Water treatment operator training in North Carolina
2 water and wastewater programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these water treatment programs, and North Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Water and wastewater treatment plant and system operators run the machines that move and treat water. They typically need at least a high school diploma and long-term training on the job, and a state license is usually required; licenses have several levels, and employers may prefer applicants with a certificate or degree in a field such as water treatment technology.1 Under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act, every state must run a certification program for the operators of community water systems, or lose a fifth of its federal drinking water grant; the state sets the levels and exams.2
In North Carolina, both programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
Both are the same kind of program: operator exam prep or short course.
See the 2 programsHow much does water treatment operator training cost in North Carolina?
$130 to $210
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
These two programs
- Finished the program
- 73%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Neither program reports it
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Neither program reports it
- Length
- 8 to 12 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Carolina may also offer water treatment operator training. How these figures are made
All 2 water and wastewater programs in North Carolina approved for WIOA funding
Filters
2 programs
Waste Water Treatment Operator 1 WFD/CE
Wayne Community College
Goldsboro
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$130School website, Waste Water Treatment Operator 1 WFD/CE at Wayne Community CollegeMore details about Waste Water Treatment Operator 1 WFD/CE at Wayne Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $110
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $130
Waste Water Treatment Operator I & II
Cape Fear Community College
Wilmington
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$210Program website, Waste Water Treatment Operator I & II at Cape Fear Community CollegeMore details about Waste Water Treatment Operator I & II at Cape Fear Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $85
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $210
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for water treatment operator training in North Carolina
WIOA funding can pay for water treatment operator training in North Carolina
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for water treatment operator training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for water treatment operator training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Water treatment operator training in Goldsboro, Wilmington and other North Carolina cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in North Carolina
How water treatment operator training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in North Carolina
- CDL training90 programs
- CNA classes113 programs
- Medical assistant training75 programs
- Phlebotomy training64 programs
- Welding classes89 programs
- HVAC training65 programs
- Medical billing and coding training58 programs
- LPN programs34 programs
- EMT classes66 programs
- Electrician training43 programs
- Dental assistant programs36 programs
- Auto mechanic classes33 programs
- Pharmacy technician training51 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training33 programs
- Carpentry classes6 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training8 programs
- Cybersecurity training33 programs
- IT training110 programs
- Cosmetology school16 programs
- Barber school7 programs
- Esthetician school11 programs
- Nail tech school6 programs
- EKG technician programs25 programs
- Massage therapy school10 programs
- Paralegal programs17 programs
- Fire academy8 programs
- Police academy37 programs
- Surgical tech programs21 programs
- Radiology tech programs15 programs
- Culinary school13 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs9 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training58 programs
- Human resources training22 programs
- Medication aide training33 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training19 programs
- Early childhood education programs57 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school6 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training15 programs
- Hospitality management programs7 programs
- Addiction counselor training7 programs
- Coding and software development courses20 programs
- Lineman school13 programs
- Sterile processing technician training15 programs
- Sonography school13 programs
- Data analytics courses17 programs
- Administrative assistant training21 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs11 programs
- Medical lab technician programs13 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses5 programs
- Digital marketing courses5 programs
- Web and graphic design courses10 programs
- Health information technology programs12 programs
- Vet tech programs12 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Patient care technician training3 programs
- OTA programs5 programs
- Interpreter and translator training5 programs
- Home inspector training2 programs
- Forklift certification13 programs
- Personal trainer certification6 programs
- Healthcare administration programs9 programs
- Customer service training2 programs
- MRI tech school4 programs
- RBT certification training2 programs
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs34 programs
- Manufacturing technician training11 programs
- Electronics technician training17 programs
- Business administration programs55 programs
- Criminal justice programs31 programs
- Teacher assistant certification3 programs
- Auto body repair classes11 programs
- Sleep technician training3 programs
- Solar and wind technician training4 programs
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Optician training7 programs
- Masonry training5 programs
- Construction training programs24 programs
- Dental hygiene programs8 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes29 programs
- RN programs71 programs
- Project management certification29 programs
Where the North Carolina water treatment program numbers come from
Which North Carolina water treatment programs are on this list?
These are the water treatment programs North Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Carolina offers.
How the prices and results of North Carolina water treatment programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about water treatment operator training in North Carolina
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Water and Wastewater Treatment Plant and System Operators
- US Code: 42 U.S.C. 300g-8, operator certification
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List