Medical assistant training in New York
17 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
15 schools offer these medical assistant programs, and New York has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In New York, 8 of the 17 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 7 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 17 programsHow much does a medical assistant program cost in New York?
$3,811 to $23,702
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 12 programs with a price: $2,665 to $42,935
- Finished the program
- 91%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 to 31 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New York may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made
Medical assistant training in New York, Albany, Massena and other New York cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the list below. 1 more program is in 1 other area and 1 online.
All 17 medical assistant programs in New York approved for funding
Filters
17 programs
Medical Assistant
Hunter Business School - Nassau Mall, Levittown
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,332Program website, Medical Assistant at Hunter Business School - Nassau MallMore details about Medical Assistant at Hunter Business School - Nassau Mall
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 31 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 178
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $16,332
Medical Assistant
Hunter Business School - Medford Campus, Medford
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,332Program website, Medical Assistant at Hunter Business School - Medford CampusMore details about Medical Assistant at Hunter Business School - Medford Campus
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 149
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $16,332
Clinical Medical Assisting Program
Westchester Community College, Valhalla
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$38,900Price if you pay yourself$2,665Program website, Clinical Medical Assisting Program at Westchester Community CollegeMore details about Clinical Medical Assisting Program at Westchester Community College
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,726
- Length
- 30 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 49
- a year, estimated
- $38,900
- price
- $2,665
Medical Assistant Program
Suffolk County Community College, Selden
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$41,800Price if you pay yourself$3,665Program website, Medical Assistant Program at Suffolk County Community CollegeMore details about Medical Assistant Program at Suffolk County Community College
- Finished
- 52%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,462
- Length
- 32 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 42
- a year, estimated
- $41,800
- price
- $3,665
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant
St. Lawrence-Lewis Co. Boces Adult Education, Canton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$40,400Price if you pay yourself$3,304Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at St. Lawrence-Lewis Co. Boces Adult EducationMore details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at St. Lawrence-Lewis Co. Boces Adult Education
- Finished
- 57%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,104
- Length
- 14 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 15
- a year, estimated
- $40,400
- price
- $3,304
Medical Assistant
Onondaga-Cortland-Madison Boces, Liverpool
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,898Program website, Medical Assistant at Onondaga-Cortland-Madison BocesMore details about Medical Assistant at Onondaga-Cortland-Madison Boces
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 10
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,898
Certified clinical medical aasistant
Cmedtraining, Poughkeepsie
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Certified clinical medical aasistant at CmedtrainingMore details about Certified clinical medical aasistant at Cmedtraining
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 13
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Clinical Medical Assistant
Board Of Cooperative Educational Services Firt Supv Dist Personnel Dept, Patchogue
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,860Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Board Of Cooperative Educational Services Firt Supv Dist Personnel DeptMore details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Board Of Cooperative Educational Services Firt Supv Dist Personnel Dept
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,860
Clinical Medical Assistant
Practice 2 Perfect Training Center LLC, Albany
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Practice 2 Perfect Training Center LLCMore details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Practice 2 Perfect Training Center LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Clinical Medical Assistant
Mildred Elley, Albany
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$21,975Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Mildred ElleyMore details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Mildred Elley
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 53 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $21,975
Medical Assistant
Mildred Elley, Albany
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$28,885Program website, Medical Assistant at Mildred ElleyMore details about Medical Assistant at Mildred Elley
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 53 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $28,885
Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate Program
Mildred Elley, Albany
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$29,563Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate Program at Mildred ElleyMore details about Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate Program at Mildred Elley
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 53 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $29,563
Medical Assisting - AAS Degree
Bryant & Stratton College-Amherst Campus, Getzville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$42,935Program website, Medical Assisting - AAS Degree at Bryant & Stratton College-Amherst CampusMore details about Medical Assisting - AAS Degree at Bryant & Stratton College-Amherst Campus
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $42,935
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant
Cayuga-Onondaga Boces, Auburn
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedSchool website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Cayuga-Onondaga BocesMore details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Cayuga-Onondaga Boces
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (voucher included)
Tompkins Cortland Community College, Online, based in Dryden, NY
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (voucher included) at Tompkins Cortland Community CollegeMore details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (voucher included) at Tompkins Cortland Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Clinical Care and Rotation for Medical Assistants
Suny Schenectady, Schenectady
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Clinical Care and Rotation for Medical Assistants at Suny SchenectadyMore details about Clinical Care and Rotation for Medical Assistants at Suny Schenectady
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Clinical Medical Assistant Program
College Of Staten Island Cuny, Staten Island
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Clinical Medical Assistant Program at College Of Staten Island CunyMore details about Clinical Medical Assistant Program at College Of Staten Island Cuny
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical assistant training in New York
Workforce funding can pay for medical assistant training in New York
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for medical assistant training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the New York medical assistant program numbers come from
Which New York medical assistant programs are on this list?
These are the medical assistant programs New York approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New York offers.
How New York medical assistant program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
How reliable are the New York figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New York among the states with "known data quality concerns".8 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in New York
Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns