Retraining Report
Find training

LPN programs in New York

9 LPN programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these practical nursing programs, and New York has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPNs and LVNs) give basic medical care to patients who are ill, injured or recovering. Most finish a state-approved certificate or diploma program that takes about a year, then pass an exam to become licensed.1 In New York, 1 of the 9 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.

See the 9 programs

How much do LPN programs cost in New York?

$12,860 to $17,653

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 7 programs with a price: $6,569 to $25,857

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
41 to 48 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New York may also offer LPN programs. How these figures are made

Are there free LPN programs in New York?

LPN programs in Utica, New York, Albany and other New York cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns.

All 9 LPN programs in New York approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

9 programs

  • Practical nursing (LPN)Several formatsNo diploma needed

    LPN

    Capital Region Boces, Na

    No diploma needed

    Capital Region Boces, Na · Practical nursing (LPN) · Several formats · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$41,300
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    School website, LPN at Capital Region Boces
    More details about LPN at Capital Region Boces
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,316
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    106
    a year, estimated
    $41,300
    price
    Not reported
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing

    Jefferson-Lewis-Hamilton- Herkimer-Oneida Boces, Watertown

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Jefferson-Lewis-Hamilton- Herkimer-Oneida Boces, Watertown · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$43,000
    Price if you pay yourself$18,706
    Program website, Practical Nursing at Jefferson-Lewis-Hamilton- Herkimer-Oneida Boces
    More details about Practical Nursing at Jefferson-Lewis-Hamilton- Herkimer-Oneida Boces
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,748
    Length
    45 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    60
    a year, estimated
    $43,000
    price
    $18,706
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    LPN

    Herkimer County Board Cooperative Education Service, Herkimer

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Herkimer County Board Cooperative Education Service, Herkimer · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$50,300
    Price if you pay yourself$15,385
    Program website, LPN at Herkimer County Board Cooperative Education Service
    More details about LPN at Herkimer County Board Cooperative Education Service
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,569
    Length
    44 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    49
    a year, estimated
    $50,300
    price
    $15,385
  • Practical nursing (LPN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Licensed Practical Nurse (Batavia Z)

    Genesee Valley Boces (Batavia), Batavia

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Genesee Valley Boces (Batavia), Batavia · Practical nursing (LPN) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,150
    Program website, Licensed Practical Nurse (Batavia Z) at Genesee Valley Boces (Batavia)
    More details about Licensed Practical Nurse (Batavia Z) at Genesee Valley Boces (Batavia)
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    11
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $12,150
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing

    Cayuga-Onondaga Boces, Auburn

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Cayuga-Onondaga Boces, Auburn · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,570
    Program website, Practical Nursing at Cayuga-Onondaga Boces
    More details about Practical Nursing at Cayuga-Onondaga Boces
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    46 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    22
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $13,570
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personPrerequisite courses

    Practical Nursing (LPN preparation)

    North Country Community College, Saranac Lake

    Prerequisite courses

    North Country Community College, Saranac Lake · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,569
    Program website, Practical Nursing (LPN preparation) at North Country Community College
    More details about Practical Nursing (LPN preparation) at North Country Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,569
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing

    Herkimer County Boces, Herkimer

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Herkimer County Boces, Herkimer · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,600
    More details about Practical Nursing at Herkimer County Boces
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $16,600
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nurse Program

    Hunter Business School - Medford Campus, Medford

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hunter Business School - Medford Campus, Medford · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$25,857
    Program website, Practical Nurse Program at Hunter Business School - Medford Campus
    More details about Practical Nurse Program at Hunter Business School - Medford Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    45 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $25,857
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing

    Western Suffolk Boces, Dix Hills

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Suffolk Boces, Dix Hills · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Practical Nursing at Western Suffolk Boces
    More details about Practical Nursing at Western Suffolk Boces
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    53 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported

How to pay for LPN programs in New York

Workforce funding can pay for LPN programs in New York

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for LPN programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for LPN programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the New York practical nursing program numbers come from

Which New York practical nursing programs are on this list?

These are the practical nursing programs New York approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New York offers.

How New York practical nursing program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some practical nursing programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the New York figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New York among the states with "known data quality concerns".8 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Sources for the facts about LPN programs in New York

Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  8. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns