Retraining Report
Find training

Cosmetology school in Nevada

7 cosmetology programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

6 schools offer these cosmetology programs, and Nevada has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Hairstylists and cosmetologists shampoo, cut, color and style hair. Every state requires a license: you finish a state-approved program, which usually leads to a certificate, and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In Nevada, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.

See the 7 programs

How much does cosmetology school cost in Nevada?

$16,381 to $18,100 is what most cosmetology programs in Nevada cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 7 programs with a price. All of them: $8,000 to $19,930

In the typical program

Finished the program
57%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
Length
43 to 54 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Nevada may also offer cosmetology school. How these figures are made

Is there free cosmetology school in Nevada?

Cosmetology school in Reno, Las Vegas, Elko and other Nevada cities

Choosing an area filters the list below.

All 7 cosmetology programs in Nevada approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

7 programs

  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Milan Institute of Cosmetology

    Reno

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milan Institute of Cosmetology, Reno · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,700
    Price if you pay yourself$16,381

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetology at Milan Institute of Cosmetology
    More details about Cosmetology at Milan Institute of Cosmetology
    Finished
    39%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,173
    Length
    54 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,319
    Students counted
    310
    a year, estimated
    $32,700
    price
    $16,381
    trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Paul Mitchell the School Reno

    Reno

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Paul Mitchell the School Reno, Reno · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,800
    Price if you pay yourself$19,930

    31 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetology at Paul Mitchell the School Reno
    More details about Cosmetology at Paul Mitchell the School Reno
    Finished
    81%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,200
    Length
    46 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,270
    Students counted
    275
    a year, estimated
    $20,800
    price
    $19,930
    trained with WIOA funding
    31
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Milan Institute

    Las Vegas

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milan Institute, Las Vegas · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,381

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Cosmetology at Milan Institute
    More details about Cosmetology at Milan Institute
    Finished
    39%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    54 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,319
    Students counted
    107
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $16,381
    trained with WIOA funding
    3
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology Evening

    Milan Institute

    Las Vegas

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milan Institute, Las Vegas · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,381
    School website, Cosmetology Evening at Milan Institute
    More details about Cosmetology Evening at Milan Institute
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,319
    Students counted
    97
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $16,381
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    International Academy of Style

    Reno

    High school diploma or equivalent

    International Academy of Style, Reno · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$10,600
    Price if you pay yourself$16,500

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Cosmetology at International Academy of Style
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,640
    Length
    52 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,950
    Students counted
    83
    a year, estimated
    $10,600
    price
    $16,500
    trained with WIOA funding
    10
  • Cosmetology license programHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Cosmetology Institute of Las Vegas

    N Las Vegas

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology Institute of Las Vegas, N Las Vegas · Cosmetology license program · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,800
    Price if you pay yourself$8,000

    27 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetology at Cosmetology Institute of Las Vegas
    More details about Cosmetology at Cosmetology Institute of Las Vegas
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,201
    Length
    40 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,825
    Students counted
    31
    a year, estimated
    $28,800
    price
    $8,000
    trained with WIOA funding
    27
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    AM Beauty Institute LLC

    Elko

    High school diploma or equivalent

    AM Beauty Institute LLC, Elko · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$19,700
    More details about Cosmetology at AM Beauty Institute LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,640
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $19,700

How to pay for cosmetology school in Nevada

WIOA funding can pay for cosmetology school in Nevada

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for cosmetology school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for cosmetology school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Cosmetology school in Nevada

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
16th of 20
cosmetology programs here, against the typical state's 4
7 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the cosmetology school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Where the Nevada cosmetology program numbers come from

Which Nevada cosmetology programs are on this list?

These are the cosmetology programs Nevada approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Nevada offers.

How Nevada cosmetology program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some cosmetology programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the Nevada figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for Nevada: its rates sit far below every other state's, and the counts suggest jobs were traced only for students whose training was publicly paid.

Other training in Nevada

Sources for the facts about cosmetology school in Nevada

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List