Carpentry classes in Indiana
14 carpentry programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
8 schools offer these carpentry programs, and Indiana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Carpenters build, repair and install building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or through an apprenticeship.1 In Indiana, 8 of the 14 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 13 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 14 programsHow much do carpentry classes cost in Indiana?
$2,375 to $5,840 is what most carpentry programs in Indiana cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 14 programs with a price. All of them: $750 to $10,062
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Too few programs to say
- Working 6 months later
- Too few programs to say
- Earned a year, estimated
- Too few programs to say
- Length
- 11 to 52 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Indiana may also offer carpentry classes. How these figures are made
Carpentry classes in Indianapolis, Madison, Chicago and other Indiana cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 2 programs are online.
All 14 carpentry programs in Indiana approved for WIOA funding
Filters
14 programs
Carpentry Level 1
Next Level Academies Ministry
Merrillville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$23,500Price if you pay yourself$4,387Program website, Carpentry Level 1 at Next Level Academies MinistryMore details about Carpentry Level 1 at Next Level Academies Ministry
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,870
- Length
- 13 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $131
- Students counted
- 10
- a year, estimated
- $23,500
- price
- $4,387
River Valley Resource Adult Education'S Construction Trades Re-Entry Program
River Valley Resources Inc.
Madison
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$750Program website, River Valley Resource Adult Education'S Construction Trades Re-Entry Program at River Valley Resources Inc.More details about River Valley Resource Adult Education'S Construction Trades Re-Entry Program at River Valley Resources Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 27
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $750
Carpentry Level 2
Minority Contractors Collaboration
Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,362Program website, Carpentry Level 2 at Minority Contractors CollaborationMore details about Carpentry Level 2 at Minority Contractors Collaboration
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,362
Carpentry Level 2
Next Level Academies Ministry
Merrillville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,372Program website, Carpentry Level 2 at Next Level Academies MinistryMore details about Carpentry Level 2 at Next Level Academies Ministry
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,372
Carpentry Level-1
Computer Skills And Training Center
Based in Merrillville, IN
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,375Program website, Carpentry Level-1 at Computer Skills And Training CenterMore details about Carpentry Level-1 at Computer Skills And Training Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,017
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,375
Carpentry Level-1
Computer Skills And Training Center
Based in Gary, IN
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,375Program website, Carpentry Level-1 at Computer Skills And Training CenterMore details about Carpentry Level-1 at Computer Skills And Training Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,017
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,375
Carpentry Level 1
Minority Contractors Collaboration
Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,824Program website, Carpentry Level 1 at Minority Contractors CollaborationMore details about Carpentry Level 1 at Minority Contractors Collaboration
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 13 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $130
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,824
Carpenter
Three Kingdoms Construction Company
Hammond
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,497Program website, Carpenter at Three Kingdoms Construction CompanyMore details about Carpenter at Three Kingdoms Construction Company
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,497
Carpentry Apprenticeship
Associated Builders And Contractors-Indianapolis
Indianapolis
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,840Program website, Carpentry Apprenticeship at Associated Builders And Contractors-IndianapolisMore details about Carpentry Apprenticeship at Associated Builders And Contractors-Indianapolis
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 208 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,120
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,840
Carpentry Apprenticeship
Associated Builders And Contractors-Elkhart
Elkhart
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,840Program website, Carpentry Apprenticeship at Associated Builders And Contractors-ElkhartMore details about Carpentry Apprenticeship at Associated Builders And Contractors-Elkhart
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 208 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,120
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,840
Carpentry Apprenticeship
Associated Builders And Contractors-Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,840Program website, Carpentry Apprenticeship at Associated Builders And Contractors-Fort WayneMore details about Carpentry Apprenticeship at Associated Builders And Contractors-Fort Wayne
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 208 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,120
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,840
Carpentry Level 3
Minority Contractors Collaboration
Indianapolis
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,890Program website, Carpentry Level 3 at Minority Contractors CollaborationMore details about Carpentry Level 3 at Minority Contractors Collaboration
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,890
Carpentry Level 4
Minority Contractors Collaboration
Indianapolis
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,075Program website, Carpentry Level 4 at Minority Contractors CollaborationMore details about Carpentry Level 4 at Minority Contractors Collaboration
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 11 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,075
Carpentry Level 1
Minority Contractors Collaboration
Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,062Program website, Carpentry Level 1 at Minority Contractors CollaborationMore details about Carpentry Level 1 at Minority Contractors Collaboration
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,062
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for carpentry classes in Indiana
WIOA funding can pay for carpentry classes in Indiana
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Paid carpentry apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6
Financial aid and grants for carpentry classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for carpentry classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Carpentry classes in Indiana
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 11th of 19
- carpentry programs here, against the typical state's 5
- 14 vs 5
State comparisons use the same figures as the carpentry classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Carpentry apprenticeships in Indiana
A carpentry apprenticeship sets a number of hours of classes and paid work on the job for each year. Unions and contractor associations run most programs, and apprentices learn carpentry basics, blueprint reading, math, building codes, and safety and first aid.1
You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. This page lists 4 carpentry apprenticeships approved for WIOA funding in Indiana. Ask what you'll pay for the classes and what you'll earn on the job. There is also 1 pre-apprenticeship here, a course that prepares you to apply.
Where the Indiana carpentry program numbers come from
Which Indiana carpentry programs are on this list?
These are the carpentry programs Indiana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Indiana offers.
How Indiana carpentry program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some carpentry programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Indiana
- CDL training94 programs
- CNA classes138 programs
- Medical assistant training134 programs
- Phlebotomy training80 programs
- Welding classes84 programs
- HVAC training56 programs
- Medical billing and coding training49 programs
- LPN programs40 programs
- EMT classes36 programs
- Electrician training39 programs
- Dental assistant programs60 programs
- Auto mechanic classes36 programs
- Pharmacy technician training58 programs
- Plumbing school12 programs
- CNC machinist training47 programs
Sources for the facts about carpentry classes in Indiana
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Carpenters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List