Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Dental hygiene programs in Texas

9 dental hygiene programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these dental hygiene programs, and Texas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Dental hygienists check patients for signs of gum and mouth disease and give preventive care such as cleanings. Most have an associate degree in dental hygiene, some a bachelor's, and every state requires a license, in most states a degree from an accredited program and passed written and clinical exams.1 In every state, the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination counts fully or partly toward the written exam needed for a license.2

In Texas, 2 of the 9 programs take students without a high school diploma, 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 4 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 9 programs here are dental hygiene (associate degree, 7 programs) and dental hygiene program (level not stated, 2 programs).

See the 9 programs

How much do dental hygiene programs cost in Texas?

$5,780 to $11,816 is what most dental hygiene programs in Texas cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 9 programs with a price. All of them: $3,967 to $44,024

In the typical program

Finished the program
89%
Working 6 months later
82%
Earned a year, estimated
about $60,700
Length
Not reported
None of the 9 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Texas may also offer dental hygiene programs. How these figures are made

Are there free dental hygiene programs in Texas?

All 9 dental hygiene programs in Texas approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

9 programs

  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Dental Hygiene AAS

    Texas State Technical College Harlingen

    Harlingen

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Texas State Technical College Harlingen, HarlingenDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$22,000
    Price if you pay yourself$14,800

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Dental Hygiene AAS at Texas State Technical College Harlingen
    More details about Dental Hygiene AAS at Texas State Technical College Harlingen
    Finished
    10%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,494
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $8,660
    Students counted
    666
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,800
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Dental Hygiene AAS at Texas State Technical College Harlingen
  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Dental Hygienists AAS

    Kingwood College (Lone Star College System)

    Kingwood

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Kingwood College (Lone Star College System), KingwoodDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$67,000
    Price if you pay yourself$6,569
    School website, Dental Hygienists AAS at Kingwood College (Lone Star College System)
    More details about Dental Hygienists AAS at Kingwood College (Lone Star College System)
    Finished
    84%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,760
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $8,875
    Students counted
    145
    Earned a year, estimated
    $67,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,569
    School website, Dental Hygienists AAS at Kingwood College (Lone Star College System)
  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Dental Hygiene Associate of Applied Science

    Tyler Junior College

    Tyler

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Tyler Junior College, TylerDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$42,900
    Price if you pay yourself$7,496
    School website, Dental Hygiene Associate of Applied Science at Tyler Junior College
    More details about Dental Hygiene Associate of Applied Science at Tyler Junior College
    Finished
    64%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,735
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $10,977
    Students counted
    141
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,496
    School website, Dental Hygiene Associate of Applied Science at Tyler Junior College
  • Dental hygiene program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Dental Hygiene

    Austin Community College

    Austin

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Austin Community College, AustinDental hygiene program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$75,100
    Price if you pay yourself$5,780

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Dental Hygiene at Austin Community College
    More details about Dental Hygiene at Austin Community College
    Finished
    63%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $18,770
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $10,200
    Students counted
    140
    Earned a year, estimated
    $75,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,780
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Dental Hygiene at Austin Community College
  • Dental hygiene program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Dental Hygiene

    Midwestern State University

    Wichita Falls

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Midwestern State University, Wichita FallsDental hygiene program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$56,300
    Price if you pay yourself$44,024
    Program website, Dental Hygiene at Midwestern State University
    More details about Dental Hygiene at Midwestern State University
    Finished
    99%
    Working at 6 months
    87%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,073
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $5,190
    Students counted
    88
    Earned a year, estimated
    $56,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $44,024
    Program website, Dental Hygiene at Midwestern State University
  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    AAS Dental Hygiene

    Temple College

    Temple

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Temple College, TempleDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$71,900
    Price if you pay yourself$8,598

    26 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, AAS Dental Hygiene at Temple College
    More details about AAS Dental Hygiene at Temple College
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $17,965
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $9,064
    Students counted
    74
    Earned a year, estimated
    $71,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,598
    students trained with WIOA funding
    26
    Program website, AAS Dental Hygiene at Temple College
  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Dental Hygiene (DENH.AAS)

    Del Mar College

    Corpus Christi

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Del Mar College, Corpus ChristiDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$50,200
    Price if you pay yourself$3,967
    Program website, Dental Hygiene (DENH.AAS) at Del Mar College
    More details about Dental Hygiene (DENH.AAS) at Del Mar College
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,560
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,200
    Students counted
    70
    Earned a year, estimated
    $50,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,967
    Program website, Dental Hygiene (DENH.AAS) at Del Mar College
  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Dental Hygiene AAS

    El Paso Community College

    El Paso

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    El Paso Community College, El PasoDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$60,700
    Price if you pay yourself$5,200
    Program website, Dental Hygiene AAS at El Paso Community College
    More details about Dental Hygiene AAS at El Paso Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,172
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $7,438
    Students counted
    65

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $60,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,200
    Program website, Dental Hygiene AAS at El Paso Community College
  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Dental Hygiene AAS

    Coastal Bend College

    Alice

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Coastal Bend College, AliceDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$64,000
    Price if you pay yourself$11,816
    Program website, Dental Hygiene AAS at Coastal Bend College
    More details about Dental Hygiene AAS at Coastal Bend College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    93%
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,008
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,300
    Students counted
    29
    Earned a year, estimated
    $64,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,816
    Program website, Dental Hygiene AAS at Coastal Bend College

How to pay for dental hygiene programs in Texas

WIOA funding can pay for dental hygiene programs in Texas

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for dental hygiene programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for dental hygiene programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Dental hygiene programs in Texas

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
3rd of 14
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
10 of 10
dental hygiene programs here, against the typical state's 3
9 vs 3

State comparisons use the same figures as the dental hygiene programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Dental hygiene programs in Brownsville, Houston, Tyler and other Texas cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Texas

How dental hygiene programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Texas

Where the Texas dental hygiene program numbers come from

Which Texas dental hygiene programs are on this list?

These are the dental hygiene programs Texas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Texas offers.

How the prices and results of Texas dental hygiene programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about dental hygiene programs in Texas

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Dental Hygienists
  2. Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations: National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE)
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List