Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Teacher assistant certification in North Carolina

3 teacher assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

3 schools offer these teacher assistant programs, and North Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Teacher assistants work with a licensed teacher to give students extra attention and instruction. In public schools they need at least two years of college coursework or an associate's degree, and most states require a skills test for those who work with special-needs students.1

In North Carolina, all 3 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 3 programs here are education and teaching (associate degree, 1 program), substitute teacher course (1 program) and paraprofessional and teacher assistant (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 3 programs

How much does teacher assistant training cost in North Carolina?

Two-year degrees (2 programs)
$3,502 to $9,990all 2 with a price
Other teacher assistant programs (1 program)
$125the one with a price

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it.

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Carolina may also offer teacher assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free teacher assistant training in North Carolina?

All 3 teacher assistant programs in North Carolina approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

3 programs

  • Education and teaching (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Associate of Science AAS Degree

    Blue Ridge Community College

    Flat Rock

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Blue Ridge Community College, Flat RockEducation and teaching (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,800
    Price if you pay yourself$3,502
    School website, Associate of Science AAS Degree at Blue Ridge Community College
    More details about Associate of Science AAS Degree at Blue Ridge Community College
    Finished
    27%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,439
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $8,096
    Students counted
    741
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,502
    School website, Associate of Science AAS Degree at Blue Ridge Community College
  • Substitute teacher courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Effective Substitute Teacher Training

    Richmond Community College

    Based in Hamlet, NC

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Richmond Community College, based in Hamlet, NCSubstitute teacher course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$125
    Program website, Effective Substitute Teacher Training at Richmond Community College
    More details about Effective Substitute Teacher Training at Richmond Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $125
    Program website, Effective Substitute Teacher Training at Richmond Community College
  • Paraprofessional and teacher assistant (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Early Childhood Associate, Teacher Associate

    Randolph Community College

    Asheboro

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Randolph Community College, AsheboroParaprofessional and teacher assistant (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,990
    Program website, Early Childhood Associate, Teacher Associate at Randolph Community College
    More details about Early Childhood Associate, Teacher Associate at Randolph Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,990
    Program website, Early Childhood Associate, Teacher Associate at Randolph Community College

How to pay for teacher assistant training in North Carolina

WIOA funding can pay for teacher assistant training in North Carolina

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for teacher assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for teacher assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Teacher assistant certification in Asheville, Greensboro and other North Carolina cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 program is online.

Other training in North Carolina

How teacher assistant training compares with the rest of education and social services: Child care and social services training in North Carolina

Where the North Carolina teacher assistant program numbers come from

Which North Carolina teacher assistant programs are on this list?

These are the teacher assistant programs North Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Carolina offers.

How the prices and results of North Carolina teacher assistant programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about teacher assistant training in North Carolina

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Teacher Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List