Health information technology programs in North Carolina
12 health information programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
11 schools offer these health information technology programs, and North Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Health information technologists and medical registrars help design electronic healthcare systems and analyze clinical data; some specialize in electronic health records systems, including setting them up and training staff. Most need at least an associate degree in health information management or a related field, and employers may prefer certification or expect it after hiring.1
In North Carolina, 1 of the 12 programs takes students without a high school diploma, 9 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 12 programs here are health information technology (associate degree, 7 programs), electronic health records specialist (CEHRS, 2 programs), health information certificate or diploma (2 programs) and health information program (level not stated, 1 program).
See the 12 programsHow much do health information technology programs cost in North Carolina?
- Two-year degrees (7 programs)
- $6,061 to $6,316most of them, usually 73 to 80 weeks long
- Other health information technology programs (4 programs)
- $180 to $2,396all 4 with a price
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 41%
- Working 6 months later
- 75%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $37,900
- Length
- 34 to 80 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Carolina may also offer health information technology programs. How these figures are made
All 12 health information programs in North Carolina approved for WIOA funding
Filters
12 programs
Health Information Technology
Pitt Community College
Winterville
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$49,400Price if you pay yourself$6,073Program website, Health Information Technology at Pitt Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology at Pitt Community College
- Finished
- 41%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,362
- Length
- 80 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,082
- Students counted
- 228
- Earned a year, estimated
- $49,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,073
Health Information Technology (AAS)
Davidson-Davie Community College
Thomasville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,800Price if you pay yourself$5,4784 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Health Information Technology (AAS) at Davidson-Davie Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology (AAS) at Davidson-Davie Community College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,202
- Length
- 72 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,323
- Students counted
- 196
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,478
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Health Information Technology
Brunswick Community College
Supply
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,900Price if you pay yourself$6,3504 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Health Information Technology at Brunswick Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology at Brunswick Community College
- Finished
- 20%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,487
- Length
- 74 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,000
- Students counted
- 97
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,350
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Health Information Technology Associate Degree
Central Carolina Community College
Sanford
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,700Price if you pay yourself$6,440School website, Health Information Technology Associate Degree at Central Carolina Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology Associate Degree at Central Carolina Community College
- Finished
- 29%
- Working at 6 months
- 66%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,918
- Length
- 74 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,930
- Students counted
- 77
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,440
Health Information Technology
Edgecombe Community College
Tarboro
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,100Price if you pay yourself$6,747Program website, Health Information Technology at Edgecombe Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology at Edgecombe Community College
- Finished
- 53%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,520
- Length
- 80 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,310
- Students counted
- 77
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,747
Certified EHR Specialist (Electronic Health Records)
Forsyth Technical Community College
Winston-Salem
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$27,400Price if you pay yourself$375Program website, Certified EHR Specialist (Electronic Health Records) at Forsyth Technical Community CollegeMore details about Certified EHR Specialist (Electronic Health Records) at Forsyth Technical Community College
- Finished
- 78%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,858
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $230
- Students counted
- 31
- Earned a year, estimated
- $27,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $375
Health Information Technology- A45360
McDowell Technical Community College
Marion
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$60,700Price if you pay yourself$6,080School website, Health Information Technology- A45360 at McDowell Technical Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology- A45360 at McDowell Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,177
- Length
- 96 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,514
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $60,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,080
Health Information Technology
Southwestern Community College
Sylva
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,800Price if you pay yourself$6,0506 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Health Information Technology at Southwestern Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology at Southwestern Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,204
- Length
- 72 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,509
- Students counted
- 13
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,050
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 6
Health Information Technology
Sandhills Community College
Pinehurst
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,200Price if you pay yourself$6,191Program website, Health Information Technology at Sandhills Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology at Sandhills Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,556
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 13
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,191
Electronic Health Records Certificate
Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
Asheville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$180Program website, Electronic Health Records Certificate at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community CollegeMore details about Electronic Health Records Certificate at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $180
Healthcare Information Technician Part 1 & 2
Wilkes Community College
Based in Wilkesboro, NC
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$360Program website, Healthcare Information Technician Part 1 & 2 at Wilkes Community CollegeMore details about Healthcare Information Technician Part 1 & 2 at Wilkes Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 7 weeks, 39 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $360
Health Information Technology Diploma
Central Carolina Community College
Sanford
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,396School website, Health Information Technology Diploma at Central Carolina Community CollegeMore details about Health Information Technology Diploma at Central Carolina Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 42 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,396
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for health information technology programs in North Carolina
WIOA funding can pay for health information technology programs in North Carolina
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for health information technology programs
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for health information technology programs
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Health information technology programs in North Carolina
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 3 of 12
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 9th of 23
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 6 of 10
- health information programs here, against the typical state's 5
- 12 vs 5
State comparisons use the same figures as the health information technology programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Health information technology programs in Winston-Salem, Sanford, Greenville and other North Carolina cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns and 1 online.
Other training in North Carolina
How health information technology programs compare with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in North Carolina
- CDL training90 programs
- CNA classes113 programs
- Medical assistant training75 programs
- Phlebotomy training64 programs
- Welding classes89 programs
- HVAC training65 programs
- Medical billing and coding training58 programs
- LPN programs34 programs
- EMT classes66 programs
- Electrician training43 programs
- Dental assistant programs36 programs
- Auto mechanic classes33 programs
- Pharmacy technician training51 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training33 programs
- Carpentry classes6 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training8 programs
- Cybersecurity training33 programs
- IT training110 programs
- Cosmetology school16 programs
- Barber school7 programs
- Esthetician school11 programs
- Nail tech school6 programs
- EKG technician programs25 programs
- Massage therapy school10 programs
- Paralegal programs17 programs
- Fire academy8 programs
- Police academy37 programs
- Surgical tech programs21 programs
- Radiology tech programs15 programs
- Culinary school13 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs9 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training58 programs
- Human resources training22 programs
- Medication aide training33 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training19 programs
- Early childhood education programs57 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school6 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training15 programs
- Hospitality management programs7 programs
- Addiction counselor training7 programs
- Coding and software development courses20 programs
- Lineman school13 programs
- Sterile processing technician training15 programs
- Sonography school13 programs
- Data analytics courses17 programs
- Administrative assistant training21 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs11 programs
- Medical lab technician programs13 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses5 programs
- Digital marketing courses5 programs
- Web and graphic design courses10 programs
- Vet tech programs12 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Patient care technician training3 programs
- OTA programs5 programs
- Interpreter and translator training5 programs
- Home inspector training2 programs
- Forklift certification13 programs
- Personal trainer certification6 programs
- Healthcare administration programs9 programs
- Customer service training2 programs
- MRI tech school4 programs
- RBT certification training2 programs
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs34 programs
- Manufacturing technician training11 programs
- Electronics technician training17 programs
- Business administration programs55 programs
- Criminal justice programs31 programs
- Teacher assistant certification3 programs
- Auto body repair classes11 programs
- Sleep technician training3 programs
- Solar and wind technician training4 programs
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Optician training7 programs
- Masonry training5 programs
- Construction training programs24 programs
- Dental hygiene programs8 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes29 programs
- RN programs71 programs
- Project management certification29 programs
Where the North Carolina health information technology program numbers come from
Which North Carolina health information technology programs are on this list?
These are the health information technology programs North Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Carolina offers.
How the prices and results of North Carolina health information technology programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about health information technology programs in North Carolina
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Health Information Technologists and Medical Registrars
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List