Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Manufacturing technician training in Connecticut

10 manufacturing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these manufacturing programs, and Connecticut has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Assemblers and fabricators build finished products and the parts that go into them. A high school diploma is enough for most jobs, and new workers usually get several months of training on the job; advanced assembly work takes more experience and training, and certifications can help a worker move up.1

In Connecticut, 4 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma and 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 10 programs here are short course or intro to manufacturing (4 programs), quality control and inspection (4 programs) and manufacturing technician certificate or diploma (2 programs).

See the 10 programs

How much does manufacturing training cost in Connecticut?

$1,686 to $6,208 is what most manufacturing programs in Connecticut cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 10 programs with a price. All of them: $700 to $15,417

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
3 to 15 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Connecticut may also offer manufacturing training. How these figures are made

Is there free manufacturing training in Connecticut?

All 10 manufacturing programs in Connecticut approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing and Logistics Certificate

    Goodwin University

    East Hartford

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Goodwin University, East HartfordManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,000
    Price if you pay yourself$15,417
    Program website, Manufacturing and Logistics Certificate at Goodwin University
    More details about Manufacturing and Logistics Certificate at Goodwin University
    Finished
    95%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,004
    Length
    30 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,448
    Students counted
    67
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,417
    Program website, Manufacturing and Logistics Certificate at Goodwin University
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personNo diploma needed

    Fundamentals of Manufacturing Technology

    Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)

    Waterbury

    No diploma needed

    Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC), WaterburyShort course or intro to manufacturingIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$36,200
    Price if you pay yourself$6,950
    Program website, Fundamentals of Manufacturing Technology at Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)
    More details about Fundamentals of Manufacturing Technology at Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,052
    Length
    10 weeks, 21 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,950
    Program website, Fundamentals of Manufacturing Technology at Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Pipeline - Introduction to Machine Operator

    Three Rivers Community College

    Norwich

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Three Rivers Community College, NorwichShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,570
    Program website, Manufacturing Pipeline - Introduction to Machine Operator at Three Rivers Community College
    More details about Manufacturing Pipeline - Introduction to Machine Operator at Three Rivers Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    7 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    18
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,570
    Program website, Manufacturing Pipeline - Introduction to Machine Operator at Three Rivers Community College
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personNo diploma needed

    Introduction to Manufacturing Design Certificate

    Northwestern Connecticut Community College

    Winsted

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northwestern Connecticut Community College, WinstedShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,145
    Program website, Introduction to Manufacturing Design Certificate at Northwestern Connecticut Community College
    More details about Introduction to Manufacturing Design Certificate at Northwestern Connecticut Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,145
    Program website, Introduction to Manufacturing Design Certificate at Northwestern Connecticut Community College
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personNo diploma needed

    Introduction to Manufacturing Certificate

    Northwestern Connecticut Community College

    Winsted

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northwestern Connecticut Community College, WinstedShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,980
    Program website, Introduction to Manufacturing Certificate at Northwestern Connecticut Community College
    More details about Introduction to Manufacturing Certificate at Northwestern Connecticut Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    12
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,980
    Program website, Introduction to Manufacturing Certificate at Northwestern Connecticut Community College
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    ISO Internal Auditor

    Central Connecticut State University

    New Britain

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central Connecticut State University, New BritainQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$700
    More details about ISO Internal Auditor at Central Connecticut State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $700
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Root Cause - Corrective Action

    Central Connecticut State University

    New Britain

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central Connecticut State University, New BritainQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$700
    More details about Root Cause - Corrective Action at Central Connecticut State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $700
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Lean Enterprise Tool Certification

    Central Connecticut State University

    New Britain

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central Connecticut State University, New BritainQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,200
    More details about Lean Enterprise Tool Certification at Central Connecticut State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,200
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    Shipyard Outside Machinist

    Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)

    Waterbury

    No diploma needed

    Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC), WaterburyManufacturing technician certificate or diplomaHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,950
    Program website, Shipyard Outside Machinist at Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)
    More details about Shipyard Outside Machinist at Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    5 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,950
    Program website, Shipyard Outside Machinist at Manufacturing Alliance Service Corporation (MASC)
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Quality and Manufacturing Inspections

    Goodwin University

    East Hartford

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Goodwin University, East HartfordQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,417
    School website, Quality and Manufacturing Inspections at Goodwin University
    More details about Quality and Manufacturing Inspections at Goodwin University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    21 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,409
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,417
    School website, Quality and Manufacturing Inspections at Goodwin University

How to pay for manufacturing training in Connecticut

WIOA funding can pay for manufacturing training in Connecticut

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for manufacturing training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for manufacturing training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Manufacturing technician training in Connecticut

programs with a price cost under $2,000
3 of 10
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
16th of 22
manufacturing programs here, against the typical state's 7
10 vs 7

State comparisons use the same figures as the manufacturing training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Other training in Connecticut

How manufacturing training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Connecticut

Where the Connecticut manufacturing program numbers come from

Which Connecticut manufacturing programs are on this list?

These are the manufacturing programs Connecticut approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Connecticut offers.

How the prices and results of Connecticut manufacturing programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about manufacturing training in Connecticut

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Assemblers and Fabricators
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List