Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

OTA programs in Texas

5 OTA (occupational therapy assistant) programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these occupational therapy assistant programs, and Texas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Occupational therapy assistants help occupational therapists treat clients, guiding them through exercises and teaching new ways to manage everyday tasks such as dressing and bathing. Most need an associate degree from an accredited OTA program and usually a state license, which takes the program, fieldwork and a passed exam; passing it also earns the title Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant (COTA).1

In Texas, 1 of the 5 programs takes students without a high school diploma, 1 asks for a diploma or equivalent and 3 ask for earlier courses first.

All 5 are the same kind of program: OTA program (level not stated).

See the 5 programs

How much do OTA programs cost in Texas?

$8,900 to $10,282 is what most OTA programs in Texas cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 5 programs with a price. All of them: $4,698 to $11,930

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Texas may also offer OTA programs. How these figures are made

Are there free OTA programs in Texas?

All 5 OTA programs in Texas approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

5 programs

  • OTA program (level not stated)HybridNo diploma needed

    Occupational Therapist Assistant

    South Texas College

    McAllen

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    South Texas College, McAllenOTA program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$16,100
    Price if you pay yourself$11,930
    Program website, Occupational Therapist Assistant at South Texas College
    More details about Occupational Therapist Assistant at South Texas College
    Finished
    2%
    Working at 6 months
    61%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,020
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,770
    Students counted
    416
    Earned a year, estimated
    $16,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,930
    Program website, Occupational Therapist Assistant at South Texas College
  • OTA program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    Panola College

    Carthage

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Panola College, CarthageOTA program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,600
    Price if you pay yourself$4,698
    School website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Panola College
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at Panola College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,407
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,334
    Students counted
    73
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,698
    School website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Panola College
  • OTA program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    Tyler Junior College

    Tyler

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Tyler Junior College, TylerOTA program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$36,100
    Price if you pay yourself$8,900
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Tyler Junior College
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at Tyler Junior College
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,036
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    40
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,900
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Tyler Junior College
  • OTA program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Occupational Therapy Assistant (Twc)

    Tyler Junior College

    Tyler

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Tyler Junior College, TylerOTA program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,900
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant (Twc) at Tyler Junior College
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant (Twc) at Tyler Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,900
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant (Twc) at Tyler Junior College
  • OTA program (level not stated)In personPrerequisite courses

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    Weatherford College-Bridgeport Correctional

    Weatherford

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Weatherford College-Bridgeport Correctional, WeatherfordOTA program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,282
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at Weatherford College-Bridgeport Correctional
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    74 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,282

How to pay for OTA programs in Texas

WIOA funding can pay for OTA programs in Texas

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for OTA programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for OTA programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: OTA programs in Texas

programs with a price cost under $10,000
3 of 5
OTA programs here, against the typical state's 2
5 vs 2

State comparisons use the same figures as the OTA programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

OTA programs in Tyler, McAllen, Dallas and other Texas cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Texas

How OTA programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Texas

Where the Texas occupational therapy assistant program numbers come from

Which Texas occupational therapy assistant programs are on this list?

These are the occupational therapy assistant programs Texas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Texas offers.

How the prices and results of Texas occupational therapy assistant programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about OTA programs in Texas

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Occupational Therapy Assistants and Aides
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List