Retraining Report
Find training

Cosmetology school in Delaware

1 cosmetology program with costs, results and funding that can make it free

One school offers this cosmetology program, and Delaware has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Hairstylists and cosmetologists shampoo, cut, color and style hair. Every state requires a license: you finish a state-approved program, which usually leads to a certificate, and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In Delaware, the one program takes students without a high school diploma.

See the program

How much does cosmetology school cost in Delaware?

$17,793

is what this program costs if you pay yourself

This program

Finished the program
43%
Working 6 months later
60%
Earned a year, estimated
about $34,600
Length
Not reported

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Delaware may also offer cosmetology school. How these figures are made

Is there free cosmetology school in Delaware?

The one cosmetology program in Delaware approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

1 program

  • Cosmetology license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetology

    Hair Academy School of Barbering & Beauty

    Newark

    No diploma needed

    Hair Academy School of Barbering & Beauty, Newark · Cosmetology license program · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$34,600
    Price if you pay yourself$17,793
    More details about Cosmetology at Hair Academy School of Barbering & Beauty
    Finished
    43%
    Working at 6 months
    60%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,660
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,843
    Students counted
    22
    a year, estimated
    $34,600
    price
    $17,793

How to pay for cosmetology school in Delaware

WIOA funding can pay for cosmetology school in Delaware

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for cosmetology school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for cosmetology school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Delaware cosmetology program numbers come from

Which Delaware cosmetology programs are on this list?

These are the cosmetology programs Delaware approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Delaware offers.

How the prices and results of Delaware cosmetology programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Other training in Delaware

Sources for the facts about cosmetology school in Delaware

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List