Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Electrician training in Arizona

14 electrician training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these electrician programs, and Arizona has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Electricians install, maintain and repair electrical power, communications, lighting and control systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship with paid on-the-job training, and most states require electricians to pass a test and be licensed.1

In Arizona, 7 of the 14 programs take students without a high school diploma, 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 14 programs here are electrician certificate or diploma (10 programs), industrial electrician (2 programs), residential electrician (1 program) and electrician (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 14 programs

How much does electrician training cost in Arizona?

$2,804 to $4,123 is what most electrician training programs in Arizona cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 14 programs with a price. All of them: $2,193 to $19,290

In the typical program

Finished the program
33%
Working 6 months later
73%
Earned a year, estimated
about $22,200
Length
6 to 16 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Arizona may also offer electrician training. How these figures are made

Is there free electrician training in Arizona?

All 14 electrician training programs in Arizona approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

14 programs

  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Bldg & Constr Tech Electrician Certificate

    Pima Community College

    Tucson

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pima Community College, TucsonElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$27,900
    Price if you pay yourself$3,362

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Bldg & Constr Tech Electrician Certificate at Pima Community College
    More details about Bldg & Constr Tech Electrician Certificate at Pima Community College
    Finished
    8%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,971
    Length
    32 weeks, 33 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    154
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,362
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Bldg & Constr Tech Electrician Certificate at Pima Community College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Basic Electrical Certificate (Fast-Track)

    Arizona Western College

    Yuma

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Arizona Western College, YumaElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$35,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,922
    Program website, Basic Electrical Certificate (Fast-Track) at Arizona Western College
    More details about Basic Electrical Certificate (Fast-Track) at Arizona Western College
    Finished
    33%
    Working at 6 months
    32%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,750
    Length
    6 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $415
    Students counted
    130
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,922
    Program website, Basic Electrical Certificate (Fast-Track) at Arizona Western College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical

    Arizona Automotive Institute

    Glendale

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Arizona Automotive Institute, GlendaleElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedLeft out
    Price if you pay yourself$19,290
    Program website, Electrical at Arizona Automotive Institute
    More details about Electrical at Arizona Automotive Institute
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    56%
    Earned in a quarter
    Left out
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    92
    Earned a year, estimated
    Left out
    Price if you pay yourself
    $19,290
    Program website, Electrical at Arizona Automotive Institute
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Commercial Electrical Installer Certificate

    Central Arizona College

    Coolidge

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Central Arizona College, CoolidgeElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$18,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,700
    Program website, Commercial Electrical Installer Certificate at Central Arizona College
    More details about Commercial Electrical Installer Certificate at Central Arizona College
    Finished
    29%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,492
    Length
    16 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,350
    Students counted
    81
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,700
    Program website, Commercial Electrical Installer Certificate at Central Arizona College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaHybridPrerequisite courses

    Electrical Technology - Commercial/Industrial Electricity

    Mohave Community College

    Kingman

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Mohave Community College, KingmanElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$12,900
    Price if you pay yourself$4,360
    Program website, Electrical Technology - Commercial/Industrial Electricity at Mohave Community College
    More details about Electrical Technology - Commercial/Industrial Electricity at Mohave Community College
    Finished
    30%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,219
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $2,520
    Students counted
    48
    Earned a year, estimated
    $12,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,360
    Program website, Electrical Technology - Commercial/Industrial Electricity at Mohave Community College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    CCL Construction Trades: Electrical (Level One)

    South Mountain Community College

    Phoenix

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    South Mountain Community College, PhoenixElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$20,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,193

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, CCL Construction Trades: Electrical (Level One) at South Mountain Community College
    More details about CCL Construction Trades: Electrical (Level One) at South Mountain Community College
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    52%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,000
    Length
    16 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $261
    Students counted
    39
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,193
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    Program website, CCL Construction Trades: Electrical (Level One) at South Mountain Community College
  • Residential electricianHybridNo diploma needed

    Electrical Technology - Residential Wiring Certificate

    Mohave Community College

    Kingman

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Mohave Community College, KingmanResidential electrician · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$24,300
    Price if you pay yourself$3,332
    Program website, Electrical Technology - Residential Wiring Certificate at Mohave Community College
    More details about Electrical Technology - Residential Wiring Certificate at Mohave Community College
    Finished
    59%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,078
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,860
    Students counted
    19
    Earned a year, estimated
    $24,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,332
    Program website, Electrical Technology - Residential Wiring Certificate at Mohave Community College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical (CP)

    Northland Pioneer College

    Holbrook

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Pioneer College, HolbrookElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,766
    Program website, Electrical (CP) at Northland Pioneer College
    More details about Electrical (CP) at Northland Pioneer College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $320
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,766
    Program website, Electrical (CP) at Northland Pioneer College
  • Industrial electricianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical and Instrumentation (CP)

    Northland Pioneer College

    Holbrook

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Pioneer College, HolbrookIndustrial electrician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,766
    Program website, Electrical and Instrumentation (CP) at Northland Pioneer College
    More details about Electrical and Instrumentation (CP) at Northland Pioneer College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $320
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,766
    Program website, Electrical and Instrumentation (CP) at Northland Pioneer College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Basic Electrical Certificate - Fast Track

    Arizona Western College - La Paz County

    Parker

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Arizona Western College - La Paz County, ParkerElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,916
    Program website, Basic Electrical Certificate - Fast Track at Arizona Western College - La Paz County
    More details about Basic Electrical Certificate - Fast Track at Arizona Western College - La Paz County
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $415
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,916
    Program website, Basic Electrical Certificate - Fast Track at Arizona Western College - La Paz County
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical (CAS)

    Northland Pioneer College

    Holbrook

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Pioneer College, HolbrookElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,411
    Program website, Electrical (CAS) at Northland Pioneer College
    More details about Electrical (CAS) at Northland Pioneer College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $480
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,411
    Program website, Electrical (CAS) at Northland Pioneer College
  • Industrial electricianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical and Instrumentation (CAS)

    Northland Pioneer College

    Holbrook

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Pioneer College, HolbrookIndustrial electrician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,411
    Program website, Electrical and Instrumentation (CAS) at Northland Pioneer College
    More details about Electrical and Instrumentation (CAS) at Northland Pioneer College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $480
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,411
    Program website, Electrical and Instrumentation (CAS) at Northland Pioneer College
  • Electrician (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical and Instrumentation - AAS

    Northland Pioneer College

    Holbrook

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Pioneer College, HolbrookElectrician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,265
    School website, Electrical and Instrumentation - AAS at Northland Pioneer College
    More details about Electrical and Instrumentation - AAS at Northland Pioneer College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $640
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,265
    School website, Electrical and Instrumentation - AAS at Northland Pioneer College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    Electrician Technician

    UEI College

    Mesa

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    UEI College, MesaElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,000
    School website, Electrician Technician at UEI College
    More details about Electrician Technician at UEI College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,275
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,000
    School website, Electrician Technician at UEI College

How to pay for electrician training in Arizona

WIOA funding can pay for electrician training in Arizona

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Paid electrician apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6

Financial aid and grants for electrician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for electrician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Electrician training in Arizona

programs with a price cost under $3,000
6 of 14
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
12th of 34
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
0 of 21
electrician training programs here, against the typical state's 12
14 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the electrician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Electrician apprenticeships in Arizona

Most electricians train in a four- or five-year apprenticeship. Each year usually brings about 2,000 hours of paid work on the job plus classes in electrical theory, blueprint reading, math, the electrical code and safety. Unions and contractor associations run most programs, and experience from the military or construction can shorten one. When you finish, you are a journey worker and can work on your own, subject to your state license.1

You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the electrician training programs on this page is an apprenticeship.

Electrician training in Show Low, Phoenix, Lake Havasu City and other Arizona cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Arizona

How electrician training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Arizona

Where the Arizona electrician program numbers come from

Which Arizona electrician programs are on this list?

These are the electrician programs Arizona approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Arizona offers.

How the prices and results of Arizona electrician programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about electrician training in Arizona

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electricians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List