Welding classes in Indianapolis
17 welding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these welding programs with classes in the Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Welders join and cut metal parts with hand-held or remotely controlled equipment. Most have a high school diploma plus technical training, and some employers ask for a certification for particular jobs.1 In Indianapolis, 17 of the 17 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 17 programsAll 84 welding programs in Indiana, including online programs
How much do welding classes cost in Indianapolis?
$2,899 to $4,000
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 17 programs with a price: $1,500 to $5,500
- Finished the program
- 91%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 to 12 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
All 17 welding programs in Indianapolis approved for funding
Filters
17 programs
Welding Technology
Central Nine Career Center, Greenwood
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$40,300Price if you pay yourself$1,775Program website, Welding Technology at Central Nine Career CenterMore details about Welding Technology at Central Nine Career Center
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,078
- Length
- 12 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 97
- a year, estimated
- $40,300
- price
- $1,775
Welding I 3g Welding Certification Course
Hoosier Occupational Training Services, Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$18,400Price if you pay yourself$2,700Program website, Welding I 3g Welding Certification Course at Hoosier Occupational Training ServicesMore details about Welding I 3g Welding Certification Course at Hoosier Occupational Training Services
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,593
- Length
- 14 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $250
- Students counted
- 61
- a year, estimated
- $18,400
- price
- $2,700
Intro To Welding 2f Mig
Hoosier Occupational Training Services, Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$27,000Price if you pay yourself$1,800Program website, Intro To Welding 2f Mig at Hoosier Occupational Training ServicesMore details about Intro To Welding 2f Mig at Hoosier Occupational Training Services
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,747
- Length
- 7 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $250
- Students counted
- 52
- a year, estimated
- $27,000
- price
- $1,800
Advanced Shielded Metal Arch Welding (smaw) Certification
Ivy Tech Community College, Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,899Program website, Advanced Shielded Metal Arch Welding (smaw) Certification at Ivy Tech Community CollegeMore details about Advanced Shielded Metal Arch Welding (smaw) Certification at Ivy Tech Community College
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 18
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,899
Welding
Hinds Career Center, Elwood
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$30,300Price if you pay yourself$1,500Program website, Welding at Hinds Career CenterMore details about Welding at Hinds Career Center
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,573
- Length
- 10 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 14
- a year, estimated
- $30,300
- price
- $1,500
Introduction To Gas Metal Arc Welding (intro To Gmaw Mig)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000Program website, Introduction To Gas Metal Arc Welding (intro To Gmaw Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Gas Metal Arc Welding (intro To Gmaw Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,000
Introduction To Gas Metal Arc Welding (intro To Gmaw Mig)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000Program website, Introduction To Gas Metal Arc Welding (intro To Gmaw Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Gas Metal Arc Welding (intro To Gmaw Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,000
Welding Iii Tig Welding Certification Course
Hoosier Occupational Training Services, Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000Program website, Welding Iii Tig Welding Certification Course at Hoosier Occupational Training ServicesMore details about Welding Iii Tig Welding Certification Course at Hoosier Occupational Training Services
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,000
Aws Gas Metal Arc Welding (gmaw) Certification Preparation
Ivy Tech Community College, Noblesville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,020Program website, Aws Gas Metal Arc Welding (gmaw) Certification Preparation at Ivy Tech Community CollegeMore details about Aws Gas Metal Arc Welding (gmaw) Certification Preparation at Ivy Tech Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,020
9622 Basic/intro To Welding Principals
Hobbs Electric Motor Solutions, Anderson
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,450Program website, 9622 Basic/intro To Welding Principals at Hobbs Electric Motor SolutionsMore details about 9622 Basic/intro To Welding Principals at Hobbs Electric Motor Solutions
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,450
Introduction To Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (intro To Gtaw Tig)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Introduction To Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (intro To Gtaw Tig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (intro To Gtaw Tig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Introduction To Shielded Metal Arc Welding (intro Smaw Stick)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Introduction To Shielded Metal Arc Welding (intro Smaw Stick) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Shielded Metal Arc Welding (intro Smaw Stick) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Introduction To Shielded Metal Arc Welding (intro Smaw Stick)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Introduction To Shielded Metal Arc Welding (intro Smaw Stick) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Shielded Metal Arc Welding (intro Smaw Stick) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Introduction To Welding Bootcamp (intro To Mig)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Introduction To Welding Bootcamp (intro To Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Welding Bootcamp (intro To Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Introduction To Welding Bootcamp (intro To Mig)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Introduction To Welding Bootcamp (intro To Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Welding Bootcamp (intro To Mig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Welding Ii 6g Pipe Welding Certification Course
Hoosier Occupational Training Services, Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,150Program website, Welding Ii 6g Pipe Welding Certification Course at Hoosier Occupational Training ServicesMore details about Welding Ii 6g Pipe Welding Certification Course at Hoosier Occupational Training Services
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,150
Introduction To Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (intro To Gtaw Tig)
Latinas Welding Guild Inc., Indianapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,500Program website, Introduction To Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (intro To Gtaw Tig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.More details about Introduction To Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (intro To Gtaw Tig) at Latinas Welding Guild Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,500
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for welding classes in Indianapolis
Workforce funding can pay for welding classes in Indianapolis
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for welding classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for welding classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Indianapolis welding program numbers come from
Which Indianapolis welding programs are on this list?
These are the welding programs with classes in the Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Indiana page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Indianapolis welding program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some welding programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about welding classes in Indianapolis
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs