Fire academy in Columbus, Ohio
13 firefighter programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
7 schools offer these firefighter programs with classes in the Columbus area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Firefighters put out fires and answer emergencies that put people, property or the environment at risk. Most need a high school diploma, must pass written and physical tests and an interview, and then train for a few months at a fire academy run by a fire department or the state. Firefighters may also need EMT or paramedic certification.1
In Columbus, 6 of the 13 programs take students without a high school diploma, 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 4 ask for earlier courses first and 1 asks for an associate degree.
By kind, the 13 programs here are fire academy (Firefighter I and II, 8 programs), fire science (associate degree, 3 programs), fire science certificate or diploma (1 program) and fire inspector or investigator course (1 program).
See the 13 programsAll 53 firefighter programs in Ohio, including online programs
How much does fire academy cost in Columbus?
$2,352 to $4,906 is what most firefighter programs in Columbus cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 12 programs with a price. All of them: $940 to $15,774
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- Not reported
- None of the 13 programs report it
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Columbus may also offer fire academy training. How these figures are made
All 13 firefighter programs in Columbus approved for WIOA funding
Filters
13 programs
Firefighter 1&2
Ohio Department of Commerce Division of State Fire Marshal Ohio Fire Acadmy
Reynoldsburg
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,400More details about Firefighter 1&2 at Ohio Department of Commerce Division of State Fire Marshal Ohio Fire Acadmy
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 153
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,400
Fire Science - Professional Track AAS
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Accredited school
Associate's degree
Earned a year, estimated$72,700Price if you pay yourself$10,726Program website, Fire Science - Professional Track AAS at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Fire Science - Professional Track AAS at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,186
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $4,500
- Students counted
- 142
- Earned a year, estimated
- $72,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,726
Firefighter & Emergency Medical Services
Hocking College
Nelsonville
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$77,800Price if you pay yourself$15,774Program website, Firefighter & Emergency Medical Services at Hocking CollegeMore details about Firefighter & Emergency Medical Services at Hocking College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $19,443
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,000
- Students counted
- 32
- Earned a year, estimated
- $77,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $15,774
Fire Science Technology
Central Ohio Technical College
Reynoldsburg
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$29,000Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Fire Science Technology at Central Ohio Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Science Technology at Central Ohio Technical College
- Finished
- 37%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,262
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 27
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Firefighter (II) Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$940Program website, Firefighter (II) Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Firefighter (II) Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $940
Firefighter (1) Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,296Program website, Firefighter (1) Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Firefighter (1) Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,296
Professional Firefighter
C-TEC of Licking County
Newark
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,207Program website, Professional Firefighter at C-TEC of Licking CountyMore details about Professional Firefighter at C-TEC of Licking County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $418
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,207
Firefighter I & II
Tolles Career and Technical Center
Plain City
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,550Program website, Firefighter I & II at Tolles Career and Technical CenterMore details about Firefighter I & II at Tolles Career and Technical Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,550
Firefighting I and II
Delaware Area Career Center
Delaware
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,700Program website, Firefighting I and II at Delaware Area Career CenterMore details about Firefighting I and II at Delaware Area Career Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,700
Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,719Program website, Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,719
Firefighter I (Adult Diploma Program)
C-TEC of Licking County
Newark
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,849Program website, Firefighter I (Adult Diploma Program) at C-TEC of Licking CountyMore details about Firefighter I (Adult Diploma Program) at C-TEC of Licking County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $337
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,849
Fire Inspector Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,609Program website, Fire Inspector Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Fire Inspector Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $2,700
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,609
Firefighter Certificate
Hocking College
Nelsonville
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,800Program website, Firefighter Certificate at Hocking CollegeMore details about Firefighter Certificate at Hocking College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,800
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for fire academy training in Columbus
WIOA funding can pay for fire academy training in Columbus
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for fire academy training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for fire academy training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Columbus
How fire academy training compares with the rest of public safety across Ohio: First responder training in Ohio
- CDL training10 programs
- CNA classes21 programs
- Medical assistant training14 programs
- Phlebotomy training18 programs
- Welding classes14 programs
- HVAC training18 programs
- EMT classes13 programs
- Electrician training13 programs
- Dental assistant programs13 programs
- Auto mechanic classes10 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training11 programs
- Cybersecurity training14 programs
- IT training53 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training12 programs
- Hospitality management programs10 programs
- Coding and software development courses21 programs
- Data analytics courses24 programs
- Administrative assistant training13 programs
- Electronics technician training10 programs
- Business administration programs17 programs
- RN programs11 programs
- Project management certification11 programs
Where the Columbus firefighter program numbers come from
Which Columbus firefighter programs are on this list?
These are the firefighter programs with classes in the Columbus area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Ohio page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Columbus firefighter programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about fire academy training in Columbus
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Firefighters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List