Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Tennessee

20 accounting and bookkeeping programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

15 schools offer these accounting and bookkeeping programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Bookkeeping and accounting clerks record and check financial data so an organization keeps complete, accurate books. Some employers want college classes or a degree in accounting, others hire people with a high school diploma and train them on the job; certification is not usually required.1 Anyone paid to prepare or help prepare federal tax returns needs a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) from the IRS.2

In Tennessee, 3 of the 20 programs take students without a high school diploma, 15 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 20 programs here are accounting (associate degree, 12 programs), bookkeeping certificate or course (6 programs), accounting program (level not stated, 1 program) and accounting certificate (1 program).

See the 20 programs

How much do accounting and bookkeeping classes cost in Tennessee?

Two-year degrees (12 programs)
$9,810 to $10,879most of them, usually 60 to 68 weeks long
Other accounting and bookkeeping programs (7 programs)
$2,690 to $4,307most of them, usually 22 to 52 weeks long

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
50%
Working 6 months later
80%
Earned a year, estimated
about $29,700
Length
50 to 64 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Tennessee may also offer accounting and bookkeeping classes. How these figures are made

Are there free accounting and bookkeeping classes in Tennessee?

All 20 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Tennessee approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

20 programs

  • Accounting (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Nashville State Community College

    Nashville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nashville State Community College, NashvilleAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$55,300
    Price if you pay yourself$10,930
    Program website, Accounting at Nashville State Community College
    More details about Accounting at Nashville State Community College
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,822
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    413
    Earned a year, estimated
    $55,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,930
    Program website, Accounting at Nashville State Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Business, AAS - Accounting

    Volunteer State Community College

    Gallatin

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Volunteer State Community College, GallatinAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$43,000
    Price if you pay yourself$10,000

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Business, AAS - Accounting at Volunteer State Community College
    More details about Business, AAS - Accounting at Volunteer State Community College
    Finished
    33%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,761
    Length
    58 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,800
    Students counted
    321
    Earned a year, estimated
    $43,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Business, AAS - Accounting at Volunteer State Community College
  • Accounting program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    University Of Tennessee At Martin

    Martin

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University Of Tennessee At Martin, MartinAccounting program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,400
    Price if you pay yourself$40,832

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting at University Of Tennessee At Martin
    More details about Accounting at University Of Tennessee At Martin
    Finished
    59%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,347
    Length
    112 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $6,000
    Students counted
    311
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $40,832
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, Accounting at University Of Tennessee At Martin
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    ACCOUNTING - general transfer

    Columbia State Community College

    Columbia

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Columbia State Community College, ColumbiaAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,100
    Price if you pay yourself$10,560
    Program website, ACCOUNTING - general transfer at Columbia State Community College
    More details about ACCOUNTING - general transfer at Columbia State Community College
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,278
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    309
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,560
    Program website, ACCOUNTING - general transfer at Columbia State Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Business - Accounting

    WSCC Morristown Campus

    Morristown

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    WSCC Morristown Campus, MorristownAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,242
    School website, Business - Accounting at WSCC Morristown Campus
    More details about Business - Accounting at WSCC Morristown Campus
    Finished
    21%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,859
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $11,700
    Students counted
    297
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,242
    School website, Business - Accounting at WSCC Morristown Campus
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Degree Program, AAS

    Pellissippi State Community College

    Knoxville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pellissippi State Community College, KnoxvilleAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$41,500
    Price if you pay yourself$9,052
    Program website, Accounting Degree Program, AAS at Pellissippi State Community College
    More details about Accounting Degree Program, AAS at Pellissippi State Community College
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,379
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,060
    Students counted
    182
    Earned a year, estimated
    $41,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,052
    Program website, Accounting Degree Program, AAS at Pellissippi State Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Business - Accounting

    Northeast State Community College

    Blountville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast State Community College, BlountvilleAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,000
    Price if you pay yourself$10,204
    Program website, Business - Accounting at Northeast State Community College
    More details about Business - Accounting at Northeast State Community College
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,254
    Length
    64 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,441
    Students counted
    120
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,204
    Program website, Business - Accounting at Northeast State Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting (AAS)

    Virginia Highlands Community College

    Abingdon, VA

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Virginia Highlands Community College, Abingdon, VAAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Tennessee; Tennessee approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimated$26,400
    Price if you pay yourself$10,862
    Program website, Accounting (AAS) at Virginia Highlands Community College
    More details about Accounting (AAS) at Virginia Highlands Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,606
    Length
    64 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,025
    Students counted
    99
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,862
    Program website, Accounting (AAS) at Virginia Highlands Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Southwest Tennessee Community College

    Memphis

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwest Tennessee Community College, MemphisAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,000
    Price if you pay yourself$4,141
    School website, Accounting at Southwest Tennessee Community College
    More details about Accounting at Southwest Tennessee Community College
    Finished
    19%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,998
    Length
    88 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    91
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,141
    School website, Accounting at Southwest Tennessee Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Concentration: Business, A.A.S.

    Cleveland State Comm College

    Cleveland

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Cleveland State Comm College, ClevelandAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$26,700
    Price if you pay yourself$10,087
    Program website, Accounting Concentration: Business, A.A.S. at Cleveland State Comm College
    More details about Accounting Concentration: Business, A.A.S. at Cleveland State Comm College
    Finished
    53%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,673
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,312
    Students counted
    74
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,087
    Program website, Accounting Concentration: Business, A.A.S. at Cleveland State Comm College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Administrative Office Technology - Accounting Assistant/Bookkeeper

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

    Elizabethton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton, ElizabethtonBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$22,200
    Price if you pay yourself$4,119
    Program website, Administrative Office Technology - Accounting Assistant/Bookkeeper at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    More details about Administrative Office Technology - Accounting Assistant/Bookkeeper at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    Finished
    76%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,545
    Length
    43 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $397
    Students counted
    50
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,119
    Program website, Administrative Office Technology - Accounting Assistant/Bookkeeper at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
  • Accounting certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Technology

    Northeast State Community College

    Blountville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast State Community College, BlountvilleAccounting certificate · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$50,100
    Price if you pay yourself$4,902
    Program website, Accounting Technology at Northeast State Community College
    More details about Accounting Technology at Northeast State Community College
    Finished
    33%
    Working at 6 months
    56%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,520
    Length
    32 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $743
    Students counted
    27
    Earned a year, estimated
    $50,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,902
    Program website, Accounting Technology at Northeast State Community College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineEducation and courses

    Accounts Payable Specialist Certification (Exam Cost Included) (GES2074)

    Nashville State Community College

    Based in Nashville, TN

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Nashville State Community College, based in Nashville, TNBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,295
    Program website, Accounts Payable Specialist Certification (Exam Cost Included) (GES2074) at Nashville State Community College
    More details about Accounts Payable Specialist Certification (Exam Cost Included) (GES2074) at Nashville State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,295
    Program website, Accounts Payable Specialist Certification (Exam Cost Included) (GES2074) at Nashville State Community College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Bookkeeper (Online)

    Volunteer State Community College

    Based in Gallatin, TN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Volunteer State Community College, based in Gallatin, TNBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,195
    Program website, Certified Bookkeeper (Online) at Volunteer State Community College
    More details about Certified Bookkeeper (Online) at Volunteer State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    5 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,195
    Program website, Certified Bookkeeper (Online) at Volunteer State Community College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Bookkeeping Administration - Live Mentored (PTLIM0007)

    Nashville State Community College

    Based in Nashville, TN

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Nashville State Community College, based in Nashville, TNBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,184
    Program website, Bookkeeping Administration - Live Mentored (PTLIM0007) at Nashville State Community College
    More details about Bookkeeping Administration - Live Mentored (PTLIM0007) at Nashville State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,184
    Program website, Bookkeeping Administration - Live Mentored (PTLIM0007) at Nashville State Community College
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks (Online BPPB-02)

    Austin Peay State University

    Clarksville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Austin Peay State University, ClarksvilleBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,195
    Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks (Online BPPB-02) at Austin Peay State University
    More details about Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks (Online BPPB-02) at Austin Peay State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $81
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,195
    Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks (Online BPPB-02) at Austin Peay State University
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Certified Administrative Assistant & Professional Bookkeeper (Online WE-BP-77111)

    Austin Peay State University

    Based in Clarksville, TN

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Austin Peay State University, based in Clarksville, TNBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,495
    School website, Certified Administrative Assistant & Professional Bookkeeper (Online WE-BP-77111) at Austin Peay State University
    More details about Certified Administrative Assistant & Professional Bookkeeper (Online WE-BP-77111) at Austin Peay State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,495
    School website, Certified Administrative Assistant & Professional Bookkeeper (Online WE-BP-77111) at Austin Peay State University
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Accounting - Ttp

    Chattanooga State Community College

    Chattanooga

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Chattanooga State Community College, ChattanoogaAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,524
    Program website, Accounting - Ttp at Chattanooga State Community College
    More details about Accounting - Ttp at Chattanooga State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,524
    Program website, Accounting - Ttp at Chattanooga State Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Business, Concentration: Accounting

    Roane State Community College

    Harriman

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Roane State Community College, HarrimanAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,248
    Program website, Business, Concentration: Accounting at Roane State Community College
    More details about Business, Concentration: Accounting at Roane State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,050
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,248
    Program website, Business, Concentration: Accounting at Roane State Community College
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Business Adminstration- Accounting (Baa) Associate Degree

    American National University

    Bartlett

    High school diploma or equivalent

    American National University, BartlettAccounting (associate degree)Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$19,200
    More details about Business Adminstration- Accounting (Baa) Associate Degree at American National University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $19,200

How to pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Tennessee

WIOA funding can pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Tennessee

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Tennessee

programs with a price cost under $5,000
8 of 20
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
38th of 38
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
1 of 19
accounting and bookkeeping programs here, against the typical state's 16
20 vs 16

State comparisons use the same figures as the accounting and bookkeeping classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Nashville, Kingsport, Knoxville and other Tennessee cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns and 4 online.

Other training in Tennessee

How accounting and bookkeeping classes compare with the rest of business and office work: Business and office training in Tennessee

Where the Tennessee accounting and bookkeeping program numbers come from

Which Tennessee accounting and bookkeeping programs are on this list?

These are the accounting and bookkeeping programs Tennessee approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.

How the prices and results of Tennessee accounting and bookkeeping programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about accounting and bookkeeping classes in Tennessee

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
  2. Internal Revenue Service: PTIN requirements for tax return preparers
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List