Retraining Report
Find training

IT training in Alaska

4 IT training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these IT programs, and Alaska has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Computer support specialists help people solve computer problems and keep networks running. Network support jobs usually call for an associate degree and help desk jobs for some college classes, though a high school diploma plus IT certifications can also be enough.1 In Alaska, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 4 programs

How much does IT training cost in Alaska?

$3,600 to $18,000

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
Length
Not enough data

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Alaska may also offer IT training. How these figures are made

Is there free IT training in Alaska?

All 4 IT training programs in Alaska approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

4 programs

  • IT (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Computer Systems and Network Technology (AAS)

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)

    Anchorage

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), Anchorage · IT (associate degree) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,800
    Price if you pay yourself$18,000
    Program website, Computer Systems and Network Technology (AAS) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    More details about Computer Systems and Network Technology (AAS) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    Finished
    47%
    Working at 6 months
    40%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,212
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,500
    Students counted
    118
    a year, estimated
    $28,800
    price
    $18,000
  • Networking and system administrationIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cisco-Certified Network Associate (OEC)

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)

    Anchorage

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), Anchorage · Networking and system administration · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$50,600
    Price if you pay yourself$3,600
    Program website, Cisco-Certified Network Associate (OEC) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    More details about Cisco-Certified Network Associate (OEC) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,659
    Length
    15 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $900
    Students counted
    14
    a year, estimated
    $50,600
    price
    $3,600
  • IT certificate or diploma (general)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Info Technology Specialist (CT2)

    University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF

    Based in Fairbanks, AK

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF, based in Fairbanks, AK · IT certificate or diploma (general) · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,000
    Program website, Info Technology Specialist (CT2) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
    More details about Info Technology Specialist (CT2) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,250
    Students counted
    19
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,000
  • IT support and help deskIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    IT Support Desk Technician (OEC)

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)

    Anchorage

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), Anchorage · IT support and help desk · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,800
    Program website, IT Support Desk Technician (OEC) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    More details about IT Support Desk Technician (OEC) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,200
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,800

How to pay for IT training in Alaska

WIOA funding can pay for IT training in Alaska

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for IT training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for IT training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Alaska IT program numbers come from

Which Alaska IT programs are on this list?

These are the IT programs Alaska approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Alaska offers.

How the prices and results of Alaska IT programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Other training in Alaska

Sources for the facts about IT training in Alaska

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Computer Support Specialists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List