Electrician training in Columbus, Ohio
11 electrician training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these electrician programs with classes in the Columbus area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Electricians install, maintain and repair electrical power, communications, lighting and control systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship with paid on-the-job training, and most states require electricians to pass a test and be licensed.1 In Columbus, 4 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 11 programsAll 28 electrician training programs in Ohio, including online programs
How much does electrician training cost in Columbus?
$1,829 to $18,081
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Columbus may also offer electrician training. How these figures are made
All 11 electrician training programs in Columbus approved for WIOA funding
Filters
11 programs
Journeyman Inside Wireman Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,829Program website, Journeyman Inside Wireman Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Journeyman Inside Wireman Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,829
Construction Electrician Apprentice Level 1 - Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,007Program website, Construction Electrician Apprentice Level 1 - Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Construction Electrician Apprentice Level 1 - Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,007
IBEW-NECA Level One Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,007Program website, IBEW-NECA Level One Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about IBEW-NECA Level One Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,007
Construction Electrician Journeyman Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,719Program website, Construction Electrician Journeyman Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Construction Electrician Journeyman Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,719
Inside Wireman Apprentice I Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,964Program website, Inside Wireman Apprentice I Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Inside Wireman Apprentice I Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,800
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,964
Inside Wireman Apprentice II Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,142Program website, Inside Wireman Apprentice II Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Inside Wireman Apprentice II Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,800
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,142
Electrician Apprenticeship Readiness Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,498Program website, Electrician Apprenticeship Readiness Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Electrician Apprenticeship Readiness Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,800
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,498
Construction Trades Electrician ATS
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,726Program website, Construction Trades Electrician ATS at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Construction Trades Electrician ATS at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,726
Construction Trades Low Volt Specialist ATS
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,726Program website, Construction Trades Low Volt Specialist ATS at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Construction Trades Low Volt Specialist ATS at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,726
Skilled Trades Technology - Electrician Major - Inside Wireman AAS
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,260Program website, Skilled Trades Technology - Electrician Major - Inside Wireman AAS at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Skilled Trades Technology - Electrician Major - Inside Wireman AAS at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $11,260
Construction Management - Commercial & Residential Electricity
Hocking College
Logan
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$18,081Program website, Construction Management - Commercial & Residential Electricity at Hocking CollegeMore details about Construction Management - Commercial & Residential Electricity at Hocking College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $18,081
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for electrician training in Columbus
WIOA funding can pay for electrician training in Columbus
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Paid electrician apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.5
Financial aid and grants for electrician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for electrician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Columbus electrician program numbers come from
Which Columbus electrician programs are on this list?
These are the electrician programs with classes in the Columbus area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Ohio page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Columbus electrician program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some electrician programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Columbus
Sources for the facts about electrician training in Columbus
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electricians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List