Industrial maintenance technician training in Detroit, Michigan
20 industrial maintenance programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these industrial maintenance programs with classes in the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Industrial machinery mechanics, maintenance workers and millwrights install, maintain and repair factory equipment and other industrial machinery. Most have a year or more of training after high school, some a two-year degree in industrial maintenance, and most millwrights learn the trade in a three- or four-year apprenticeship.1
In Detroit, 11 of the 20 programs take students without a high school diploma, 8 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for a bachelor's degree.
By kind, the 20 programs here are mechatronics and automation (8 programs), industrial maintenance (associate degree, 6 programs), industrial maintenance certificate or diploma (3 programs), industrial maintenance apprenticeship (2 programs), and 1 more of one other kind.
See the 20 programsAll 45 industrial maintenance programs in Michigan, including online programs
How much does industrial maintenance training cost in Detroit?
- Certificates and short courses (14 programs)
- $4,780 to $9,580most of them, usually 14 to 48 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (6 programs)
- $8,981 to $18,884most of them, usually 68 to 90 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 54%
- Working 6 months later
- 85%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $52,100
- Length
- 36 to 70 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Detroit may also offer industrial maintenance training. How these figures are made
All 20 industrial maintenance programs in Detroit approved for WIOA funding
Filters
20 programs
Robotics and Automation Technician Certificate
MIAT College of Technology
Canton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$38,600Price if you pay yourself$29,555Program website, Robotics and Automation Technician Certificate at MIAT College of TechnologyMore details about Robotics and Automation Technician Certificate at MIAT College of Technology
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,649
- Length
- 48 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,090
- Students counted
- 141
- Earned a year, estimated
- $38,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $29,555
Industrial Maintenance Technician
MIAT College of Technology
Canton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,600Price if you pay yourself$18,005Program website, Industrial Maintenance Technician at MIAT College of TechnologyMore details about Industrial Maintenance Technician at MIAT College of Technology
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,157
- Length
- 36 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,336
- Students counted
- 131
- Earned a year, estimated
- $40,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $18,005
Robotics/Automated Systems Technology
Oakland Community College
Bloomfield Hills
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$51,400Price if you pay yourself$8,043Program website, Robotics/Automated Systems Technology at Oakland Community CollegeMore details about Robotics/Automated Systems Technology at Oakland Community College
- Finished
- 14%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,850
- Length
- 90 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 113
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,043
Automated Systems Technology - Mechatronics
Macomb Community College
Warren
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$65,700Price if you pay yourself$11,796Program website, Automated Systems Technology - Mechatronics at Macomb Community CollegeMore details about Automated Systems Technology - Mechatronics at Macomb Community College
- Finished
- 29%
- Working at 6 months
- 91%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,437
- Length
- 104 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 87
Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- Earned a year, estimated
- $65,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,796
Engineering Technology - Mechatronics
St. Clair County Community College
Port Huron
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$20,914Program website, Engineering Technology - Mechatronics at St. Clair County Community CollegeMore details about Engineering Technology - Mechatronics at St. Clair County Community College
- Finished
- 22%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,344
- Students counted
- 73
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $20,914
Programmable Logical Controls and Robotic Technician
Oakland Community College
Bloomfield Hills
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$41,900Price if you pay yourself$7,00044 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Programmable Logical Controls and Robotic Technician at Oakland Community CollegeMore details about Programmable Logical Controls and Robotic Technician at Oakland Community College
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,476
- Length
- 14 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 44
- Earned a year, estimated
- $41,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 44
Mechanic: Industrial Maintenance
Macomb Community College
Warren
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$50,200Price if you pay yourself$7,388Program website, Mechanic: Industrial Maintenance at Macomb Community CollegeMore details about Mechanic: Industrial Maintenance at Macomb Community College
- Finished
- 37%
- Working at 6 months
- 87%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,558
- Length
- 68 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 42
- Earned a year, estimated
- $50,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,388
Mechatronics Associate Applied Science Degree
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$12,792Program website, Mechatronics Associate Applied Science Degree at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Mechatronics Associate Applied Science Degree at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- 21%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 67 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 34
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,792
Robotics and Automation Technology Associate
MIAT College of Technology
Canton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$58,500Price if you pay yourself$41,105Program website, Robotics and Automation Technology Associate at MIAT College of TechnologyMore details about Robotics and Automation Technology Associate at MIAT College of Technology
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,617
- Length
- 72 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,090
- Students counted
- 32
- Earned a year, estimated
- $58,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $41,105
Machine Repair
Macomb Community College
Warren
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$99,100Price if you pay yourself$6,344Program website, Machine Repair at Macomb Community CollegeMore details about Machine Repair at Macomb Community College
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 92%
- Earned in a quarter
- $24,779
- Length
- 52 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 25
- Earned a year, estimated
- $99,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,344
Electrical Technology- Automation Control
Henry Ford College
Dearborn
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,573Program website, Electrical Technology- Automation Control at Henry Ford CollegeMore details about Electrical Technology- Automation Control at Henry Ford College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 45 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 23
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,573
Robotics Automated Systems Technology Certificate
Oakland Community College
Bloomfield Hills
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$64,400Price if you pay yourself$4,610Program website, Robotics Automated Systems Technology Certificate at Oakland Community CollegeMore details about Robotics Automated Systems Technology Certificate at Oakland Community College
- Finished
- 42%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,092
- Length
- 45 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 15
- Earned a year, estimated
- $64,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,610
Controls Technician
Macomb Community College
Warren
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$52,800Price if you pay yourself$10,2736 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Controls Technician at Macomb Community CollegeMore details about Controls Technician at Macomb Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 87%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,198
- Length
- 14 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 14
- Earned a year, estimated
- $52,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,273
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 6
Mechatronics Technology Certificate
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,289Program website, Mechatronics Technology Certificate at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Mechatronics Technology Certificate at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,289
Mechatronics Technology Skills Certificate
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,370Program website, Mechatronics Technology Skills Certificate at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Mechatronics Technology Skills Certificate at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,370
FANUC Robotic Programming and Operations / IRVision
Lapeer Advanced Manufacturing Training Center (AMTC)
Lapeer
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,451Program website, FANUC Robotic Programming and Operations / IRVision at Lapeer Advanced Manufacturing Training Center (AMTC)More details about FANUC Robotic Programming and Operations / IRVision at Lapeer Advanced Manufacturing Training Center (AMTC)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,451
Instrumentation INSTRU.001
Process Controls & Instrumentation (PCI) LLC
Detroit
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,290More details about Instrumentation INSTRU.001 at Process Controls & Instrumentation (PCI) LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 38 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,290
Industrial Technology Technical Apprentice/Skilled Trades
Oakland Community College
Bloomfield Hills
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,294Program website, Industrial Technology Technical Apprentice/Skilled Trades at Oakland Community CollegeMore details about Industrial Technology Technical Apprentice/Skilled Trades at Oakland Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 90 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,294
Intro to Autonomous Mobility
LHP Engineering Solutions - LHPU Training Division
Pontiac
Bachelor's degree
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,500Program website, Intro to Autonomous Mobility at LHP Engineering Solutions - LHPU Training DivisionMore details about Intro to Autonomous Mobility at LHP Engineering Solutions - LHPU Training Division
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,500
Maintenance Technician
Great Lakes Water Authority
Detroit
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$24,000More details about Maintenance Technician at Great Lakes Water Authority
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $24,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for industrial maintenance training in Detroit
WIOA funding can pay for industrial maintenance training in Detroit
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for industrial maintenance training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for industrial maintenance training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Detroit
How industrial maintenance training compares with the rest of skilled trades across Michigan: Trade school programs in Michigan
- CDL training41 programs
- CNA classes35 programs
- Medical assistant training31 programs
- Phlebotomy training17 programs
- Welding classes14 programs
- HVAC training12 programs
- Medical billing and coding training13 programs
- LPN programs11 programs
- EMT classes13 programs
- Dental assistant programs15 programs
- Pharmacy technician training12 programs
- Cybersecurity training12 programs
- IT training33 programs
- Police academy3 programs
- Culinary school13 programs
- Coding and software development courses16 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses11 programs
- Business administration programs21 programs
- Criminal justice programs13 programs
- Construction training programs11 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes13 programs
Where the Detroit industrial maintenance program numbers come from
Which Detroit industrial maintenance programs are on this list?
These are the industrial maintenance programs with classes in the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Michigan page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Detroit industrial maintenance programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about industrial maintenance training in Detroit
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Industrial Machinery Mechanics, Machinery Maintenance Workers, and Millwrights
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List