Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical assistant training in New Mexico

15 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

13 schools offer these medical assistant programs, and New Mexico has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1

In New Mexico, all 15 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 15 programs here are medical assistant (10 programs), medical assistant (associate degree, 4 programs) and clinical medical assistant (1 program).

See the 15 programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in New Mexico?

$4,764 to $14,816 is what most medical assistant programs in New Mexico cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 15 programs with a price. All of them: $2,850 to $29,746

In the typical program

Finished the program
Left out
7 in 10 of New Mexico's programs report exactly 100%, far more than in other states
Working 6 months later
69%
Earned a year, estimated
about $33,400
Length
35 to 58 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New Mexico may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in New Mexico?

All 15 medical assistant programs in New Mexico approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

15 programs

  • Medical assistantOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Career Step

    Based in Lehi, UT

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Career Step, based in Lehi, UTMedical assistantOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,300
    Price if you pay yourself$4,299
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Career Step
    More details about Medical Assistant at Career Step
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    1%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,063
    Length
    52 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    3,841
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,299
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Career Step
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting Program

    Carrington College Multi State and Campus C400

    Albuquerque

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Carrington College Multi State and Campus C400, AlbuquerqueMedical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,074
    Program website, Medical Assisting Program at Carrington College Multi State and Campus C400
    More details about Medical Assisting Program at Carrington College Multi State and Campus C400
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    49%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    704
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,074
    Program website, Medical Assisting Program at Carrington College Multi State and Campus C400
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant Certificate

    Pima Medical Institute - Central-C61

    Albuquerque

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pima Medical Institute - Central-C61, AlbuquerqueMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,800
    Price if you pay yourself$17,899
    Program website, Medical Assistant Certificate at Pima Medical Institute - Central-C61
    More details about Medical Assistant Certificate at Pima Medical Institute - Central-C61
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    37%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,452
    Length
    35 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $714
    Students counted
    624
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,899
    Program website, Medical Assistant Certificate at Pima Medical Institute - Central-C61
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant, Certificate of Completion

    Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01

    Albuquerque

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01, AlbuquerqueMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,500
    Price if you pay yourself$3,088
    Program website, Medical Assistant, Certificate of Completion at Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01
    More details about Medical Assistant, Certificate of Completion at Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,616
    Length
    45 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,196
    Students counted
    330
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,088
    Program website, Medical Assistant, Certificate of Completion at Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting - Associate of Applied Science

    Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16

    Las Cruces

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16, Las CrucesMedical assistant (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,500
    Price if you pay yourself$5,400
    Program website, Medical Assisting - Associate of Applied Science at Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16
    More details about Medical Assisting - Associate of Applied Science at Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,384
    Length
    60 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,000
    Students counted
    246
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,400
    Program website, Medical Assisting - Associate of Applied Science at Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Diploma - Medical Assistant

    Brookline College, LLC -Central-C304

    Albuquerque

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Brookline College, LLC -Central-C304, AlbuquerqueMedical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,558
    Program website, Diploma - Medical Assistant at Brookline College, LLC -Central-C304
    More details about Diploma - Medical Assistant at Brookline College, LLC -Central-C304
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    34 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    213
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,558
    Program website, Diploma - Medical Assistant at Brookline College, LLC -Central-C304
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    New Mexico Junior College

    Hobbs

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New Mexico Junior College, HobbsClinical medical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$93,400
    Price if you pay yourself$3,500

    50 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at New Mexico Junior College
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at New Mexico Junior College
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $23,353
    Length
    13 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    165
    Earned a year, estimated
    $93,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    50
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at New Mexico Junior College
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting Certificate

    Santa Fe Community College-North-C24

    Santa Fe

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Santa Fe Community College-North-C24, Santa FeMedical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,800
    Price if you pay yourself$2,850
    Program website, Medical Assisting Certificate at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
    More details about Medical Assisting Certificate at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,948
    Length
    48 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $283
    Students counted
    155
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,850
    Program website, Medical Assisting Certificate at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Associate Applied Science in Medical Assisting

    Santa Fe Community College-North-C24

    Santa Fe

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Santa Fe Community College-North-C24, Santa FeMedical assistant (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,949
    Program website, Associate Applied Science in Medical Assisting at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
    More details about Associate Applied Science in Medical Assisting at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,948
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $957
    Students counted
    155
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,949
    Program website, Associate Applied Science in Medical Assisting at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    IntelliTec College

    Albuquerque

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    IntelliTec College, AlbuquerqueMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$19,516
    Program website, Medical Assistant at IntelliTec College
    More details about Medical Assistant at IntelliTec College
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    30%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,014
    Students counted
    122
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $19,516
    Program website, Medical Assistant at IntelliTec College
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Clinical Certified Medical Assistant

    Pinnacle Institute

    Las Cruces

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pinnacle Institute, Las CrucesMedical assistantHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,230

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Clinical Certified Medical Assistant at Pinnacle Institute
    More details about Clinical Certified Medical Assistant at Pinnacle Institute
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    18 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $770
    Students counted
    30
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,230
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Clinical Certified Medical Assistant at Pinnacle Institute
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting Program

    San Juan College-North-C29

    Farmington

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    San Juan College-North-C29, FarmingtonMedical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,700
    Price if you pay yourself$9,315
    Program website, Medical Assisting Program at San Juan College-North-C29
    More details about Medical Assisting Program at San Juan College-North-C29
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,167
    Length
    52 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,885
    Students counted
    15
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,315
    Program website, Medical Assisting Program at San Juan College-North-C29
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    New Mexico State University

    Alamogordo

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New Mexico State University, AlamogordoMedical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,855
    Program website, Medical Assistant at New Mexico State University
    More details about Medical Assistant at New Mexico State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,000
    Students counted
    44
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,855
    Program website, Medical Assistant at New Mexico State University
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Healthcare Administration: Medical Assistant

    IntelliTec College

    Albuquerque

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    IntelliTec College, AlbuquerqueMedical assistant (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$29,746
    Program website, Healthcare Administration: Medical Assistant at IntelliTec College
    More details about Healthcare Administration: Medical Assistant at IntelliTec College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,415
    Students counted
    27
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $29,746
    Program website, Healthcare Administration: Medical Assistant at IntelliTec College
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting AS

    Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04

    Roswell

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04, RoswellMedical assistant (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,520
    Program website, Medical Assisting AS at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04
    More details about Medical Assisting AS at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,055
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,520
    Program website, Medical Assisting AS at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04

How to pay for medical assistant training in New Mexico

WIOA funding can pay for medical assistant training in New Mexico

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Medical assistant training in New Mexico

programs with a price cost under $5,000
4 of 15
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
37th of 44
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
24 of 30
medical assistant programs here, against the typical state's 18
15 vs 18

State comparisons use the same figures as the medical assistant training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Medical assistant training in Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Santa Fe and other New Mexico cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area and 1 online.

Other training in New Mexico

How medical assistant training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in New Mexico

Where the New Mexico medical assistant program numbers come from

Which New Mexico medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs New Mexico approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New Mexico offers.

How the prices and results of New Mexico medical assistant programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the New Mexico figures?

We leave out the share who finished for New Mexico: 7 in 10 of its programs report exactly 100%, far more than in other states.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in New Mexico

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List