Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Online certificate programs in DC

10 online programs in 8 fields, every one approved for WIOA funding in the District of Columbia

These programs are taught fully online, so you can take them from anywhere in the District of Columbia. Each field lists the 10 with the most students first, with a link to the rest. Another 6 the District of Columbia programs mix online and in-person classes; each field's page lists them under how it's taught. WIOA pays for programs on your state's list of approved programs; one approved only in another state can be paid for only where your state's and local area's rules allow it.1

All job training programs in the District of Columbia, every field side by side
Short certificate programs in the District of Columbia

Online programs approved in the District of Columbia, field by field

Online construction training programs 2

All construction programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • Green Infrastructure Certificate

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCWeatherization and green building courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740
  • Green Building Practices Certificate

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCWeatherization and green building courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740

Online IT training 2

All IT training programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • A+ Training (Distance)

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCCompTIA A+ and IT Fundamentals prepOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740
    students trained with WIOA funding
    12
  • IT Fundamentals Training (Distance)

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCCompTIA A+ and IT Fundamentals prepOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,370

Online health information technology programs 1

All health information programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • Electronic Medical Records Certificate

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCElectronic health records specialist (CEHRS)Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10

Online home health aide training 1

All home health aide programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • Home Health Aide Career Diploma

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCHome health aide courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740

Online medical administrative assistant training 1

All medical office programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • Medical Administrative Assistant Career Diploma

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCMedical administrative assistant certificate or courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740

Online medical billing and coding training 1

All medical billing and coding programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • Medical Billing & Coding Career Diploma

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCBilling and codingOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740

Online paralegal programs 1

All paralegal programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • Paralegal Career Diploma

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCParalegal certificate or diplomaOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740

Online pharmacy technician training 1

All pharmacy technician programs in the District of Columbia, with typical prices and results

  • Pharmacy Technician Career Diploma

    Constituent Services Worldwide, based in Washington, DCPharmacy technicianOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,740
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4

Each program shows its own figures as the school reported them. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted. How these programs are chosen

Can you get online training free in the District of Columbia?

Which District of Columbia online programs are listed

Approved by the District of Columbia

Programs the District of Columbia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from its eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Only the site's fields of training are counted.

What counts as online

A program counts as online when the school filed it as taught fully online. Programs filed as a mix of online and in-person classes, or as offered several ways, are left off this list. How the site handles the data

How reliable are the District of Columbia figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists the District of Columbia among the states with "known data quality concerns".7 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Sources for the funding facts on this page

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 680.520: training providers and programs outside the local area or outside the state (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  7. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns