Allied health programs in New York
18 allied health programs in 10 fields of allied health, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
16 schools offer these programs, and New York has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 10 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Allied health covers health jobs beyond doctors and nurses. Here that means dental assistants and hygienists, X-ray, MRI, cardiovascular, sleep, dialysis and surgical techs, opticians, physical and occupational therapy assistants, massage therapists and personal trainers, and for animals, vet techs and veterinary assistants. Some take a certificate of a few months; others take a two-year degree.
All job training programs in New York, every line of work
Accredited allied health programs in New York, each school with its accreditor
Allied health programs by state, to compare New York with other states
Compare allied health programs in New York: cost, pay and results
Dental assistant programs
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Massage therapy school
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
OTA programs (occupational therapy assistant)
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Sterile processing technician training (surgical instruments)
2 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Vet tech programs
2 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Surgical tech programs (operating room)
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Dental hygiene programs
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
PTA programs (physical therapist assistant)
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Sonography school (ultrasound)
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Personal trainer certification
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in New York may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in New York, by line of work
- Medical certification programs106
- Trade school programs92
- Transportation and logistics training70
- Business and office training66
- Nursing and patient care programs63
- IT certification programs58
- Child care and social services training26
- First responder training22
- Beauty school13
- Culinary and hospitality programs6
- All job training in New York540
Programs approved in New York in each line of work.
Where the New York allied health numbers come from
Which New York programs are counted?
Programs New York approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New York offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
How reliable are the New York figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New York among the states with "known data quality concerns".6 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the funding facts about allied health programs in New York
Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns