device Processing Technician at Msd Of Wayne Township Adult Education
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $160
    Students counted
    45
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,030
    Program website, Sterile Device Processing Technician at Msd Of Wayne Township Adult Education
  • Sterile processing technician courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Sp-3000 Sterile Processing Technician

    Medcerts

    Based in Livonia, MI

    No diploma needed

    Medcerts, based in Livonia, MISterile processing technician courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$35,600
    Price if you pay yourself$3,875
    Program website, Sp-3000 Sterile Processing Technician at Medcerts
    More details about Sp-3000 Sterile Processing Technician at Medcerts
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    47%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,909
    Length
    14 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,875
    Program website, Sp-3000 Sterile Processing Technician at Medcerts
  • Sterile processing technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Sterile Processing Technician Certification

    Ivy Tech Community College

    New Albany

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ivy Tech Community College, New AlbanySterile processing technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,860
    Program website, Sterile Processing Technician Certification at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Sterile Processing Technician Certification at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,860
    Program website, Sterile Processing Technician Certification at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Sterile processing technician courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Sterile Processing

    Qs Academy Inc.

    Based in Austin, TX

    No diploma needed

    Qs Academy Inc., based in Austin, TXSterile processing technician courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,300
    Program website, Sterile Processing at Qs Academy Inc.
    More details about Sterile Processing at Qs Academy Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,300
    Program website, Sterile Processing at Qs Academy Inc.

How to pay for sterile processing training in Indiana

WIOA funding can pay for sterile processing training in Indiana

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for sterile processing training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for sterile processing training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Sterile processing technician training in Indiana

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
6th of 14
sterile processing programs here, against the typical state's 4
5 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the sterile processing training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Sterile processing technician training in Indianapolis, Louisville and other Indiana cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 programs are online.

Other training in Indiana

How sterile processing training compares with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Indiana

Where the Indiana sterile processing program numbers come from

Which Indiana sterile processing programs are on this list?

These are the sterile processing programs Indiana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Indiana offers.

How the prices and results of Indiana sterile processing programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about sterile processing training in Indiana

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, O*NET OnLine: Medical Equipment Preparers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List