Medical assistant training in the Washington, DC area
12 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
11 schools offer these medical assistant programs with classes in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria area, and every one is approved for workforce funding: 8 by Virginia, 3 by Maryland and 1 by the District of Columbia. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1
In Washington, DC, 2 of the 12 programs take students without a high school diploma, 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 4 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 12 programs here are medical assistant (6 programs), clinical medical assistant (5 programs) and medical administrative assistant (1 program).
See the 12 programsThe one medical assistant program in the District of Columbia, including online programs
How much does a medical assistant program cost in Washington, DC?
$2,970 to $4,980 is what most medical assistant programs in Washington, DC cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 12 programs with a price. All of them: $900 to $14,479
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 71%
- Working 6 months later
- 65%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $30,900
- Length
- 12 to 25 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Washington, DC may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made
All 12 medical assistant programs in Washington, DC approved for WIOA funding
Filters
12 programs
Medical Assisting (54.5 Credit Hours)
Fortis College
Landover
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,400Price if you pay yourself$14,479Program website, Medical Assisting (54.5 Credit Hours) at Fortis CollegeMore details about Medical Assisting (54.5 Credit Hours) at Fortis College
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,853
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $816
- Students counted
- 1,064
- Earned a year, estimated
- $27,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,479
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant
Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$31,700Price if you pay yourself$3,26714 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Northern Virginia Community CollegeMore details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Northern Virginia Community College
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,937
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 549
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,267
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 14
Clinical Medical Assistant (196 clock hours)
Montgomery College
Germantown
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,100Price if you pay yourself$3,46010 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant (196 clock hours) at Montgomery CollegeMore details about Clinical Medical Assistant (196 clock hours) at Montgomery College
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,780
- Length
- 15 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $155
- Students counted
- 373
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,460
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 10
Clinical Medical Assistant
Germanna Community College
Fredericksburg
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,100Price if you pay yourself$3,150More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Germanna Community College
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 68%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,025
- Length
- Left out
- Cost of supplies
- $450
- Students counted
- 68
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,150
Medical Assistant (Diploma Program)
Eastern Virginia Career College (EVCC)
Fredericksburg
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,500More details about Medical Assistant (Diploma Program) at Eastern Virginia Career College (EVCC)
- Finished
- 52%
- Working at 6 months
- 27%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,675
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,500
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant
The Medical Education Center
Ashburn
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$20,200Price if you pay yourself$3,50011 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at The Medical Education Center
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 55%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,043
- Length
- 7 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- 31
- Earned a year, estimated
- $20,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 11
Medical Assistant Certificate (36 Credit Hours)
Frederick Community College
Frederick
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$30,600Price if you pay yourself$5,700Program website, Medical Assistant Certificate (36 Credit Hours) at Frederick Community CollegeMore details about Medical Assistant Certificate (36 Credit Hours) at Frederick Community College
- Finished
- 44%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,658
- Length
- 45 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 26
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,700
Clinical Medical Assistant CCMA
Rappahannock Center for Education
Sperryville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$900More details about Clinical Medical Assistant CCMA at Rappahannock Center for Education
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $254
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $900
Medical Assistant
American Institute of Health Science & Technology
Springfield
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,0008 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Medical Assistant at American Institute of Health Science & Technology
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 8
Medical Assistant Career Diploma
Constituent Services Worldwide
Washington
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,740More details about Medical Assistant Career Diploma at Constituent Services Worldwide
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 19
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,740
Medical Administrative Assistant Certification
Fairfax Public Schools Adult and Community Education
Springfield
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,929More details about Medical Administrative Assistant Certification at Fairfax Public Schools Adult and Community Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $603
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,929
Medical Assistant Certification
Fairfax Public Schools Adult and Community Education
Springfield
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,879More details about Medical Assistant Certification at Fairfax Public Schools Adult and Community Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $811
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,879
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical assistant training in Washington, DC
WIOA funding can pay for medical assistant training in Washington, DC
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medical assistant training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Washington, DC
How medical assistant training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work across the District of Columbia: Medical certification programs in the District of Columbia
- CDL training25 programs
- CNA classes25 programs
- HVAC training12 programs
- Cybersecurity training78 programs
- IT training91 programs
- Esthetician school15 programs
- Data analytics courses12 programs
- Security guard training21 programs
- Business administration programs16 programs
- Project management certification26 programs
Where the Washington, DC medical assistant program numbers come from
Which Washington, DC medical assistant programs are on this list?
These are the medical assistant programs with classes in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the District of Columbia page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Washington, DC medical assistant programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the District of Columbia figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists the District of Columbia among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Washington, DC
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns