Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Online certificate programs in West Virginia

12 online programs in 10 fields, every one approved for WIOA funding in West Virginia

These programs are taught fully online, so you can take them from anywhere in West Virginia. Each field lists the 10 with the most students first, with a link to the rest. Another 0 West Virginia programs mix online and in-person classes; each field's page lists them under how it's taught. WIOA pays for programs on your state's list of approved programs; one approved only in another state can be paid for only where your state's and local area's rules allow it.1

All job training programs in West Virginia, every field side by side

Online programs approved in West Virginia, field by field

Online crane operator training 2

All crane operator programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • NCCCO Mobile Crane Operator

    Crane Edge LLC, based in Milton, WVMobile crane operator courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    $90,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
    Program website, NCCCO Mobile Crane Operator
  • Mobile Crane Operator NCCCO

    Crane Edge LLC, based in Milton, WVMobile crane operator courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    $52,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, Mobile Crane Operator NCCCO

Online RN programs 2

All RN programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Registered Nursing

    West Virginia Junior College (Morgantown), based in Morgantown, WVRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    $58,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $38,970
    students trained with WIOA funding
    20
    Program website, Registered Nursing
  • Nursing

    Laurel Business Institute, based in Uniontown, PARN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $37,400
    students trained with WIOA funding
    15
    Program website, Nursing

Online CDL training 1

All CDL training programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Commercial Driver's License (CDL)

    Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College (Mount Gay), based in Mount Gay, WVCDL (class not stated) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    Program website, Commercial Driver's License (CDL)

Online construction training programs 1

All construction programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • WV Construction Craft Laborers

    West Virginia Laborers' Training, based in Mineral Wells, WVConstruction apprenticeshipOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4

Online electrician training 1

All electrician training programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Electrical Technician

    Laurel Business Institute, based in Uniontown, PAElectrician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $21,360
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, Electrical Technician

Online HVAC training 1

All HVAC training programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Commerical HVAC

    BridgeValley Community and Technical College, based in South Charleston, WVHVAC technician · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    $78,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    Program website, Commerical HVAC

Online lineman school 1

All lineman programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Lineman / Electric Distribution Engineering Technology

    Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College (Mount Gay), based in Mount Gay, WVLineworker program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,000
    Program website, Lineman / Electric Distribution Engineering Technology

Online massage therapy school 1

All massage therapy programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Massage Therapist Day Program

    Mountain State School of Massage, based in Charleston, WVMassage therapy certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    $65,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,400
    Program website, Massage Therapist Day Program

Online medical assistant training 1

All medical assistant programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Medical Assisting

    Putnam Career & Technical Center, based in Eleanor, WVMedical assistant · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,375
    Program website, Medical Assisting

Online vet tech programs 1

All vet tech and veterinary assistant programs in West Virginia, with typical prices and results

  • Veterinary Technician

    Penn Foster Inc, based in Scranton, PAVet tech (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,139
    Program website, Veterinary Technician

Each program shows its own figures as the school reported them. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted. How these programs are chosen

Can you get online training free in West Virginia?

Which West Virginia online programs are listed

Approved by West Virginia

Programs West Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from its eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Only the site's fields of training are counted.

What counts as online

A program counts as online when the school filed it as taught fully online. Programs filed as a mix of online and in-person classes, or as offered several ways, are left off this list. How the site handles the data

How reliable are the West Virginia figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for West Virginia: every program that reports it reports exactly 100%.

Sources for the funding facts on this page

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 680.520: training providers and programs outside the local area or outside the state (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List