Retraining Report
Find training

Pharmacy technician training in New York

10 pharmacy technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

8 schools offer these pharmacy technician programs, and New York has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Pharmacy technicians help pharmacists dispense medications, manage stock and serve customers. Many programs award a certificate after a year or less, most states regulate the work in some way, and some states and employers require certification.1 In New York, 4 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 10 programs

How much does pharmacy technician training cost in New York?

$1,740 to $2,086 is what most pharmacy technician programs in New York cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $1,740 to $4,300

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
12 to 15 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New York may also offer pharmacy technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free pharmacy technician training in New York?

Pharmacy technician training in New York, Albany, Buffalo and other New York cities

Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the list below. 3 programs are online.

All 10 pharmacy technician programs in New York approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician

    Rockland Boces

    West Nyack

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Rockland Boces, West Nyack · Pharmacy technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,740
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Rockland Boces
    More details about Pharmacy Technician at Rockland Boces
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,740
  • Pharmacy technicianHybridNo diploma needed

    Pharmacy Technician Blended Classroom and Online

    Hudson Valley Community College

    Troy

    No diploma needed

    Hudson Valley Community College, Troy · Pharmacy technician · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,740
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician Blended Classroom and Online at Hudson Valley Community College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician Blended Classroom and Online at Hudson Valley Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    14 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,740
  • Pharmacy technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician Program - Online

    Hudson Valley Community College

    Based in Troy, NY

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hudson Valley Community College, based in Troy, NY · Pharmacy technician · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,740
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician Program - Online at Hudson Valley Community College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician Program - Online at Hudson Valley Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,740
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician - Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT)

    Bryant & Stratton College - Professional Skills Center

    Getzville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Bryant & Stratton College - Professional Skills Center, Getzville · Pharmacy technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,917
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician - Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) at Bryant & Stratton College - Professional Skills Center
    More details about Pharmacy Technician - Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) at Bryant & Stratton College - Professional Skills Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,917
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Pharmacy Technician - Part II

    Suffolk County Community College

    Selden

    No diploma needed

    Suffolk County Community College, Selden · Pharmacy technician · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,945
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician - Part II at Suffolk County Community College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician - Part II at Suffolk County Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,945
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician -Part I

    Suffolk County Community College

    Selden

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Suffolk County Community College, Selden · Pharmacy technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,945
    School website, Pharmacy Technician -Part I at Suffolk County Community College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician -Part I at Suffolk County Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,945
  • Pharmacy technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician (Voucher Included) - ONLINE

    Westchester Community College

    Based in Valhalla, NY

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Westchester Community College, based in Valhalla, NY · Pharmacy technician · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,508
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician (Voucher Included) - ONLINE at Westchester Community College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician (Voucher Included) - ONLINE at Westchester Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,508
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program

    Molloy College - Division Of Continuing Education & Professional Studies

    Rockville Ctr

    No diploma needed

    Molloy College - Division Of Continuing Education & Professional Studies, Rockville Ctr · Pharmacy technician · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,300
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program at Molloy College - Division Of Continuing Education & Professional Studies
    More details about Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program at Molloy College - Division Of Continuing Education & Professional Studies
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    13 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,300
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Pharmacy Technician

    Bryant & Stratton-Henrietta Campus

    Rochester

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Bryant & Stratton-Henrietta Campus, Rochester · Pharmacy technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Certified Pharmacy Technician at Bryant & Stratton-Henrietta Campus
    More details about Certified Pharmacy Technician at Bryant & Stratton-Henrietta Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Pharmacy technicianOnlineNo diploma needed

    Pharmacy Technician with externship

    Suny Schenectady

    Based in Schenectady, NY

    No diploma needed

    Suny Schenectady, based in Schenectady, NY · Pharmacy technician · Online · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician with externship at Suny Schenectady
    More details about Pharmacy Technician with externship at Suny Schenectady
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported

How to pay for pharmacy technician training in New York

WIOA funding can pay for pharmacy technician training in New York

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for pharmacy technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for pharmacy technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Pharmacy technician training in New York

programs with a price cost under $2,000
6 of 8
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
7th of 40
pharmacy technician programs here, against the typical state's 10
10 vs 10

State comparisons use the same figures as the pharmacy technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Where the New York pharmacy technician program numbers come from

Which New York pharmacy technician programs are on this list?

These are the pharmacy technician programs New York approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New York offers.

How New York pharmacy technician program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some pharmacy technician programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the New York figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New York among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Other training in New York

Sources for the facts about pharmacy technician training in New York

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Pharmacy Technicians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns