Retraining Report
Find training

Barber school in New York

4 barber programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these barber programs, and New York has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Barbers shampoo, cut and style hair, mostly for men. Every state requires barbers to be licensed: you finish a state-approved program and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In New York, 1 of the 4 programs takes students without a high school diploma.

See the 4 programs

How much does barber school cost in New York?

$8,000 to $12,380

is what the 3 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
Not enough data

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New York may also offer barber school. How these figures are made

Is there free barber school in New York?

Barber school in New York, Elmira, Albany and other New York cities

Choosing an area filters the list below.

All 4 barber programs in New York approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

4 programs

  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Anthony Barton Master Barber Course

    Anthony Barton Barber Training

    Tarrytown

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Anthony Barton Barber Training, Tarrytown · Barber license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,000
    Program website, Anthony Barton Master Barber Course at Anthony Barton Barber Training
    More details about Anthony Barton Master Barber Course at Anthony Barton Barber Training
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    18 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $8,000
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Barbering Full Time

    New York Beauty And Barber Academy LLC

    Elmira

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New York Beauty And Barber Academy LLC, Elmira · Barber license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,500
    Program website, Barbering Full Time at New York Beauty And Barber Academy LLC
    More details about Barbering Full Time at New York Beauty And Barber Academy LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $8,500
  • Barber license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Barbering

    Paul Mitchell The School Schenectady

    Schenectady

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Paul Mitchell The School Schenectady, Schenectady · Barber license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,380
    Program website, Barbering at Paul Mitchell The School Schenectady
    More details about Barbering at Paul Mitchell The School Schenectady
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    18 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $12,380
  • Crossover, upgrade or short courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Introduction to Barbering

    Westchester Barber Academy

    Mount Vernon

    No diploma needed

    Westchester Barber Academy, Mount Vernon · Crossover, upgrade or short course · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Introduction to Barbering at Westchester Barber Academy
    More details about Introduction to Barbering at Westchester Barber Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported

How to pay for barber school in New York

WIOA funding can pay for barber school in New York

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for barber school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for barber school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the New York barber program numbers come from

Which New York barber programs are on this list?

These are the barber programs New York approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New York offers.

How the prices and results of New York barber programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the New York figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New York among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Other training in New York

Sources for the facts about barber school in New York

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns