HVAC training in New York
16 HVAC training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
13 schools offer these HVAC programs, and New York has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling and refrigeration systems. Most train in a certificate program, which usually includes the EPA refrigerant exam that nearly all technicians must pass, and some states also require a license.1
In New York, 12 of the 16 programs take students without a high school diploma and 4 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
All 16 are the same kind of program: HVAC technician.
See the 16 programsHow much does HVAC training cost in New York?
$1,010 to $6,600 is what most HVAC training programs in New York cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 13 programs with a price. All of them: $659 to $17,970
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 11 to 33 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New York may also offer HVAC training. How these figures are made
All 16 HVAC training programs in New York approved for WIOA funding
Filters
16 programs
Air Conditioning Certification
Ulster County Boces
Port Ewen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$37,900Price if you pay yourselfNot reported12 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Air Conditioning Certification at Ulster County BocesMore details about Air Conditioning Certification at Ulster County Boces
- Finished
- 45%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,464
- Length
- 15 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 13
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 12
HVAC Fundamentals I
Jamestown Community College - Cattaraugus Campus
Olean
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,97510 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, HVAC Fundamentals I at Jamestown Community College - Cattaraugus CampusMore details about HVAC Fundamentals I at Jamestown Community College - Cattaraugus Campus
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,975
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 10
Hvac/R
Onondaga-Cortland-Madison Boces
Liverpool
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,803Program website, Hvac/R at Onondaga-Cortland-Madison BocesMore details about Hvac/R at Onondaga-Cortland-Madison Boces
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,803
Advanced Air Conditioning & Refrigeration
Orange-Ulster Boces-Adult Educational Services
Goshen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$659Program website, Advanced Air Conditioning & Refrigeration at Orange-Ulster Boces-Adult Educational ServicesMore details about Advanced Air Conditioning & Refrigeration at Orange-Ulster Boces-Adult Educational Services
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $659
Electrical Fundamentals for HVAC
Hudson Valley Community College
Troy
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$778Program website, Electrical Fundamentals for HVAC at Hudson Valley Community CollegeMore details about Electrical Fundamentals for HVAC at Hudson Valley Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $778
HVAC Training
Alfred State College
Alfred
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$950School website, HVAC Training at Alfred State CollegeMore details about HVAC Training at Alfred State College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $950
Heating & AC Control Systems
Hudson Valley Community College
Troy
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,010Program website, Heating & AC Control Systems at Hudson Valley Community CollegeMore details about Heating & AC Control Systems at Hudson Valley Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 7 weeks, 42 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,010
HVACC II: Heating and Ventilation
St. Lawrence-Lewis Co. Boces Adult Education
Canton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,177Program website, HVACC II: Heating and Ventilation at St. Lawrence-Lewis Co. Boces Adult EducationMore details about HVACC II: Heating and Ventilation at St. Lawrence-Lewis Co. Boces Adult Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,177
HVAC - National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) Level 1
Board Of Cooperative Educational Services Firt Supv Dist Personnel Dept
Bellport
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,650Program website, HVAC - National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) Level 1 at Board Of Cooperative Educational Services Firt Supv Dist Personnel DeptMore details about HVAC - National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) Level 1 at Board Of Cooperative Educational Services Firt Supv Dist Personnel Dept
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,650
Heating Ventilation A/C & Refrigeration (HVAC)
Greater Southern Tier (Gst) Boces (Elmira)
Elmira
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,900Program website, Heating Ventilation A/C & Refrigeration (HVAC) at Greater Southern Tier (Gst) Boces (Elmira)More details about Heating Ventilation A/C & Refrigeration (HVAC) at Greater Southern Tier (Gst) Boces (Elmira)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 38 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,900
Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning & Refrigeration (HVAC/R)
Capital Region Boces
Albany
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,600Program website, Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning & Refrigeration (HVAC/R) at Capital Region BocesMore details about Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning & Refrigeration (HVAC/R) at Capital Region Boces
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 35 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,600
Hvac/R
Capital Region Boces
Albany
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,600Program website, Hvac/R at Capital Region BocesMore details about Hvac/R at Capital Region Boces
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 35 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,600
Heating Ventilation AirConditioning & Refrigeration
Ocm Boces Adult Education
Cortland
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,300Program website, Heating Ventilation AirConditioning & Refrigeration at Ocm Boces Adult EducationMore details about Heating Ventilation AirConditioning & Refrigeration at Ocm Boces Adult Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,300
Heating Ventilation & Air Conditioning/Refrigeration Technology
Erie Institute Of Technology
Erie, PA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside New York; New York approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$17,970Program website, Heating Ventilation & Air Conditioning/Refrigeration Technology at Erie Institute Of TechnologyMore details about Heating Ventilation & Air Conditioning/Refrigeration Technology at Erie Institute Of Technology
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $17,970
Hvac/R
Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES
Spencerport
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Hvac/R at Monroe 2-Orleans BOCESMore details about Hvac/R at Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Oil Heat Technician
Ulster County Boces
Port Ewen
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Oil Heat Technician at Ulster County BocesMore details about Oil Heat Technician at Ulster County Boces
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for HVAC training in New York
WIOA funding can pay for HVAC training in New York
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for HVAC training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for HVAC training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: HVAC training in New York
- programs with a price cost under $1,000
- 3 of 13
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 16th of 38
- HVAC training programs here, against the typical state's 15
- 16 vs 15
State comparisons use the same figures as the HVAC training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
HVAC training in Albany, Kingston, Olean and other New York cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 5 more programs are in 5 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in New York
How HVAC training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in New York
- CDL training69 programs
- CNA classes27 programs
- Medical assistant training23 programs
- Phlebotomy training23 programs
- Welding classes21 programs
- Medical billing and coding training26 programs
- LPN programs22 programs
- EMT classes5 programs
- Electrician training12 programs
- Dental assistant programs3 programs
- Auto mechanic classes4 programs
- Pharmacy technician training10 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training6 programs
- Carpentry classes1 program
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Cybersecurity training6 programs
- IT training24 programs
- Cosmetology school6 programs
- Barber school4 programs
- Esthetician school1 program
- Nail tech school2 programs
- EKG technician programs7 programs
- Massage therapy school3 programs
- Paralegal programs10 programs
- Surgical tech programs1 program
- Culinary school5 programs
- Home health aide training2 programs
- PTA programs1 program
- Medical administrative assistant training12 programs
- Human resources training10 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training2 programs
- Early childhood education programs4 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Hospitality management programs1 program
- Addiction counselor training15 programs
- Coding and software development courses12 programs
- Lineman school2 programs
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses5 programs
- Administrative assistant training18 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses2 programs
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses11 programs
- Health information technology programs4 programs
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Real estate school3 programs
- Security guard training17 programs
- OTA programs3 programs
- Home inspector training1 program
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs1 program
- Customer service training2 programs
- Human services programs3 programs
- Manufacturing technician training2 programs
- Electronics technician training1 program
- Business administration programs7 programs
- Teacher assistant certification4 programs
- Auto body repair classes2 programs
- Solar and wind technician training3 programs
- OSHA safety training8 programs
- Construction training programs6 programs
- Dental hygiene programs1 program
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes7 programs
- RN programs12 programs
- Project management certification7 programs
Where the New York HVAC program numbers come from
Which New York HVAC programs are on this list?
These are the HVAC programs New York approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New York offers.
How the prices and results of New York HVAC programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the New York figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New York among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the facts about HVAC training in New York
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns