Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Diesel mechanic training in Colorado

10 diesel mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these diesel mechanic programs, and Colorado has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 5 of these 10 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.

Diesel mechanics inspect and repair buses and trucks and maintain diesel engines of every kind. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and degrees in diesel repair, employers may require or prefer certification, and some jobs need a commercial driver's license to test-drive trucks and buses.1 Under federal rules, anyone paid to handle the refrigerant in a truck's cab air conditioning must be certified by an EPA-approved program.2

In Colorado, 7 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma and 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 10 programs here are diesel technician certificate or diploma (5 programs) and short course or single class (5 programs).

See the 10 programs

How much does diesel mechanic training cost in Colorado?

$5,294 to $25,850 is what most diesel mechanic programs in Colorado cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 10 programs with a price. All of them: $3,274 to $29,000

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Left out
The 10 figures filed fail our checks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Colorado may also offer diesel mechanic training. How these figures are made

Is there free diesel mechanic training in Colorado?

All 10 diesel mechanic programs in Colorado approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Diesel technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Diesel Power Mechanics

    Community College of Aurora

    Aurora

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Community College of Aurora, AuroraDiesel technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,748
    Program website, Diesel Power Mechanics at Community College of Aurora
    More details about Diesel Power Mechanics at Community College of Aurora
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,039
    Students counted
    79
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,748
    Program website, Diesel Power Mechanics at Community College of Aurora
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Diesel Technology 3

    Northeastern Junior College

    Sterling

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northeastern Junior College, SterlingShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$38,600
    Price if you pay yourself$16,401
    More details about Diesel Technology 3 at Northeastern Junior College
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,655
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $3,600
    Students counted
    72
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $16,401
  • Diesel technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Diesel Equipment Technology

    Pickens Technical College

    Aurora

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pickens Technical College, AuroraDiesel technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,078
    More details about Diesel Equipment Technology at Pickens Technical College
    Finished
    97%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    46
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,078
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Diesel Technology 2

    Northeastern Junior College

    Sterling

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northeastern Junior College, SterlingShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$53,500
    Price if you pay yourself$5,942
    More details about Diesel Technology 2 at Northeastern Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    33%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,376
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,800
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    $53,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,942
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Diesel Technology 5

    Northeastern Junior College

    Sterling

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northeastern Junior College, SterlingShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$53,500
    Price if you pay yourself$5,942
    More details about Diesel Technology 5 at Northeastern Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    33%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,376
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,800
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    $53,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,942
  • Diesel technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Advanced Diesel Technology

    WyoTech

    Laramie, WY

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    WyoTech, Laramie, WYDiesel technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Colorado; Colorado approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$29,000
    More details about Advanced Diesel Technology at WyoTech
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    112
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $29,000
  • Diesel technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Diesel Technology with High Performance Power Trains

    WyoTech

    Laramie, WY

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    WyoTech, Laramie, WYDiesel technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Colorado; Colorado approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$29,000
    More details about Diesel Technology with High Performance Power Trains at WyoTech
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    27
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $29,000
  • Diesel technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Diesel Technology and Management

    WyoTech

    Laramie, WY

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    WyoTech, Laramie, WYDiesel technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Colorado; Colorado approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$29,000
    More details about Diesel Technology and Management at WyoTech
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $29,000
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Diesel Technology 1

    Northeastern Junior College

    Sterling

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northeastern Junior College, SterlingShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,274
    More details about Diesel Technology 1 at Northeastern Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $250
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,274
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Diesel Technology 4

    Northeastern Junior College

    Sterling

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Northeastern Junior College, SterlingShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,689
    More details about Diesel Technology 4 at Northeastern Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $900
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,689

How to pay for diesel mechanic training in Colorado

WIOA funding can pay for diesel mechanic training in Colorado

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for diesel mechanic training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for diesel mechanic training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Diesel mechanic training in Colorado

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
21st of 26
diesel mechanic programs here, against the typical state's 8
10 vs 8

State comparisons use the same figures as the diesel mechanic training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Diesel mechanic training in Sterling, Laramie, Denver and other Colorado cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in Colorado

How diesel mechanic training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Colorado

Where the Colorado diesel mechanic program numbers come from

Which Colorado diesel mechanic programs are on this list?

These are the diesel mechanic programs Colorado approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Colorado offers.

How the prices and results of Colorado diesel mechanic programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Colorado figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Colorado among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Sources for the facts about diesel mechanic training in Colorado

Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Diesel Service Technicians and Mechanics
  2. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 40 CFR part 82, subpart B, Servicing of motor vehicle air conditioners
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  11. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns