CNA classes in Washington
14 CNA programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
14 schools offer these nursing assistant programs with classes in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Nursing assistants give basic care and help patients with everyday tasks. To work as one, you usually finish a state-approved program and pass your state's competency exam, which puts you on the state registry.1 In Washington, 4 of the 14 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.
See the 14 programsHow much do CNA classes cost in Washington?
$1,081 to $1,453
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 14 programs with a price: $340 to $5,390
- Finished the program
- 97%
- Working 6 months later
- 66%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $29,800
- Length
- 4 to 6 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Washington may also offer CNA classes. How these figures are made
All 14 CNA programs in Washington approved for funding
Filters
14 programs
Nursing Assistant Training (120 clock hours)
Knowledge First Institute, Silver Spring
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$29,300Price if you pay yourself$1,050Program website, Nursing Assistant Training (120 clock hours) at Knowledge First InstituteMore details about Nursing Assistant Training (120 clock hours) at Knowledge First Institute
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 66%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,318
- Length
- 4 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,100
- Students counted
- 876
- a year, estimated
- $29,300
- price
- $1,050
Certified/Geriatric Nursing Assistant (120 clock hours)
Dominion Academy, Lanham
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$34,100Price if you pay yourself$1,200Program website, Certified/Geriatric Nursing Assistant (120 clock hours) at Dominion AcademyMore details about Certified/Geriatric Nursing Assistant (120 clock hours) at Dominion Academy
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,530
- Length
- 4 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $160
- Students counted
- 267
- a year, estimated
- $34,100
- price
- $1,200
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (207 Clock Hours)
Frederick Community College, Frederick
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$24,300Price if you pay yourself$3,220Program website, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (207 Clock Hours) at Frederick Community CollegeMore details about Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (207 Clock Hours) at Frederick Community College
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,080
- Length
- 18 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $289
- Students counted
- 158
- a year, estimated
- $24,300
- price
- $3,220
Nursing Assistant Training (120 clock hours)
Compassionate Nursing Assistant Academy, Inc., Hyattsville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$30,300Price if you pay yourself$1,100Program website, Nursing Assistant Training (120 clock hours) at Compassionate Nursing Assistant Academy, Inc.More details about Nursing Assistant Training (120 clock hours) at Compassionate Nursing Assistant Academy, Inc.
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 64%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,575
- Length
- 4 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- 133
- a year, estimated
- $30,300
- price
- $1,100
Nursing Assistant (148 clock hours)
Montgomery College, Germantown
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$28,800Price if you pay yourself$2,030Program website, Nursing Assistant (148 clock hours) at Montgomery CollegeMore details about Nursing Assistant (148 clock hours) at Montgomery College
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 42%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,193
- Length
- 12 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 109
- a year, estimated
- $28,800
- price
- $2,030
Cna/gna Nursing Assistant Training (120 Clock Hours)
Fomen Nursing Assistant Training Academy, Hyattsville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$24,600Price if you pay yourself$1,075Program website, Cna/gna Nursing Assistant Training (120 Clock Hours) at Fomen Nursing Assistant Training AcademyMore details about Cna/gna Nursing Assistant Training (120 Clock Hours) at Fomen Nursing Assistant Training Academy
- Finished
- 99%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,160
- Length
- 5 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $237
- Students counted
- 99
- a year, estimated
- $24,600
- price
- $1,075
Certified Nursing Assistant
Astar Education Institute, Manassas
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$32,500Price if you pay yourself$1,517School website, Certified Nursing Assistant at Astar Education InstituteMore details about Certified Nursing Assistant at Astar Education Institute
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 41%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,119
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 52
- a year, estimated
- $32,500
- price
- $1,517
Nursing Assistant Training Program (for CNA Certification)
Global Educational Institute LLC, Arlington
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$32,900Price if you pay yourself$1,136More details about Nursing Assistant Training Program (for CNA Certification) at Global Educational Institute LLC
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,222
- Length
- 1 week, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $444
- Students counted
- 14
- a year, estimated
- $32,900
- price
- $1,136
Personal Care Aide
Difference Makers Academy, Fairfax
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$340More details about Personal Care Aide at Difference Makers Academy
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $60
- Students counted
- 11
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $340
Certified Nurse Aide Training Program
GRACE Ministries, Herndon
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,000More details about Certified Nurse Aide Training Program at GRACE Ministries
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,000
Certified Nursing Assistant (130 Clock Hours)
Trinity Nursing Academy, Inc., Frederick
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,100Program website, Certified Nursing Assistant (130 Clock Hours) at Trinity Nursing Academy, Inc.More details about Certified Nursing Assistant (130 Clock Hours) at Trinity Nursing Academy, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $88
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,100
Certified Nursing Assistant/ Geriatric Nrsng Assist (120 clock hours)
AMC Career Institute, Waldorf
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,245Program website, Certified Nursing Assistant/ Geriatric Nrsng Assist (120 clock hours) at AMC Career InstituteMore details about Certified Nursing Assistant/ Geriatric Nrsng Assist (120 clock hours) at AMC Career Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $260
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,245
Nursing Assistant/geriatric Nursing Assistant Cert. (130 Clock Hours)
Healthcare Training Solutions Llc, Temple Hills
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,260Program website, Nursing Assistant/geriatric Nursing Assistant Cert. (130 Clock Hours) at Healthcare Training Solutions LlcMore details about Nursing Assistant/geriatric Nursing Assistant Cert. (130 Clock Hours) at Healthcare Training Solutions Llc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 33 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,312
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,260
Nurse Aide Career Studies Certificate
Germanna Community College, Fredericksburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,390More details about Nurse Aide Career Studies Certificate at Germanna Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,390
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CNA classes in Washington
Workforce funding can pay for CNA classes in Washington
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for CNA classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for CNA classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Washington nursing assistant program numbers come from
Which Washington nursing assistant programs are on this list?
These are the nursing assistant programs with classes in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Washington nursing assistant program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some nursing assistant programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
How reliable are the District of Columbia figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists the District of Columbia among the states with "known data quality concerns".8 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the facts about CNA classes in Washington
Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns