Retraining Report
Find training

LPN programs in Detroit

11 LPN programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

11 schools offer these practical nursing programs with classes in the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPNs and LVNs) give basic medical care to patients who are ill, injured or recovering. Most finish a state-approved certificate or diploma program that takes about a year, then pass an exam to become licensed.1 In Detroit, 1 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 11 programs

All 22 LPN programs in Michigan, including online programs

How much do LPN programs cost in Detroit?

$17,946 to $32,160

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 11 programs with a price: $6,982 to $32,160

Finished the program
68%
Working 6 months later
88%
Earned a year, estimated
about $40,700
Length
47 to 48 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Detroit may also offer LPN programs. How these figures are made

Are there free LPN programs in Detroit?

All 11 LPN programs in Detroit approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Practical nursing (LPN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing

    Hondros College of Nursing, Bingham Farms

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hondros College of Nursing, Bingham Farms · Practical nursing (LPN) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$19,954
    Program website, Practical Nursing at Hondros College of Nursing
    More details about Practical Nursing at Hondros College of Nursing
    Finished
    39%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    46 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,366
    Students counted
    600
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $19,954
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nurse

    Dorsey College, Madison Heights

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dorsey College, Madison Heights · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$41,800
    Price if you pay yourself$32,160
    Program website, Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    More details about Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,448
    Length
    48 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    286
    a year, estimated
    $41,800
    price
    $32,160
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing Education

    Wayne County Community College District, Detroit

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Wayne County Community College District, Detroit · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$40,700
    Price if you pay yourself$6,982
    Program website, Practical Nursing Education at Wayne County Community College District
    More details about Practical Nursing Education at Wayne County Community College District
    Finished
    35%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,170
    Length
    40 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,190
    Students counted
    243
    a year, estimated
    $40,700
    price
    $6,982
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nurse

    Dorsey College, Roseville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dorsey College, Roseville · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$40,200
    Price if you pay yourself$32,160
    Program website, Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    More details about Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    Finished
    72%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,047
    Length
    48 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    198
    a year, estimated
    $40,200
    price
    $32,160
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nurse

    Abcott Institute, Southfield

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Abcott Institute, Southfield · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$58,000
    Price if you pay yourself$30,050
    Program website, Practical Nurse at Abcott Institute
    More details about Practical Nurse at Abcott Institute
    Finished
    58%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,494
    Length
    48 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    169
    a year, estimated
    $58,000
    price
    $30,050
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personEducation and courses

    Practical Nurse

    Detroit Business Institute - Downriver, Riverview

    Education and courses

    Detroit Business Institute - Downriver, Riverview · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$40,400
    Price if you pay yourself$30,095
    Program website, Practical Nurse at Detroit Business Institute - Downriver
    More details about Practical Nurse at Detroit Business Institute - Downriver
    Finished
    97%
    Working at 6 months
    98%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,093
    Length
    45 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    161
    a year, estimated
    $40,400
    price
    $30,095
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nurse

    Dorsey College, Wayne

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dorsey College, Wayne · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,500
    Price if you pay yourself$32,160
    Program website, Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    More details about Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,613
    Length
    48 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    158
    a year, estimated
    $38,500
    price
    $32,160
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personPrerequisite courses

    Practical Nursing

    Schoolcraft College, Livonia

    Prerequisite courses

    Schoolcraft College, Livonia · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$44,700
    Price if you pay yourself$10,458
    Program website, Practical Nursing at Schoolcraft College
    More details about Practical Nursing at Schoolcraft College
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,183
    Length
    52 weeks, 13 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $616
    Students counted
    87
    a year, estimated
    $44,700
    price
    $10,458
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nurse

    Dorsey College, Woodhaven

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dorsey College, Woodhaven · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,800
    Price if you pay yourself$32,160
    Program website, Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    More details about Practical Nurse at Dorsey College
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,196
    Length
    48 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    75
    a year, estimated
    $28,800
    price
    $32,160
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personNo diploma needed

    Practical Nursing

    St. Clair County Community College, Port Huron

    No diploma needed

    St. Clair County Community College, Port Huron · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$55,900
    Price if you pay yourself$15,938
    Program website, Practical Nursing at St. Clair County Community College
    More details about Practical Nursing at St. Clair County Community College
    Finished
    51%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,980
    Length
    48 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,344
    Students counted
    67
    a year, estimated
    $55,900
    price
    $15,938
  • Practical nursing (LPN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nurse

    Serenity Health Training Institute, Southfield

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Serenity Health Training Institute, Southfield · Practical nursing (LPN) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$27,224
    Program website, Practical Nurse at Serenity Health Training Institute
    More details about Practical Nurse at Serenity Health Training Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $27,224

How to pay for LPN programs in Detroit

Workforce funding can pay for LPN programs in Detroit

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for LPN programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for LPN programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Detroit practical nursing program numbers come from

Which Detroit practical nursing programs are on this list?

These are the practical nursing programs with classes in the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Michigan page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Detroit practical nursing program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some practical nursing programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about LPN programs in Detroit

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs