Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Cosmetology school in North Carolina

16 cosmetology programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

12 schools offer these cosmetology programs, and North Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Hairstylists and cosmetologists shampoo, cut, color and style hair. Every state requires a license: you finish a state-approved program, which usually leads to a certificate, and then pass a state licensing exam.1

In North Carolina, 3 of the 16 programs take students without a high school diploma, 12 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 16 programs here are cosmetology license program (10 programs) and cosmetology (associate degree, 6 programs).

See the 16 programs

How much does cosmetology school cost in North Carolina?

Certificates and short courses (10 programs)
$1,446 to $4,679most of them, usually 42 to 66 weeks long
Two-year degrees (6 programs)
$5,244 to $6,080most of them, usually 72 to 80 weeks long

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
22%
Working 6 months later
50%
Earned a year, estimated
about $17,400
Length
52 to 72 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Carolina may also offer cosmetology school. How these figures are made

Is there free cosmetology school in North Carolina?

All 16 cosmetology programs in North Carolina approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

16 programs

  • Cosmetology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology - AS

    Brunswick Community College

    Supply

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Brunswick Community College, SupplyCosmetology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,900
    Price if you pay yourself$6,080

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetology - AS at Brunswick Community College
    More details about Cosmetology - AS at Brunswick Community College
    Finished
    22%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,969
    Length
    80 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,250
    Students counted
    101
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,080
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Cosmetology - AS at Brunswick Community College
  • Cosmetology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Bladen Community College

    Dublin

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Bladen Community College, DublinCosmetology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$16,200
    Price if you pay yourself$6,900
    Program website, Cosmetology at Bladen Community College
    More details about Cosmetology at Bladen Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    57%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,039
    Length
    64 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,400
    Students counted
    80
    Earned a year, estimated
    $16,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,900
    Program website, Cosmetology at Bladen Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personEducation and courses

    Cosmetology Diploma

    Southeastern Community College

    Whiteville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Southeastern Community College, WhitevilleCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$11,200
    Price if you pay yourself$3,650

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Cosmetology Diploma at Southeastern Community College
    More details about Cosmetology Diploma at Southeastern Community College
    Finished
    21%
    Working at 6 months
    36%
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,811
    Length
    16 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,000
    Students counted
    72
    Earned a year, estimated
    $11,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,650
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    School website, Cosmetology Diploma at Southeastern Community College
  • Cosmetology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology - Assoc. in Applied Science

    Southeastern Community College

    Whiteville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southeastern Community College, WhitevilleCosmetology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$11,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,244
    Program website, Cosmetology - Assoc. in Applied Science at Southeastern Community College
    More details about Cosmetology - Assoc. in Applied Science at Southeastern Community College
    Finished
    20%
    Working at 6 months
    39%
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,950
    Length
    80 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,250
    Students counted
    70
    Earned a year, estimated
    $11,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,244
    Program website, Cosmetology - Assoc. in Applied Science at Southeastern Community College
  • Cosmetology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology- A55140

    McDowell Technical Community College

    Marion

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    McDowell Technical Community College, MarionCosmetology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$17,200
    Price if you pay yourself$5,800
    School website, Cosmetology- A55140 at McDowell Technical Community College
    More details about Cosmetology- A55140 at McDowell Technical Community College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    52%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,288
    Length
    104 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,650
    Students counted
    40
    Earned a year, estimated
    $17,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,800
    School website, Cosmetology- A55140 at McDowell Technical Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology Certificate

    Brunswick Community College

    Supply

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Brunswick Community College, SupplyCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$17,700
    Price if you pay yourself$3,648
    Program website, Cosmetology Certificate at Brunswick Community College
    More details about Cosmetology Certificate at Brunswick Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    29%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,421
    Length
    48 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,149
    Students counted
    39
    Earned a year, estimated
    $17,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,648
    Program website, Cosmetology Certificate at Brunswick Community College
  • Cosmetology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology Program - (FLG Only)

    Fayetteville Technical Community College

    Fayetteville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fayetteville Technical Community College, FayettevilleCosmetology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,800
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    School website, Cosmetology Program - (FLG Only) at Fayetteville Technical Community College
    More details about Cosmetology Program - (FLG Only) at Fayetteville Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    11%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,200
    Length
    72 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    37
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    School website, Cosmetology Program - (FLG Only) at Fayetteville Technical Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology Diploma

    Brunswick Community College

    Supply

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Brunswick Community College, SupplyCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,700
    Price if you pay yourself$4,864
    Program website, Cosmetology Diploma at Brunswick Community College
    More details about Cosmetology Diploma at Brunswick Community College
    Finished
    20%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,187
    Length
    64 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,200
    Students counted
    25
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,864
    Program website, Cosmetology Diploma at Brunswick Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetology

    Wilkes Community College

    Wilkesboro

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Wilkes Community College, WilkesboroCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$10,900
    Price if you pay yourself$200

    8 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetology at Wilkes Community College
    More details about Cosmetology at Wilkes Community College
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    47%
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,715
    Length
    38 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    $10,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $200
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
    Program website, Cosmetology at Wilkes Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetology Course 1500 Hours

    Shear Grace Institute of Cosmetology

    Hickory

    No diploma needed

    Shear Grace Institute of Cosmetology, HickoryCosmetology license programIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$32,500
    Price if you pay yourself$6,500

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Cosmetology Course 1500 Hours at Shear Grace Institute of Cosmetology
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,129
    Length
    54 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
  • Cosmetology license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetology Continuing Education

    Brunswick Community College

    Supply

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Brunswick Community College, SupplyCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$730
    Program website, Cosmetology Continuing Education at Brunswick Community College
    More details about Cosmetology Continuing Education at Brunswick Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    67 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,023
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $730
    Program website, Cosmetology Continuing Education at Brunswick Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Durham Technical Community College

    Durham

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Durham Technical Community College, DurhamCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$900
    School website, Cosmetology at Durham Technical Community College
    More details about Cosmetology at Durham Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    67 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,650
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $900
    School website, Cosmetology at Durham Technical Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology Diploma

    Rockingham Community College

    Wentworth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Rockingham Community College, WentworthCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,083
    Program website, Cosmetology Diploma at Rockingham Community College
    More details about Cosmetology Diploma at Rockingham Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,232
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,083
    Program website, Cosmetology Diploma at Rockingham Community College
  • Cosmetology license programHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Catawba Valley Community College

    Hickory

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Catawba Valley Community College, HickoryCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,125
    Program website, Cosmetology at Catawba Valley Community College
    More details about Cosmetology at Catawba Valley Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    56 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,998
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,125
    Program website, Cosmetology at Catawba Valley Community College
  • Cosmetology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Beaufort County Community College

    Washington

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Beaufort County Community College, WashingtonCosmetology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,985
    Program website, Cosmetology at Beaufort County Community College
    More details about Cosmetology at Beaufort County Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $600
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,985
    Program website, Cosmetology at Beaufort County Community College
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Cape Fear Community College

    Wilmington

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Cape Fear Community College, WilmingtonCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,016
    Program website, Cosmetology at Cape Fear Community College
    More details about Cosmetology at Cape Fear Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    74 weeks, 7 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,016
    Program website, Cosmetology at Cape Fear Community College

How to pay for cosmetology school in North Carolina

WIOA funding can pay for cosmetology school in North Carolina

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for cosmetology school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for cosmetology school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Cosmetology school in North Carolina

programs with a price cost under $3,000
3 of 15
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
1st of 20
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
4 of 9
cosmetology programs here, against the typical state's 4
16 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the cosmetology school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Cosmetology school in Wilmington, Hickory, Marion and other North Carolina cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area, 4 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in North Carolina

How cosmetology school compares with the rest of beauty and personal care: Beauty school in North Carolina

Where the North Carolina cosmetology program numbers come from

Which North Carolina cosmetology programs are on this list?

These are the cosmetology programs North Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Carolina offers.

How the prices and results of North Carolina cosmetology programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about cosmetology school in North Carolina

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List