Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Coding and software development courses in Maine

8 coding and software programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these software development programs, and Maine has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Computer programmers write, change and test the code that makes software and apps work. Most have a bachelor's degree, but some employers hire people with other training or experience in specific programming languages, and programmers can get certified in a language.1

In Maine, 1 of the 8 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 7 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 8 programs here are programming language or developer tool course (3 programs), software testing and QA course (2 programs), web development course (2 programs) and programming or software development (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 8 programs

How much do coding and software development courses cost in Maine?

$5,156 to $9,000 is what most coding and software programs in Maine cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 7 programs with a price. All of them: $2,500 to $10,000

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 8 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 8 programs report it
Length
Not reported
None of the 8 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Maine may also offer coding and software development courses. How these figures are made

Are there free coding and software development courses in Maine?

All 8 coding and software programs in Maine approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

8 programs

  • Software testing and QA courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Quality Analysis Program

    IT Expert System Inc.

    Based in Schaumburg, IL

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    IT Expert System Inc., based in Schaumburg, ILSoftware testing and QA course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,000
    Program website, Quality Analysis Program at IT Expert System Inc.
    More details about Quality Analysis Program at IT Expert System Inc.
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,000
    Program website, Quality Analysis Program at IT Expert System Inc.
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Python Programming Specialist Certification Program

    Online Consulting Inc dba ONLC Training Centers

    Portland

    No diploma needed

    Online Consulting Inc dba ONLC Training Centers, PortlandProgramming language or developer tool courseHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,500
    Program website, Python Programming Specialist Certification Program at Online Consulting Inc dba ONLC Training Centers
    More details about Python Programming Specialist Certification Program at Online Consulting Inc dba ONLC Training Centers
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $100
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,500
    Program website, Python Programming Specialist Certification Program at Online Consulting Inc dba ONLC Training Centers
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Salesforce Developer - Package

    UNIQUE System Skills LLC

    Based in Nashua, NH

    High school diploma or equivalent

    UNIQUE System Skills LLC, based in Nashua, NHProgramming language or developer tool courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,560
    Program website, Salesforce Developer - Package at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
    More details about Salesforce Developer - Package at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,560
    Program website, Salesforce Developer - Package at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
  • Web development courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Python Web Developement

    UNIQUE System Skills LLC

    Based in Nashua, NH

    High school diploma or equivalent

    UNIQUE System Skills LLC, based in Nashua, NHWeb development courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,752
    Program website, Python Web Developement at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
    More details about Python Web Developement at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,752
    Program website, Python Web Developement at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
  • Web development courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Web Developer with Java

    UNIQUE System Skills LLC

    Based in Nashua, NH

    High school diploma or equivalent

    UNIQUE System Skills LLC, based in Nashua, NHWeb development courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,327
    Program website, Web Developer with Java at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
    More details about Web Developer with Java at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,327
    Program website, Web Developer with Java at UNIQUE System Skills LLC
  • Software testing and QA courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Software Quality Assurance and Test Automation Combo

    IT Expert System Inc.

    Based in Schaumburg, IL

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    IT Expert System Inc., based in Schaumburg, ILSoftware testing and QA course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,000
    Program website, Software Quality Assurance and Test Automation Combo at IT Expert System Inc.
    More details about Software Quality Assurance and Test Automation Combo at IT Expert System Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $700
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,000
    Program website, Software Quality Assurance and Test Automation Combo at IT Expert System Inc.
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    E-Commerce Program

    IT Expert System Inc.

    Based in Schaumburg, IL

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    IT Expert System Inc., based in Schaumburg, ILProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,000
    Program website, E-Commerce Program at IT Expert System Inc.
    More details about E-Commerce Program at IT Expert System Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,000
    Program website, E-Commerce Program at IT Expert System Inc.
  • Programming or software development (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Computer Technology - Coding

    Eastern Maine Community College

    Bangor

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Eastern Maine Community College, BangorProgramming or software development (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    School website, Computer Technology - Coding at Eastern Maine Community College
    More details about Computer Technology - Coding at Eastern Maine Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    School website, Computer Technology - Coding at Eastern Maine Community College

How to pay for coding and software development courses in Maine

WIOA funding can pay for coding and software development courses in Maine

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for coding and software development courses

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for coding and software development courses

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Coding and software development courses in Maine

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
17th of 32
coding and software programs here, against the typical state's 12
8 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the coding and software development courses by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Coding and software development courses in Portland, Bangor and other Maine cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 6 programs are online.

Other training in Maine

How coding and software development courses compare with the rest of computers and IT: IT certification programs in Maine

Where the Maine software development program numbers come from

Which Maine software development programs are on this list?

These are the software development programs Maine approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Maine offers.

How the prices and results of Maine software development programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about coding and software development courses in Maine

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Computer Programmers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List