Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Job training programs in Lake Charles, Louisiana

36 programs in 30 fields, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these programs with classes in the Lake Charles area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Compare the fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

All job training programs in Louisiana, including online programs

All 36 job training programs in the Lake Charles area

How to show the programs

CDL training 4

All CDL training programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Class AHybridNo diploma needed

    CDL Training Class A (HYBRID)

    CDL Mentors LLC.

    Lake Charles

    No diploma needed

    CDL Mentors LLC., Lake CharlesClass AHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$37,600
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000

    316 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, CDL Training Class A (HYBRID) at CDL Mentors LLC.
    More details about CDL Training Class A (HYBRID) at CDL Mentors LLC.
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,407
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    317
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    316
    Program website, CDL Training Class A (HYBRID) at CDL Mentors LLC.
  • CDL (class not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Training Program

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesCDL (class not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$42,200
    Price if you pay yourself$5,950

    14 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, CDL Training Program at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about CDL Training Program at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,551
    Length
    7 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $40
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,950
    students trained with WIOA funding
    14
    Program website, CDL Training Program at SOWELA Technical Community College
  • Class BHybridNo diploma needed

    CDL Training Class B (HYBRID)

    CDL Mentors LLC.

    Lake Charles

    No diploma needed

    CDL Mentors LLC., Lake CharlesClass BHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,000
    Program website, CDL Training Class B (HYBRID) at CDL Mentors LLC.
    More details about CDL Training Class B (HYBRID) at CDL Mentors LLC.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    3 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,000
    Program website, CDL Training Class B (HYBRID) at CDL Mentors LLC.
  • Class upgradeHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Upgrade from B to A

    CDL Mentors LLC.

    Lake Charles

    High school diploma or equivalent

    CDL Mentors LLC., Lake CharlesClass upgradeHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,000
    School website, Upgrade from B to A at CDL Mentors LLC.
    More details about Upgrade from B to A at CDL Mentors LLC.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    3 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,000
    School website, Upgrade from B to A at CDL Mentors LLC.

Electrician training 2

All electrician training programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,000
    Program website, Electrical at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Electrical at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,000
    Program website, Electrical at SOWELA Technical Community College
  • Industrial electricianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Electrical Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesIndustrial electrician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,889
    Program website, Industrial Electrical Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Industrial Electrical Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,889
    Program website, Industrial Electrical Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Medical assistant training 2

All medical assistant programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Medical Education LLC

    Lake Charles

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Education LLC, Lake CharlesMedical assistantHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,300
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000

    99 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Medical Assistant at Medical Education LLC
    More details about Medical Assistant at Medical Education LLC
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,318
    Length
    22 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    99
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    99
    School website, Medical Assistant at Medical Education LLC
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Clinical Certified Medical Assistant

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesMedical assistant · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,500
    Price if you pay yourself$3,999

    33 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Clinical Certified Medical Assistant at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Clinical Certified Medical Assistant at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,866
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $970
    Students counted
    33
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,999
    students trained with WIOA funding
    33
    Program website, Clinical Certified Medical Assistant at SOWELA Technical Community College

RN programs 2

All RN programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing, BSN

    McNeese State University

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    McNeese State University, Lake CharlesRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$60,300
    Price if you pay yourself$35,089

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Nursing, BSN at McNeese State University
    More details about Nursing, BSN at McNeese State University
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,073
    Length
    120 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $6,650
    Students counted
    1,864
    Earned a year, estimated
    $60,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $35,089
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    School website, Nursing, BSN at McNeese State University
  • RN associate degree (ADN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing (RN)

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,736
    Program website, Nursing (RN) at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Nursing (RN) at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,736
    Program website, Nursing (RN) at SOWELA Technical Community College

Accounting and bookkeeping classes 1

All accounting and bookkeeping programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Accounting (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,386
    Program website, Accounting Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Accounting Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,386
    Program website, Accounting Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Administrative assistant training 1

All administrative assistant programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Office administration (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Office Systems Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesOffice administration (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,934
    Program website, Office Systems Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Office Systems Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,934
    Program website, Office Systems Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Aircraft mechanic school 1

All aircraft mechanic programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Aviation maintenance (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Aviation Maintenance Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesAviation maintenance (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,500
    Program website, Aviation Maintenance Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Aviation Maintenance Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,500
    Program website, Aviation Maintenance Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Business administration programs 1

All business programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Business administration (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Business Administration

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesBusiness administration (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,320
    Program website, Business Administration at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Business Administration at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,320
    Program website, Business Administration at SOWELA Technical Community College

AutoCAD and drafting courses 1

All CAD and drafting programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Drafting and design (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Drafting and Design Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesDrafting and design (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,934
    Program website, Drafting and Design Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Drafting and Design Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,934
    Program website, Drafting and Design Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Carpentry classes 1

All carpentry programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Carpentry certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Carpentry

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesCarpentry certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,287
    Program website, Carpentry at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Carpentry at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,600
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,287
    Program website, Carpentry at SOWELA Technical Community College

CNC machinist training 1

All CNC machinist programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Machinist certificate or diplomaHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Machine Tool Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,900
    Program website, Machine Tool Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Machine Tool Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,100
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,900
    Program website, Machine Tool Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Cosmetology school 1

All cosmetology programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Avery James College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Avery James College, Lake CharlesCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$17,350
    Program website, Cosmetology at Avery James College
    More details about Cosmetology at Avery James College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,250
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,350
    Program website, Cosmetology at Avery James College

Criminal justice programs 1

All criminal justice programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Criminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Criminal Justice

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesCriminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,736
    Program website, Criminal Justice at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Criminal Justice at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,736
    Program website, Criminal Justice at SOWELA Technical Community College

Culinary school 1

All culinary programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Culinary arts (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,934
    Program website, Culinary Arts at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,600
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,934
    Program website, Culinary Arts at SOWELA Technical Community College

Dental assistant programs 1

All dental assistant programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Dental assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Dental Assistant

    Medical Education LLC

    Lake Charles

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Education LLC, Lake CharlesDental assistantIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$18,600
    Price if you pay yourself$2,500

    20 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Dental Assistant at Medical Education LLC
    More details about Dental Assistant at Medical Education LLC
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,642
    Length
    8 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    20
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    20
    Program website, Dental Assistant at Medical Education LLC

EKG technician programs 1

All EKG technician programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • EKG technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrocardiograph Technician

    Medical Education LLC

    Lake Charles

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Education LLC, Lake CharlesEKG technician courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,500
    Program website, Electrocardiograph Technician at Medical Education LLC
    More details about Electrocardiograph Technician at Medical Education LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $150
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,500
    Program website, Electrocardiograph Technician at Medical Education LLC

HVAC training 1

All HVAC training programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • HVAC technicianHybridNo diploma needed

    NCCER HVAC Training

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesHVAC technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,575
    Program website, NCCER HVAC Training at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about NCCER HVAC Training at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $40
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,575
    Program website, NCCER HVAC Training at SOWELA Technical Community College

Industrial maintenance technician training 1

All industrial maintenance programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Industrial maintenance (associate degree)In personAssociate's degree

    Industrial Instrumentation

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    Associate's degree

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesIndustrial maintenance (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Associate's degree

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,934
    Program website, Industrial Instrumentation at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Industrial Instrumentation at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,934
    Program website, Industrial Instrumentation at SOWELA Technical Community College

IT training 1

All IT training programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • IT (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Information Systems Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesIT (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,385
    Program website, Information Systems Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Information Systems Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,385
    Program website, Information Systems Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

LPN programs 1

All LPN programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Practical nursing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesPractical nursing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,200
    Price if you pay yourself$13,934

    17 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Practical Nursing at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Practical Nursing at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,297
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,474
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,934
    students trained with WIOA funding
    17
    Program website, Practical Nursing at SOWELA Technical Community College

Manufacturing technician training 1

All manufacturing programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Process technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Process Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesProcess technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,990
    Program website, Process Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Process Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,950
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $16,990
    Program website, Process Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Medical administrative assistant training 1

All medical office programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Medical administrative assistant certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Assistant

    Medical Education LLC

    Lake Charles

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Education LLC, Lake CharlesMedical administrative assistant certificate or courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$21,300
    Price if you pay yourself$2,500

    19 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Office Assistant at Medical Education LLC
    More details about Medical Office Assistant at Medical Education LLC
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,316
    Length
    8 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $150
    Students counted
    19
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    19
    Program website, Medical Office Assistant at Medical Education LLC

Medical billing and coding training 1

All medical billing and coding programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

Medical lab technician programs 1

All medical lab programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Medical lab scientist (bachelor's degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Laboratory Science, BS

    McNeese State University

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    McNeese State University, Lake CharlesMedical lab scientist (bachelor's degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,200
    Price if you pay yourself$36,991
    School website, Medical Laboratory Science, BS at McNeese State University
    More details about Medical Laboratory Science, BS at McNeese State University
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,788
    Length
    120 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,470
    Students counted
    144
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $36,991
    School website, Medical Laboratory Science, BS at McNeese State University

OSHA safety training 1

All OSHA and safety programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • OSHA 10 or 30 card courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Construction Site Safety Technician

    McNeese State University

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    McNeese State University, Lake CharlesOSHA 10 or 30 card course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,000
    Program website, Construction Site Safety Technician at McNeese State University
    More details about Construction Site Safety Technician at McNeese State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,000
    Program website, Construction Site Safety Technician at McNeese State University

Phlebotomy training 1

All phlebotomy programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Medical Education LLC

    Lake Charles

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Education LLC, Lake CharlesPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,800
    Price if you pay yourself$2,500

    23 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Phlebotomy Technician at Medical Education LLC
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Medical Education LLC
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,946
    Length
    8 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $150
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    23
    Program website, Phlebotomy Technician at Medical Education LLC

Radiology tech programs 1

All radiology tech programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Radiography (bachelor's degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Radiologic Sciences, BS

    McNeese State University

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    McNeese State University, Lake CharlesRadiography (bachelor's degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$49,300
    Price if you pay yourself$37,041
    School website, Radiologic Sciences, BS at McNeese State University
    More details about Radiologic Sciences, BS at McNeese State University
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,328
    Length
    120 weeks, 13 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,540
    Students counted
    282
    Earned a year, estimated
    $49,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $37,041
    School website, Radiologic Sciences, BS at McNeese State University

Sterile processing technician training 1

All sterile processing programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Sterile processing technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Sterile Processing Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesSterile processing technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,000
    Program website, Sterile Processing Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Sterile Processing Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,000
    Program website, Sterile Processing Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Surgical tech programs 1

All surgical tech programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • Surgical technology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Surgical Technology

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesSurgical technology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,385
    Program website, Surgical Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Surgical Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,385
    Program website, Surgical Technology at SOWELA Technical Community College

Welding classes 1

All welding programs in Louisiana, with typical prices and results

  • General weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welding

    SOWELA Technical Community College

    Lake Charles

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    SOWELA Technical Community College, Lake CharlesGeneral welding · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$17,934
    Program website, Welding at SOWELA Technical Community College
    More details about Welding at SOWELA Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    18 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,934
    Program website, Welding at SOWELA Technical Community College

Each program shows its own figures as the school reported them. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate.Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Lake Charles may offer more. How these figures are made

Is there free job training in Lake Charles?

Where the Lake Charles job training numbers come from

Which Lake Charles programs are counted?

Programs with classes in the Lake Charles area that the state they're in approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act). Online programs are on the state pages. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Lake Charles offers.

What the figures for each field mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

How reliable are the Louisiana figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Louisiana among the states with "known data quality concerns".6 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Louisiana: most of its programs report exactly 100%, which no other state comes close to. We leave out the share who finished for Louisiana: half of its programs report exactly 100%.

Sources for the funding facts about job training in Lake Charles

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  6. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns