Barber school in Tennessee
12 barber programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
8 schools offer these barber programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Barbers shampoo, cut and style hair, mostly for men. Every state requires barbers to be licensed: you finish a state-approved program and then pass a state licensing exam.1
In Tennessee, 2 of the 12 programs take students without a high school diploma, 9 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 12 programs here are barber license program (9 programs) and crossover, upgrade or short course (3 programs).
See the 12 programsHow much does barber school cost in Tennessee?
$4,600 to $10,875 is what most barber programs in Tennessee cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 12 programs with a price. All of them: $2,700 to $16,495
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 58%
- Working 6 months later
- 56%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $28,200
- Length
- 13 to 52 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Tennessee may also offer barber school. How these figures are made
All 12 barber programs in Tennessee approved for WIOA funding
Filters
12 programs
Master Barber
Genesis Career College Nashville Airport Campus
Nashville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,500Price if you pay yourself$16,495More details about Master Barber at Genesis Career College Nashville Airport Campus
- Finished
- 17%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,127
- Length
- 50 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,500
- Students counted
- 161
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $16,495
Barbering
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Chattanooga
Chattanooga
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,200Price if you pay yourself$5,680Program website, Barbering at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At ChattanoogaMore details about Barbering at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Chattanooga
- Finished
- 47%
- Working at 6 months
- 56%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,042
- Length
- 13 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,000
- Students counted
- 159
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,680
Barber
Queen City College, LLC
Clarksville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$15,200Price if you pay yourself$16,350Program website, Barber at Queen City College, LLCMore details about Barber at Queen City College, LLC
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 54%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,798
- Length
- 50 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,650
- Students counted
- 155
- Earned a year, estimated
- $15,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $16,350
Barber
Barber School and Company
Murfreesboro
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$30,500Price if you pay yourself$5,45026 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Barber at Barber School and Company
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 36%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,631
- Length
- 48 weeks, 39 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $350
- Students counted
- 71
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,450
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 26
Barbering
Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest
Newbern
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,916Program website, Barbering at Tennessee College of Applied Technology NorthwestMore details about Barbering at Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 50 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,716
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,916
Barbering
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Ripley
Ripley
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$23,800Price if you pay yourself$4,916Program website, Barbering at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At RipleyMore details about Barbering at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Ripley
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,959
- Length
- 50 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,716
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $23,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,916
Master Barbering
Barber School 1
Jackson
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,793More details about Master Barbering at Barber School 1
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 70 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $775
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,793
Master Barber - Part Time
Barber School 1
Jackson
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,000More details about Master Barber - Part Time at Barber School 1
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 149 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $775
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,000
Cos-Barber crossover
Elite Self Image Barber College
Clarksville
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,700More details about Cos-Barber crossover at Elite Self Image Barber College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 13 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,525
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,700
Barber Technician
Elite Self Image Barber College
Clarksville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,060More details about Barber Technician at Elite Self Image Barber College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 13 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,550
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,060
Cosmetology to Barber
Queen City College, LLC
Clarksville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,650Program website, Cosmetology to Barber at Queen City College, LLCMore details about Cosmetology to Barber at Queen City College, LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $470
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,650
Master Barber
Elite Self Image Barber College
Clarksville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$13,500More details about Master Barber at Elite Self Image Barber College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 57 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,700
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $13,500
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for barber school in Tennessee
WIOA funding can pay for barber school in Tennessee
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for barber school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for barber school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Barber school in Tennessee
- programs with a price cost under $5,000
- 5 of 12
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 3rd of 11
- barber programs here, against the typical state's 3
- 12 vs 3
State comparisons use the same figures as the barber school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Barber school in Clarksville, Nashville, Jackson and other Tennessee cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in Tennessee
How barber school compares with the rest of beauty and personal care: Beauty school in Tennessee
- CDL training50 programs
- CNA classes28 programs
- Medical assistant training55 programs
- Phlebotomy training25 programs
- Welding classes38 programs
- HVAC training32 programs
- Medical billing and coding training27 programs
- LPN programs33 programs
- EMT classes44 programs
- Electrician training23 programs
- Dental assistant programs33 programs
- Auto mechanic classes26 programs
- Pharmacy technician training31 programs
- Plumbing school7 programs
- CNC machinist training32 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training14 programs
- Cybersecurity training38 programs
- IT training87 programs
- Cosmetology school20 programs
- Esthetician school8 programs
- Nail tech school5 programs
- EKG technician programs13 programs
- Massage therapy school4 programs
- Paralegal programs14 programs
- Fire academy2 programs
- Police academy12 programs
- Surgical tech programs15 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school6 programs
- PTA programs6 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training19 programs
- Human resources training14 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training47 programs
- Early childhood education programs19 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school11 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training8 programs
- Hospitality management programs9 programs
- Addiction counselor training1 program
- Coding and software development courses18 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school2 programs
- Data analytics courses6 programs
- Administrative assistant training43 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs9 programs
- Medical lab technician programs8 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses13 programs
- Digital marketing courses1 program
- Web and graphic design courses14 programs
- Health information technology programs16 programs
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Security guard training1 program
- Patient care technician training5 programs
- OTA programs5 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Home inspector training1 program
- Forklift certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs3 programs
- Customer service training5 programs
- Flight school5 programs
- MRI tech school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs3 programs
- Mental health technician training1 program
- Manufacturing technician training18 programs
- Electronics technician training10 programs
- Business administration programs31 programs
- Criminal justice programs12 programs
- Teacher assistant certification3 programs
- Auto body repair classes14 programs
- Sleep technician training4 programs
- Water treatment operator training3 programs
- OSHA safety training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training2 programs
- Optician training3 programs
- Masonry training2 programs
- Construction training programs33 programs
- Dental hygiene programs5 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes20 programs
- RN programs36 programs
- Project management certification24 programs
Where the Tennessee barber program numbers come from
Which Tennessee barber programs are on this list?
These are the barber programs Tennessee approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.
How the prices and results of Tennessee barber programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about barber school in Tennessee
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List