IT certification programs in Alaska
10 IT programs in 4 fields of computers and IT, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these programs, and Alaska has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 4 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
IT certification programs cover help desk, networking, cybersecurity and coding work. They run from short courses that prepare for exams such as CompTIA A+ or Security+, and coding bootcamps, to two-year degrees.
All job training programs in Alaska, every line of work
IT certification programs by state, to compare Alaska with other states
Compare IT programs in Alaska: cost, pay and results
IT training (help desk and networking)
6 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- $4,575 to $8,155
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Web and graphic design courses
2 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Cybersecurity training
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Coding and software development courses
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Alaska may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Alaska, by line of work
- Transportation and logistics training121
- Trade school programs120
- Business and office training34
- Medical certification programs23
- Allied health programs13
- First responder training13
- Child care and social services training11
- Beauty school10
- Culinary and hospitality programs9
- Nursing and patient care programs7
- All job training in Alaska371
Programs approved in Alaska in each line of work.
Where the Alaska IT numbers come from
Which Alaska programs are counted?
Programs Alaska approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Alaska offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about IT programs in Alaska
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List